Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,813,583 Members 38,031 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[SOLVED] Atrix will not power on, green light flashes, plugged in and.... nothing!

Tip us?
 
KryptosXLayer2
Old
(Last edited by KryptosXLayer2; 23rd February 2011 at 05:46 PM.)
#1  
KryptosXLayer2's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 289
Posts: 1,278
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [SOLVED] Atrix will not power on, green light flashes, plugged in and.... nothing!

Went to sleep last night with my Atrix plugged in as I normally have had all my phones, was playing with it right before I went to sleep and everything worked just fine, woke up this morning and the phone will not power on!

First tried to power it on unplugged and the green light flashed for 2 seconds, and nothing happened. Okay, weird, but I'll go with it. Plugged it in, and the green light stays on now until I press the power button! Once pressed, it flashes off, flashes on for 2 seconds and stays off. Nice. I thought the green light meant it was fully charged - when I woke up this morning, it had no green light on, but it was plugged in just fine all night - grabbed my Jawbone ERA and plugged it in to the charger I had the Atrix connected to and it started charging right away, so I know it works....

Pulled the battery, tried plugging it in and power it on without the battery. Nothing. Tried putting in the battery and plugging it in again to "jump start it" as I had done yesterday when I first got it - apparently you can't just charge the thing when connected to a laptop if the phone is off, it will power on even if you power it off again! Nothing.

What the hell happened in it's sleep? I KNOW rooting it didn't cause sleep death.... This thing doesn't have a custom ROM or any undervoltage adjustments, so why the hell is it acting up??? Damnit, right when I got EVERYTHING set up the way I wanted it too.... can't bring it in to the store and give it up with all my personal stuff on there now, I need this thing to power on to wipe it first!!! I'm leaving it connected to the laptop with the green light on for a while and will see what happens in an hour or so....

EDIT - just searched for and tried to hard reset the phone from this thread, the phone still won't even power on to get to the recovery screen!!!

UPDATE - see below and use the SUPPLIED Moto AC charger or at least one with over 5.0V - NOT a PC and NOT a USB hub!
 
cegna09
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 305
Join Date: Jun 2009
use the charger that came with the phone. My old HTC ones won't charge the phone for some reason. I bet your battery is just dead.
 
dew.man
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 102
Posts: 477
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: White Lake
Did you use the provided charger? I tried plugging my Atrix in to the charger I used for my N1, and found that it did not provide enough current. With the old charger, after the phone died, I had similar symptoms where the green light would flash but phone would not come on. Plugged it in with the Moto provided charger, and 5 minutes later all was good...
 
Dimeezy
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 36
Join Date: Jul 2010
I had the same problem. Thought I was gonna have to take it back to the store. I don't know what the problem was but I took the battery out for 5 minutes. Then I plugged it into the wall charger(wouldn't work with PC). I didn't turn it on for 30 min, just left it on the charger. Then I hit the volume rocker and it showed the battery charging symbol which it didn't do before. And then I was able to power it on
 
nsaia
Old
#5  
nsaia's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 144
Join Date: Jan 2008
Same thing here. I purposely drained my battery on the first use. Plugged the usb cable into the PC and nothing. Same blinking green light with no response. I also thought I'd have to return the phone. Then for S & Gs I plugged it into the wall charger and it came to life. Once I got the battery charged a little bit I plugged it into the PC and it started to charge again. Don't know why, but it worked.
 
KryptosXLayer2
Old
#6  
KryptosXLayer2's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 289
Posts: 1,278
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC

 
DONATE TO ME
Have been running around the house trying to find valid outlets, and that does indeed appear to be the problem. I found it out the hard way though, should have kept an eye on the thread - used a power outlet instead of a PC USB connection and the screen fired right up! Yes, the phone showed the battery with 0% in it, but at least the screen finally came on!

How I have my phone set up normally is connected to my charging valet on my dresser, connected with a 15 foot USB cable that plugs directly into my desktop. Since the extension is good for just one USB connection, I have that connected to a USB hub and then a MicroUSB cable connects my phone from there. The Captivate, and all the other phones I've ever used, not to mention my Zune and Jawbone ERA, all eat that up and have no issues since the USB hub is powered not by the computer (seven USB cables is just too many for a single PC connection) but by the power outlet in the charging valet. I wonder if the hub is distributing the power requirement for each device and the Atrix needs more than others.

I also figured out that the Moto charger has a 5.1V output on it, as does my Jawbone AC charger. Now I need to start making sure that my each one of my chargers in the cars I own has that same type amount of juice too! You go up 29% in battery capacity and so do the requirements to charge it, huh?

Thanks for all the help, marking this SOLVED....
 
waltah!
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 316
Join Date: May 2009
I used the charger in my bedroom that I've used for the Captivate and others before it and it didn't provide enough juice to charge the Atrix. It quickly switched between charging and not charging. I still had 40% battery showing when I woke up though which was nice. It had been off of charge since 10am yesterday.
Plugged it into an HTC charger and it's fine. The one that didn't work is not a modular charger so the power cord is hard wired to the plug.
 
KryptosXLayer2
Old
#8  
KryptosXLayer2's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 289
Posts: 1,278
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC

 
DONATE TO ME
Alright, a quick update.... Got the phone charged to 100% while it was off and plugged into the AC outlet with the Moto charger. Put my SIM card back in it - couldn't be without a phone all day! - and fired up the Atrix. Went to Battery Info to see what the status is and while plugged into my USB hub, it says

Quote:
Battery Status: Discharging
Power plug: USB
....
Battery Voltage: 4124 mV (or 4.124V)
What the hell? Then I went right after that and plugged it into the Moto AC charger, it says:

Quote:
Battery Status: Full
Power plug: AC
....
Battery Voltage: 4207 mV (or 4.207V)
Why are POWERED USB hubs and PCs not strong enough to charge the phone? I tried ALL my outlets in my vehicles just now and they ALL show full battery status and plugged into AC! Who screwed this up????
 
Battleship
Old
#9  
Battleship's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 73
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by GarciaM25 View Post
Why are POWERED USB hubs and PCs not strong enough to charge the phone? I tried ALL my outlets in my vehicles just now and they ALL show full battery status and plugged into AC! Who screwed this up????
Did you download the PC Charging Drivers that Motorola requires you to have in order to charge via PC and USB cable? If not, look here.
 
KryptosXLayer2
Old
#10  
KryptosXLayer2's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 289
Posts: 1,278
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Battleship View Post
Did you download the PC Charging Drivers that Motorola requires you to have in order to charge via PC and USB cable? If not, look here.
Wait, you have to have specific drivers on the PC so that the phone will allow a power cable (let's not even worry about it being a USB cable for a second) to charge the phone properly? I have the Motorola Media Link software installed, and that has a ton of drivers on it, that wasn't enough? MORE drivers are required to charge a cell phone? This is madness!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Android M Mentions Spotted in Android Code Review

While we are still waiting for Android L to be officially released, the first mentions of … more

Create a Simple Custom Launcher from Scratch

When you are starting your journey intoany sort of development, it’s never easy at the … more

MediaTek Continues Steps Towards Being Developer-Friendly

Not too long ago MediaTek was very closed off towards the mobile developer … more