MultiROM Makes its Way Over to the HTC One (M8)

While browsing our forum, you will undoubtedly find more than a few enticing ROMs available … more

Welcome to the New XDA-Developers Portal!

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we opened up the XDA-2015 forum themesto intrepid users … more

An Android Enthusiast’s Apple iPhone 6 Challenge

The media has gone batty again over Apple “revolutionizing” smartphones. … more

Sony to Extend its AOSP Program to Other Devices

Sony will be offering its users the possibility to use AOSP ROMs as an alternative to the … more
Post Reply

[Q] Proximity sensor

21st February 2011, 03:44 PM   |  #1  
OP Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 2,046
 
1010
7,047 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Hey guys. I have looked around and can find no info on some of the tabs sensors. From what i understand the chipset is straight out of the galaxy s phones, which is the reason i see the existence of a proximity sensor but dont see any data from it.

Anyone have a clue whether it actually exists?
21st February 2011, 04:44 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 53
 
309 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
chipset and sensors are different things....even if the chipset supports a certain type of sensor doesn't mean it should be there if there is no need to be there.
galaxy tab doesn't need a proxy sensor cause you are not going to put it beside your face when calling...
21st February 2011, 05:17 PM   |  #3  
lambstone's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 221
 
1,337 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by triplex76

chipset and sensors are different things....even if the chipset supports a certain type of sensor doesn't mean it should be there if there is no need to be there.
galaxy tab doesn't need a proxy sensor cause you are not going to put it beside your face when calling...

Doesn't need and doesn't have are different things. Point is, if it was stated that the tab has a proximity sensor, where is it?
21st February 2011, 05:33 PM   |  #4  
TheGrammarFreak's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 685
 
2,809 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
I'm pretty sure it has one, in the unofficial CM build Technomancer says he fakes i at 10CM
21st February 2011, 09:01 PM   |  #5  
Technomancer's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Flag SF Bay Area
Thanks Meter: 423
 
557 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
There is no proximity sensor in Galaxy Tab.
My CM7 sensors driver pretends there is one and reports 10CM distance so the Phone app behaves better.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Technomancer For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd February 2011, 07:06 AM   |  #6  
OP Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 2,046
 
1010
7,047 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Thanks mate, that's what you said in the last thread back in October, but why do all the sensor pingers see it? Are they checking code rather than hardware?

Also, is there a working, sensitive light meter anywhere for the tabs ambient light sensor? The couple I've tried refuse to work...
22nd February 2011, 10:02 PM   |  #7  
Technomancer's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Flag SF Bay Area
Thanks Meter: 423
 
557 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
There is working light sensor in the Tab. Both my CM7 and Samsung ROMs support it just fine. It has range from 0 to 6000 Lux snapped to one of several levels in the kernel driver. You can actually read it from sys interface.

The proximity sensor in my CM7 sensors driver is just software reporting constant 10cm to the system. The sensors test apps in my CM7 (I uses Sensor Test and Plot http://www.appbrain.com/app/sensor-t...oid.SensorTest) just reports 10cm from my fake sensor.

I think there is some leftover code in Samsungs sensors driver that may report presence of proximity sensor.
24th February 2011, 07:01 PM   |  #8  
OP Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 2,046
 
1010
7,047 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Yep, i use it as well, but my issue is with the three avaliable states the driver seems to report.

I get 5, 22 and 75. Are there only three levels then? And no way to modify them outside the kernel?
25th February 2011, 03:45 AM   |  #9  
Technomancer's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Flag SF Bay Area
Thanks Meter: 423
 
557 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
I can get up to 6000lux using strong LED flashlight directly on the sensor.
There is another sys device that can read unprocessed data that has values not snapped to 5,22,75 etc... but Samsung's driver uses the snapped device (and so is mine).
25th February 2011, 11:29 AM   |  #10  
OP Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 2,046
 
1010
7,047 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
This is very annoying... im trying to make an app that needs a proximity sensor to work as intended so the light sensor as well as the sleep mode implementation are really no substitute.

In any case, im sure it will be quite usefull for all tablet owners running 2.2 and up and using a case. I will have a closed beta for xda members by the end of the day, so people can test it over the weekend.

Would you like a shot, mancer?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
galaxy tab, proximity, sensor, sensors
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes