Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,804,576 Members 43,988 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] For anyone who has the laptop dock, does 2-finger scrolling work?? [Updated]

Tip us?
 
theproskater
Old
(Last edited by theproskater; 24th February 2011 at 02:26 AM.) Reason: updating information
#1  
theproskater's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 20
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Campbell
Default [Q] For anyone who has the laptop dock, does 2-finger scrolling work?? [Updated]

So I just took the plunge and bought the Atrix with the laptop dock today. While at the at&t store, I played with the laptop dock there. I was pleased to see that I could do 2 finger scrolling on the trackpad in the firefox browser.

However, once I got home and set up my own laptop dock, 2 finger scrolling didn't work! I looked everywhere for settings to change it, but to no avail. I called Motorola, and they were no help. I went back to the at&t store to try a different dock, but that one didn't have the 2 finger scrolling either. The only one that worked was the display model.

So my question is this: any of you who bought the laptop dock, does 2 finger scrolling work for you? Thanks!

UPDATE: I had one of the at&t employees contact the motorola rep for his store and get back to me when he had more info. He called me today and said the moto rep told him the display units for the stores are pre-production models, and our docks won't ever get 2 finger scrolling.
I'm hoping that someone with better hacking skills than I will be able to port some sort of scrolling driver for the touchpad in the future. For now, my usb mouse works fine I suppose...
 
Forge42
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Apr 2008
I had the exact same experience. Saw two finger scrolling working on the display model and got home and mine doesn't work. I haven't called support yet, but, based on your experience, I probably won't. I wonder if the display models have had some sort of update pushed to them that we haven't seen yet??!
 
theproskater
Old
#3  
theproskater's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 20
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Campbell
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forge42 View Post
I had the exact same experience. Saw two finger scrolling working on the display model and got home and mine doesn't work. I haven't called support yet, but, based on your experience, I probably won't. I wonder if the display models have had some sort of update pushed to them that we haven't seen yet??!
When I talked to the employees at the at&t store, they said that a motorola rep came in awhile ago to show them the laptop dock, and 2 finger scrolling worked on his too. They also said that the display model came about a week ago, before they got their shipment of stuff that was for sale. So it might actually be a pre-production unit on display, and for some reason (I can think of none) motorola decided to remove that functionality in their actual for-sale units!
 
Forge42
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Apr 2008
An experiment that we should try is to take our Atrix into an ATT store and plug them into their netbook dock to see if 2 finger scrolling works or not.

If it does work, then that means the issue is probably hardware related (ie - there's something magic about the demo trackpads that turns on 2 finger scrolling).

If it does NOT work, then that means the issue is probably software related (ie - the stuff that is running on our Atrix) and it is probably just a matter of time till one of the guys here figures out how to enable it.
 
theproskater
Old
#5  
theproskater's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 20
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Campbell
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forge42 View Post
An experiment that we should try is to take our Atrix into an ATT store and plug them into their netbook dock to see if 2 finger scrolling works or not.

If it does work, then that means the issue is probably hardware related (ie - there's something magic about the demo trackpads that turns on 2 finger scrolling).

If it does NOT work, then that means the issue is probably software related (ie - the stuff that is running on our Atrix) and it is probably just a matter of time till one of the guys here figures out how to enable it.
Oops! Forgot to mention I tried that too! 2 finger scrolling worked on the display dock with my atrix plugged in too.
 
Forge42
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Apr 2008
Crap... that's not good....

I might go back tomorrow and see if I can get the display model from the store I was at...
 
theproskater
Old
#7  
theproskater's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 20
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Campbell
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forge42 View Post
Crap... that's not good....

I might go back tomorrow and see if I can get the display model from the store I was at...
Alas...I tried that too. It was my last hope! They said the display models are "serialized" meaning the company knows what is a display model and what's not. I think its dumb that they show 2 finger scrolling on the display models but when you buy it it's not there! I wonder how many complaints they'll get...
 
Forge42
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Apr 2008
More specifically, I wonder if they'll get sued for false advertising. I mean.. I know it isn't a crucial feature, but, this is sort of a blatant case of it, isn't it?
 
theproskater
Old
#9  
theproskater's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 20
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Campbell
I'm sure if enough people complain, they'll just swap out the display models with ones like ours. Then they'll claim it was like that all along. But you're right, as of now it does seem like blatant false advertising. There is clearly added functionality in the display models that are not in the ones for sale.

Another interesting note, lurking back through first impressions back at CES, some blogs touted 2 finger scrolling as a feature they liked on the laptop dock. Something must have happened between then and now that made moto change their mind
 
phillycreamboy
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 137
Join Date: Mar 2007
Same experience. At store..it worked. At home...it doesn't. This really seems like a hardware change. :(

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Use Facebook Pictures as a LWP with Facebook View

One of the best things that Android has always offeredits users is the ability to tailor … more

Share Your Thoughts Anonymously with A Minimalist Social Network

Nowadays, almost everyone has a second life onthe Internet. Among the best … more

Enable Heads Up Notifications For The Sprint Galaxy S3

Heads up notifications, in case you didn’t already know, are an experimental … more

Android One Goes Live in India!

Android One is a Google initiative set to bring an AOSP-like experience tosome emergingmarkets like India, … more