FORUMS

How to Root the LG G4 and Install TWRP Recovery – XDA TV

A rooting method has finally been found for the flagship LG G4. In this … more

New Xposed for Lollipop 5.0 Update Fixes Major Bugs

Senior Recognized Developer rovo89 has patched Xposed for Lollipop 5.0 to … more

Download Sony’s new AOSP-like concept for Xperia Z3

Over in our forums, Recognized Contributor Jozinek has posted a very … more

OnePlus 2 vs Moto X Style: Which is The Better Flagship?

Two big industry names have announced their newest flagship phones within the … more

 View Poll Results: Did you have to pay for activation on your Xoom?

Nope! I got mine at Verizon!
 
9 Vote(s)
25.00%
Yes, even though I got mine at Verizon.
 
4 Vote(s)
11.11%
No fee at BestBuy!
 
5 Vote(s)
13.89%
BestBuy forced me into the fee. I feel abused.
 
4 Vote(s)
11.11%
Costco is free of fees!
 
3 Vote(s)
8.33%
Costco emptied my wallet with the fee, but 90 day returns feels nice.
 
8 Vote(s)
22.22%
Yes, I paid it, but I wanted a data plan anyhow.
 
3 Vote(s)
8.33%

Did you have to pay an activation fee with your Xoom?

821 posts
Thanks Meter: 42
 
By Sirchuk, Senior Member on 24th February 2011, 02:56 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Verizon contacted Engadget and stated today that the activation fee and month of service for those buying the Xoom at full price is no longer necessary.

I'm curious if you had to pay the fee or not. I intend on purchasing from Costco when they open in about 3 hours. I'm going to show them the article if they give me any flack, and I'll post back here.

Quote:

Update: Verizon's been in touch to inform us of a policy change: customers who purchase the off-contract Xoom will now no longer need to be on a month to month plan. That said, we still see "Month to Month" as a compulsory option at the time of updating this post.

Last edited by Sirchuk; 24th February 2011 at 03:00 PM.
 
 
24th February 2011, 03:13 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
I bought from a VZW corporate store this morning, full price, no activation required. She asked me if I was just using for wifi or if I wanted data, I said wifi and that was it.
24th February 2011, 03:28 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 69
 
More
I'm in Iraq currently, so i had to get it overnighted to my wife and she has to activate it. I paid the activation fee...then, immediately after it is activated I am calling vzw and placing it on military suspension, and getting the activation fee credited to my account. they don't ship to APO addresses, and it has to be activated over the cell network if you get it subsidized.

hopefully, I can cancel the contract later this year. I've done it on ATT before.
24th February 2011, 03:38 PM |#4  
ghodzilla5150's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Bernardino, CA
Thanks Meter: 39
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sirchuk

Verizon contacted Engadget and stated today that the activation fee and month of service for those buying the Xoom at full price is no longer necessary.

I'm curious if you had to pay the fee or not. I intend on purchasing from Costco when they open in about 3 hours. I'm going to show them the article if they give me any flack, and I'll post back here.


I need to know too. I am going to Costco in 3 hours and would like to just purchase the unit without activation and data plan
24th February 2011, 03:42 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 477
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghodzilla5150

I need to know too. I am going to Costco in 3 hours and would like to just purchase the unit without activation and data plan

The official statement is from Verizon, and it's my understanding that it's the Verizon booth in Costco that activates the 3g on the device. If someone tells me I must get 3g, I'm going to mention to them the official Verizon stance and ask if they can contact their corporate office to check.
24th February 2011, 03:42 PM |#6  
setite's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghodzilla5150

I need to know too. I am going to Costco in 3 hours and would like to just purchase the unit without activation and data plan

ditto tenchar
24th February 2011, 03:45 PM |#7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Got mine at Costco this morning, and they made me signup for a plan... I told him Verizon doesn't require this anymore but rep insisted he has to sign me up for plan. He even proceeds to fill out a rebate form for me, even though I told him im going to cancel within the 72hr period anyways. Oh well...
24th February 2011, 03:48 PM |#8  
setite's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by harajuka

Got mine at Costco this morning, and they made me signup for a plan... I told him Verizon doesn't require this anymore but rep insisted he has to sign me up for plan. He even proceeds to fill out a rebate form for me, even though I told him im going to cancel within the 72hr period anyways. Oh well...

I was afraid of this. Verizon probably has no intention of rushing to get the information out there hoping to still snag some undeserved money.
24th February 2011, 03:49 PM |#9  
Adam B.'s Avatar
Member
Flag Indianapolis
Thanks Meter: 22
 
More
I got mine at Best Buy and they let me sign up without a plan... But the girl at the register didn't really know what she was doing.
24th February 2011, 03:51 PM |#10  
ghodzilla5150's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Bernardino, CA
Thanks Meter: 39
 
More
I am taking my EVO with me. I already have the Engadget page ready to show if they give me an crap about fees. They are a Verizon kiosk (Verizon Representative) and should honor what Verizon is doing. If they are doing it in the Verizon stores, they should do it at their kiosks as well.
24th February 2011, 03:52 PM |#11  
ghodzilla5150's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Bernardino, CA
Thanks Meter: 39
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by setite

I was afraid of this. Verizon probably has no intention of rushing to get the information out there hoping to still snag some undeserved money.

That's when the Costco Verizon Rep needs to call a Corp store and ask them. This is what I will tell them when I get there

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes