Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,802,957 Members 38,708 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum
View Poll Results: Did you have to pay for activation on your Xoom?
Nope! I got mine at Verizon! 9 25.00%
Yes, even though I got mine at Verizon. 4 11.11%
No fee at BestBuy! 5 13.89%
BestBuy forced me into the fee. I feel abused. 4 11.11%
Costco is free of fees! 3 8.33%
Costco emptied my wallet with the fee, but 90 day returns feels nice. 8 22.22%
Yes, I paid it, but I wanted a data plan anyhow. 3 8.33%
Voters: 36. You may not vote on this poll

Did you have to pay an activation fee with your Xoom?

Tip us?
 
Sirchuk
Old
(Last edited by Sirchuk; 24th February 2011 at 03:00 PM.)
#1  
Sirchuk's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 780
Join Date: Jul 2009
Default Did you have to pay an activation fee with your Xoom?

Verizon contacted Engadget and stated today that the activation fee and month of service for those buying the Xoom at full price is no longer necessary.

I'm curious if you had to pay the fee or not. I intend on purchasing from Costco when they open in about 3 hours. I'm going to show them the article if they give me any flack, and I'll post back here.

Quote:
Update: Verizon's been in touch to inform us of a policy change: customers who purchase the off-contract Xoom will now no longer need to be on a month to month plan. That said, we still see "Month to Month" as a compulsory option at the time of updating this post.
Rooted Android Devices:
Samsung Galaxy Note 3
Samsung Galaxy S4
Kindle Fire HD
HTC EVO 4G LTE
Samsung Galaxy Nexus
Motorola Xoom - Verizon
HTC EVO 4G
HTC Hero
HTC T-Mobile G1
 
bogatyr
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 213
Join Date: Jun 2010
I bought from a VZW corporate store this morning, full price, no activation required. She asked me if I was just using for wifi or if I wanted data, I said wifi and that was it.
 
generic.imitation
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 69
Posts: 233
Join Date: Feb 2009
I'm in Iraq currently, so i had to get it overnighted to my wife and she has to activate it. I paid the activation fee...then, immediately after it is activated I am calling vzw and placing it on military suspension, and getting the activation fee credited to my account. they don't ship to APO addresses, and it has to be activated over the cell network if you get it subsidized.

hopefully, I can cancel the contract later this year. I've done it on ATT before.
 
ghodzilla5150
Old
#4  
ghodzilla5150's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 388
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: San Bernardino, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sirchuk View Post
Verizon contacted Engadget and stated today that the activation fee and month of service for those buying the Xoom at full price is no longer necessary.

I'm curious if you had to pay the fee or not. I intend on purchasing from Costco when they open in about 3 hours. I'm going to show them the article if they give me any flack, and I'll post back here.

I need to know too. I am going to Costco in 3 hours and would like to just purchase the unit without activation and data plan
 
Jrockttu
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 477
Posts: 696
Join Date: Nov 2007

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghodzilla5150 View Post
I need to know too. I am going to Costco in 3 hours and would like to just purchase the unit without activation and data plan
The official statement is from Verizon, and it's my understanding that it's the Verizon booth in Costco that activates the 3g on the device. If someone tells me I must get 3g, I'm going to mention to them the official Verizon stance and ask if they can contact their corporate office to check.
 
setite
Old
#6  
setite's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 33
Posts: 450
Join Date: Apr 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghodzilla5150 View Post
I need to know too. I am going to Costco in 3 hours and would like to just purchase the unit without activation and data plan
ditto tenchar
 
harajuka
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 58
Join Date: Mar 2010
Got mine at Costco this morning, and they made me signup for a plan... I told him Verizon doesn't require this anymore but rep insisted he has to sign me up for plan. He even proceeds to fill out a rebate form for me, even though I told him im going to cancel within the 72hr period anyways. Oh well...
 
setite
Old
#8  
setite's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 33
Posts: 450
Join Date: Apr 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by harajuka View Post
Got mine at Costco this morning, and they made me signup for a plan... I told him Verizon doesn't require this anymore but rep insisted he has to sign me up for plan. He even proceeds to fill out a rebate form for me, even though I told him im going to cancel within the 72hr period anyways. Oh well...
I was afraid of this. Verizon probably has no intention of rushing to get the information out there hoping to still snag some undeserved money.
 
Adam B.
Old
#9  
Adam B.'s Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 77
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Indianapolis
I got mine at Best Buy and they let me sign up without a plan... But the girl at the register didn't really know what she was doing.
 
ghodzilla5150
Old
#10  
ghodzilla5150's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 388
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: San Bernardino, CA
I am taking my EVO with me. I already have the Engadget page ready to show if they give me an crap about fees. They are a Verizon kiosk (Verizon Representative) and should honor what Verizon is doing. If they are doing it in the Verizon stores, they should do it at their kiosks as well.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Speed Up Jenkins Configuration Process with TSJ

When you are theleader of a largedevelopment project, Gerrit isn’t the only tool that … more

AutoData Regulates Your Connectivity to Save Battery Life

It’s absolutely no secret that battery life is somewhat of anundoingformany … more

Tale of the Great Recoveries

About a week ago, our fantastic writer and my esteemed colleague Tom embarked on a mission to learnthe vast and … more

How to Make Your GPS Lock Faster – XDA Developer TV

Nothing is more frustrating than opening up Google Maps and it taking way to long … more