Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
View Poll Results: Did you have to pay for activation on your Xoom?
Nope! I got mine at Verizon! 9 25.00%
Yes, even though I got mine at Verizon. 4 11.11%
No fee at BestBuy! 5 13.89%
BestBuy forced me into the fee. I feel abused. 4 11.11%
Costco is free of fees! 3 8.33%
Costco emptied my wallet with the fee, but 90 day returns feels nice. 8 22.22%
Yes, I paid it, but I wanted a data plan anyhow. 3 8.33%
Voters: 36. You may not vote on this poll

Post Reply

Did you have to pay an activation fee with your Xoom?

OP Sirchuk

24th February 2011, 03:56 PM   |  #1  
Sirchuk's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 40
 
795 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
Verizon contacted Engadget and stated today that the activation fee and month of service for those buying the Xoom at full price is no longer necessary.

I'm curious if you had to pay the fee or not. I intend on purchasing from Costco when they open in about 3 hours. I'm going to show them the article if they give me any flack, and I'll post back here.

Quote:

Update: Verizon's been in touch to inform us of a policy change: customers who purchase the off-contract Xoom will now no longer need to be on a month to month plan. That said, we still see "Month to Month" as a compulsory option at the time of updating this post.

Last edited by Sirchuk; 24th February 2011 at 04:00 PM.
24th February 2011, 04:13 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
213 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
I bought from a VZW corporate store this morning, full price, no activation required. She asked me if I was just using for wifi or if I wanted data, I said wifi and that was it.
24th February 2011, 04:28 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 69
 
233 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
I'm in Iraq currently, so i had to get it overnighted to my wife and she has to activate it. I paid the activation fee...then, immediately after it is activated I am calling vzw and placing it on military suspension, and getting the activation fee credited to my account. they don't ship to APO addresses, and it has to be activated over the cell network if you get it subsidized.

hopefully, I can cancel the contract later this year. I've done it on ATT before.
24th February 2011, 04:38 PM   |  #4  
ghodzilla5150's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Bernardino, CA
Thanks Meter: 38
 
389 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sirchuk

Verizon contacted Engadget and stated today that the activation fee and month of service for those buying the Xoom at full price is no longer necessary.

I'm curious if you had to pay the fee or not. I intend on purchasing from Costco when they open in about 3 hours. I'm going to show them the article if they give me any flack, and I'll post back here.


I need to know too. I am going to Costco in 3 hours and would like to just purchase the unit without activation and data plan
24th February 2011, 04:42 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 477
 
698 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghodzilla5150

I need to know too. I am going to Costco in 3 hours and would like to just purchase the unit without activation and data plan

The official statement is from Verizon, and it's my understanding that it's the Verizon booth in Costco that activates the 3g on the device. If someone tells me I must get 3g, I'm going to mention to them the official Verizon stance and ask if they can contact their corporate office to check.
24th February 2011, 04:42 PM   |  #6  
setite's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
450 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghodzilla5150

I need to know too. I am going to Costco in 3 hours and would like to just purchase the unit without activation and data plan

ditto tenchar
24th February 2011, 04:45 PM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
68 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Got mine at Costco this morning, and they made me signup for a plan... I told him Verizon doesn't require this anymore but rep insisted he has to sign me up for plan. He even proceeds to fill out a rebate form for me, even though I told him im going to cancel within the 72hr period anyways. Oh well...
24th February 2011, 04:48 PM   |  #8  
setite's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
450 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by harajuka

Got mine at Costco this morning, and they made me signup for a plan... I told him Verizon doesn't require this anymore but rep insisted he has to sign me up for plan. He even proceeds to fill out a rebate form for me, even though I told him im going to cancel within the 72hr period anyways. Oh well...

I was afraid of this. Verizon probably has no intention of rushing to get the information out there hoping to still snag some undeserved money.
24th February 2011, 04:49 PM   |  #9  
Adam B.'s Avatar
Member
Flag Indianapolis
Thanks Meter: 22
 
77 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
More
I got mine at Best Buy and they let me sign up without a plan... But the girl at the register didn't really know what she was doing.
24th February 2011, 04:51 PM   |  #10  
ghodzilla5150's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Bernardino, CA
Thanks Meter: 38
 
389 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
I am taking my EVO with me. I already have the Engadget page ready to show if they give me an crap about fees. They are a Verizon kiosk (Verizon Representative) and should honor what Verizon is doing. If they are doing it in the Verizon stores, they should do it at their kiosks as well.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes