LG to Release Octa-Core “Nuclun” SoC in the LG G3 Screen

LG is set to follow the likes of Samsung and other manufacture its own … more

Lockdown Pro 2 Brings Material Design and Media Support

Back in March of this year, we took a look at a rather innovated security application … more

Mural Watchface Brings 500px to Android Wear

On a traditional watch, you can’t really do too much to change its appearance once … more

Android 5.0 Favorite Features, Release November 3rd? – XDA TV

Google Confirms Android 5.0 Lollipop for November 3rd! That and much more … more
Post Reply

Motorola OEM chargers only?

OP Roricken

23rd February 2011, 12:57 PM   |  #1  
Roricken's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Charleston, SC
Thanks Meter: 12
 
91 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Last night, I decided to use my HD2 charger, since it was already in my drawer. Charged it around midnight and woke up around 4 and it only charged 10% So I decided to use the Motorola charger, and when I woke up around 6 it was fully charged in less than 2 hours. So my question is, are we only suppose to be using the charger that came w/ it or is my outlet possessed
23rd February 2011, 01:00 PM   |  #2  
Member
Flag Charlotte
Thanks Meter: 5
 
91 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
The actual cable doesn't matter, but the charging port seems to. My phone doesn't charge as well when hooked up to my HTC Aria's usb charge vs. the one that came with my Atrix or even the old Motorola Z9 charger I have (like this one since it's longer than my USB cable and it reaches my bed so I can do "Sleep as a Droid"
23rd February 2011, 08:58 PM   |  #3  
bsinc1962's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dubois, Wy
Thanks Meter: 67
 
244 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
I tried using my Nexus charger last night and the phone didn't like it at all. It started FC'ing all over the place and I had to reboot it. The voltage on both chargers are the same. For a moment I thought I f'd it up but it's been fine all day.
23rd February 2011, 09:07 PM   |  #4  
co.ag.2005's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Denver
Thanks Meter: 160
 
951 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
I'm using Blackberry's micro usb chargers with no problem. I bought a few of these for my N1, and they work fine with the Atrix. The N1 charger from Google/HTC does not work like you all have said.

http://www.amazon.com/BlackBerry-Fol...8495146&sr=8-2
23rd February 2011, 09:29 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
502 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roricken

Last night, I decided to use my HD2 charger, since it was already in my drawer. Charged it around midnight and woke up around 4 and it only charged 10% So I decided to use the Motorola charger, and when I woke up around 6 it was fully charged in less than 2 hours. So my question is, are we only suppose to be using the charger that came w/ it or is my outlet possessed

Check the amp output of the charger, a good one will be at 1amp, where most are around 500ma or less.
23rd February 2011, 10:13 PM   |  #6  
perdurabo2's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag NJ
Thanks Meter: 21
 
137 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
More
If you're having charging issues, it's probably because the charger isn't supplying the required 800ma draw. Most USB power adapters still only output 500ma max. Be sure your 3rd party charger can output 800ma or more. For example the Apple USB adapters can output anywhere from 1000ma to 2000ma and they work great charging the Atrix.

Hope this helps!
23rd February 2011, 10:14 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Houston
Thanks Meter: 1
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsinc1962

I tried using my Nexus charger last night and the phone didn't like it at all. It started FC'ing all over the place and I had to reboot it. The voltage on both chargers are the same. For a moment I thought I f'd it up but it's been fine all day.

[QUOTE=co.ag.2005;11587704]I'm using Blackberry's micro usb chargers with no problem. I bought a few of these for my N1, and they work fine with the Atrix. The N1 charger from Google/HTC does not work like you all have said.


Yep to both. I tried my N1 charger last night, and the Atrix wasn't having it. Tried my BB charger at work and it charged up quickly. It's weird. On the plus side, a second usb cable is only 6 bucks from at&t ... which is fair.
23rd February 2011, 10:50 PM   |  #8  
Member
Flag Vilano Beach, FL
Thanks Meter: 1
 
56 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2006
More
The Atrix must be a little charge sensitive (maybe it has a rapid charge mode or something). We have at our counter a surge protector that also has two built in USB ports for charging. We've charged our iPhone 4 and my Captivate at the same time for months.

When I plugged in the Atrix, it starting chirping (like switching the charge mode on/off/on/off) and the iP4 _also_ started flipping out (again, like the power was being interrupted).

I wound up plugging into the same surge protector, but used a regular AC outlet and the supplied USB>>AC adapter. Everything ran/charged just fine.
24th February 2011, 12:10 AM   |  #9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
56 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Mine seems to freeze up and force close often whenever I charge it with my blackberry cord. The same cord had been charging my Backflip fine for months.
24th February 2011, 05:57 PM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
Need the Amp rating
I don't have an Atrix yet (I will soon).

The Blackberry charger that I have puts out 700mA.

But I have tried to use other micro USB chargers with the BlackBerry (BB) and if the charger does not put out the right amps, the BB keeps flipping into/out of clock mode. If you then plug in a BB charger....works great.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes