Double Tap to Wake on the Nexus 6 Without Root

A few weeks ago, we featured an app which allowed the Nexus 6 to regain the double tap to wake … more

Make Your Own Heat Sink for the LG Optimus 4X HD

Its not a rare occurrence that performing a resource heavy task on your Android device (e.g. … more

Learn How to Create an Old School Dialer

XDA is not only a great source for custom ROMs, kernels, and various modifications for numerous … more

USB Desktop Charger Roundup – XDA TV

Sometimes you learn one way to do something, and that’s the way you do it forever. You never … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Proximity sensor

OP ftgg99

21st February 2011, 04:44 PM   |  #1  
OP Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 2,046
 
1010
7,047 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Hey guys. I have looked around and can find no info on some of the tabs sensors. From what i understand the chipset is straight out of the galaxy s phones, which is the reason i see the existence of a proximity sensor but dont see any data from it.

Anyone have a clue whether it actually exists?
21st February 2011, 05:44 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 53
 
309 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
chipset and sensors are different things....even if the chipset supports a certain type of sensor doesn't mean it should be there if there is no need to be there.
galaxy tab doesn't need a proxy sensor cause you are not going to put it beside your face when calling...
21st February 2011, 06:17 PM   |  #3  
lambstone's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 221
 
1,340 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by triplex76

chipset and sensors are different things....even if the chipset supports a certain type of sensor doesn't mean it should be there if there is no need to be there.
galaxy tab doesn't need a proxy sensor cause you are not going to put it beside your face when calling...

Doesn't need and doesn't have are different things. Point is, if it was stated that the tab has a proximity sensor, where is it?
21st February 2011, 06:33 PM   |  #4  
TheGrammarFreak's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 685
 
2,809 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
I'm pretty sure it has one, in the unofficial CM build Technomancer says he fakes i at 10CM
21st February 2011, 10:01 PM   |  #5  
Technomancer's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Flag SF Bay Area
Thanks Meter: 423
 
561 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
There is no proximity sensor in Galaxy Tab.
My CM7 sensors driver pretends there is one and reports 10CM distance so the Phone app behaves better.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Technomancer For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd February 2011, 08:06 AM   |  #6  
OP Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 2,046
 
1010
7,047 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Thanks mate, that's what you said in the last thread back in October, but why do all the sensor pingers see it? Are they checking code rather than hardware?

Also, is there a working, sensitive light meter anywhere for the tabs ambient light sensor? The couple I've tried refuse to work...
22nd February 2011, 11:02 PM   |  #7  
Technomancer's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Flag SF Bay Area
Thanks Meter: 423
 
561 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
There is working light sensor in the Tab. Both my CM7 and Samsung ROMs support it just fine. It has range from 0 to 6000 Lux snapped to one of several levels in the kernel driver. You can actually read it from sys interface.

The proximity sensor in my CM7 sensors driver is just software reporting constant 10cm to the system. The sensors test apps in my CM7 (I uses Sensor Test and Plot http://www.appbrain.com/app/sensor-t...oid.SensorTest) just reports 10cm from my fake sensor.

I think there is some leftover code in Samsungs sensors driver that may report presence of proximity sensor.
24th February 2011, 08:01 PM   |  #8  
OP Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 2,046
 
1010
7,047 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Yep, i use it as well, but my issue is with the three avaliable states the driver seems to report.

I get 5, 22 and 75. Are there only three levels then? And no way to modify them outside the kernel?
25th February 2011, 04:45 AM   |  #9  
Technomancer's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Flag SF Bay Area
Thanks Meter: 423
 
561 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
I can get up to 6000lux using strong LED flashlight directly on the sensor.
There is another sys device that can read unprocessed data that has values not snapped to 5,22,75 etc... but Samsung's driver uses the snapped device (and so is mine).
25th February 2011, 12:29 PM   |  #10  
OP Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 2,046
 
1010
7,047 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
This is very annoying... im trying to make an app that needs a proximity sensor to work as intended so the light sensor as well as the sleep mode implementation are really no substitute.

In any case, im sure it will be quite usefull for all tablet owners running 2.2 and up and using a case. I will have a closed beta for xda members by the end of the day, so people can test it over the weekend.

Would you like a shot, mancer?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
galaxy tab, proximity, sensor, sensors
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes