FORUMS

Galaxy S6 & Edge get €100 Price Cut—New Models Incoming

Samsung has dropped the price of both the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge by … more

How To Port Fully Featured Sony Xperia Z4 Camera

Xperia Z4’s hardware may not impress, but its software is definitely … more

Experimental TWRP Available For Moto G 2015

XDA Senior Member squid2 has posted experimental builds of TWRP for the Moto G … more

Sunday Debate: How Can We Get a No-Compromise Phone?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Compromises. Come with your opinions and … more

4G Tethering over WiFi Speed Issues?

1,657 posts
Thanks Meter: 10,765
 
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
14th June 2011, 01:27 AM |#41  
teh roxxorz's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,121
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by soma1509

That's the very first page that came up on my search, so I guess I did my job well for a noob XD

I created the wireless.tether folder on the root of my sdcard and deposited that .bin file as instructed. It seems to work ok.

Latest Wireless Tether app from google [I think it's 3.0 pre-14] seems to only work for me when I set it to ad-hoc mode, though I'm guessing that's fine. Encryption doesn't seem to work either as my desktop never asked me for my set password and it says the connection is unsecured when encryption is actually enabled.

And yes, I changed the port number on my desktop too.

With this app plus the proxy filter, I am still only pushing about 1.5mbps max; on a good day 2.0mbps, though on average I'm pushing dial-up speeds when browsing for extended periods of time.

Sadly, I think this is something I'm gonna have to live with. Thanks though since I never got the Wireless Tether app to work before.

Well, just looking, you said 'wireless.tether' folder; it should have been android.tether on the root of the sd card, did you name it correctly?
The Following User Says Thank You to teh roxxorz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
14th June 2011, 01:33 AM |#42  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by teh roxxorz

Well, just looking, you said 'wireless.tether' folder; it should have been android.tether on the root of the sd card, did you name it correctly?

android.tether is indeed what I named my new folder [after I double checked]. Pardon me for my idiocy of mixing up names here XD

Bottom line is: it works, but I wish it was faster.
14th June 2011, 01:39 AM |#43  
teh roxxorz's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,121
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by soma1509

android.tether is indeed what I named my new folder [after I double checked]. Pardon me for my idiocy of mixing up names here XD

Bottom line is: it works, but I wish it was faster.

It happens.

Well I wish it could be faster for you, but at that point, its a matter of signal strength.
The Following User Says Thank You to teh roxxorz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th July 2011, 06:02 PM |#44  
dezel29's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag cincinnatti
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
been using this for awhile now with great success...then a few days ago everything disappeared with my speeds...if i run speedtest on the phone i get 5-7 mbs....run it on the pc and its 1-3...but web pages still take forever to load, etc...have reinstalled proxy several times and toggled back n forth with firefoxs proxies...gettting really aggravated...i have excellent coverage of 4G btw..the longer i use the internet the slower the speeds get...is sprint throttling me ?? please help if ya can...ty
5th July 2011, 10:13 PM |#45  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
What is the best way to test if this is working. Do I need to run the speedtest.net on the tethered computer or are the read-out speeds accurate on the wifi tether app?
6th July 2011, 12:52 AM |#46  
teh roxxorz's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,121
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dezel29

been using this for awhile now with great success...then a few days ago everything disappeared with my speeds...if i run speedtest on the phone i get 5-7 mbs....run it on the pc and its 1-3...but web pages still take forever to load, etc...have reinstalled proxy several times and toggled back n forth with firefoxs proxies...gettting really aggravated...i have excellent coverage of 4G btw..the longer i use the internet the slower the speeds get...is sprint throttling me ?? please help if ya can...ty

Have you tried clearing out your browser's cache and fragmenting your pc?
The Following User Says Thank You to teh roxxorz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th July 2011, 02:42 AM |#47  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
thank you for this
18th July 2011, 05:36 AM |#48  
djtonyb33's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Fort Lauderdale
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Smile Update
After a couple of months, I have to say that this fix has been one of the most valuable things I have found on xda... I still have some intermittent issues, but with the filter proxy app running I am getting between 1-6 mbps download on 4g, but with the proxy off I can't break 1 mbps at all... I also believe the proxy pushes my 3g a little faster, but that just may be my imagination (3g runs between .8 and 1.5 mbps). I was consistently getting 4g speeds lower than 3g before I was running filter proxy.

Thanks again to Dees, as I was just about ready to throw the EVO out the window!
18th July 2011, 11:20 PM |#49  
Junior Member
Flag Gilbert, AZ
Thanks Meter: 0
 
Donate to Me
More
Great work on this! If everything were THIS easy to setup, I'd be out of a job!
20th July 2011, 06:03 PM |#50  
dezel29's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag cincinnatti
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by teh roxxorz

Have you tried clearing out your browser's cache and fragmenting your pc?

yes i have...no luck...i keep getting a proxy server is refusing connections...

have restarted the proxy app and pc too, nothing works...

everything was working fine then all of a sudden nothing...my phone will show speed test at 8mb down, but IF i am even able to load a webpage i am getting 2-3 mb down it says, but webpages barely load if at all
21st July 2011, 03:55 PM |#51  
teh roxxorz's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,121
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dezel29

yes i have...no luck...i keep getting a proxy server is refusing connections...

have restarted the proxy app and pc too, nothing works...

everything was working fine then all of a sudden nothing...my phone will show speed test at 8mb down, but IF i am even able to load a webpage i am getting 2-3 mb down it says, but webpages barely load if at all

You also made no system changes? Are you sure the ip hasn't changed from terminal emulator? Run:

su
netcfg

And make sure the IP address is the same. Also, by any chance, would you know how to determine a Proxy hostname? I can tether to my thrive tablet just fine, but have to use the CM7 tether instead of wireless tether because we all know it doesn't work, and it gives an example of 'proxy.example.com'

Nevermind, I fixed it while typing this up: you just enter the ip address from netcfg [my problem]

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes