Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,384 Members 44,079 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q]Install ATT blocked app from market?

Tip us?
 
RayYung
Old
(Last edited by RayYung; 24th February 2011 at 10:52 PM.) Reason: typo
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 401
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: White Plains, NY
Question [Q]Install ATT blocked app from market?

Any one know how to install AT&T blocked Apps from Android market without rooting the phone??

I have been searching on the net. Most people said turn on airport mode or takeout the SIM card. I tried both but neither one work.

Anyone have other ways to install those apps? (Calling card is the one I actually want to install)


Thanks a lot,
 
grumpy.medic
Old
#2  
grumpy.medic's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 76
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: SFO

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by RayYung View Post
Any one know how to install AT&T blocked Apps from Android market without rooting the phone??

I have been searching on the net. Most people said turn on airport mode or takeout the SIM card. I tried both but neither one work.

Anyone have other ways to install those apps? (Calling card is the one I actually want to install)


Thanks a lot,
In the past doing this has worked, though, I have not tried it myself on the Inspire yet.
  • Power down your phone
  • Take out your sim
  • Boot phone
  • Get on wifi
  • Go to the appstore and install your app
  • Power phone down, replace sim and restart

There is some data on the sim that prohibits users from finding/installing certain apps from the store. It should be noted, that this is NOT a solution for apps that require the phone to be rooted to function properly.

Let me know how it goes.

__________________

5g5 5kЯ0ck37 - n3Xu5 nn0d
h7c n5pr3 4g - c5 λ05pX
7O5h8λ 7hrvE - Я00736 00nn
pλd - jλ18R0K3n
nnλcb00kpЯ0 5 - u8un7u n477y nλrvvhλ1
__________________

| Dropbox | BF3 Boot Screen | My Signature Picture | Report Bad Link |
 
RayYung
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 401
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: White Plains, NY
Doesn't work for me...

I even deleted the cache and the app data of Market.
 
gunnyman
Old
(Last edited by gunnyman; 25th February 2011 at 12:38 AM.)
#4  
gunnyman's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2655
Posts: 7,882
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Greenville SC

 
DONATE TO ME
Can you send it from your computer to your phone? Android.com/market.

Crap it's even blocked there.

Sent from my Desire HD using Tapatalk
Uncle Gunny says, "MAKE A NANDROID"
LG G2 Uncarriered
LG Gpad 8.3 GPE
Rooted and Xposed
Don't be a d*ck -Wil Wheaton
Unlocking and rooting your HTC One with a Mac
Oh BTW I'm fat.
 
homeslice976
Old
#5  
homeslice976's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2105
Posts: 2,881
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Central Pennsylvania

 
DONATE TO ME
I've always been able to just put the phone in airplane mode, then connect to wifi, then load market and have access to whatever I need - never had to pull SIM
 
RayYung
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 401
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: White Plains, NY
It won't let me......

I got this error message:
"This item is not available on your carrier" (Please see attached screenshot)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ATT_blocked_App.JPG
Views:	116
Size:	34.5 KB
ID:	526578  
 
bmolloy
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 151
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Temecula,
Quote:
Originally Posted by RayYung View Post
It won't let me......

I got this error message:
"This item is not available on your carrier" (Please see attached screenshot)
I think the problem is with the app. I have an unlocked Nexus One in addition to my inspire and I can not even get that app to install on the N1, which is unlocked and wifi only since the sim is in the Inspire now.

I used the airplane mode to put PDA net on my phone no problem, it was not available when the phone was hooked to at&t's network. You might want to connect the developer and see if there are specific network requirements.
 
grumpy.medic
Old
#8  
grumpy.medic's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 76
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: SFO

 
DONATE TO ME
Well if sideloading does not work... and removing the sim does not either... not sure... which app are you trying to install? Maybe I can try.

__________________

5g5 5kЯ0ck37 - n3Xu5 nn0d
h7c n5pr3 4g - c5 λ05pX
7O5h8λ 7hrvE - Я00736 00nn
pλd - jλ18R0K3n
nnλcb00kpЯ0 5 - u8un7u n477y nλrvvhλ1
__________________

| Dropbox | BF3 Boot Screen | My Signature Picture | Report Bad Link |
 
andysousa
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 24
Join Date: Feb 2011
I just got pdanet, put your phone in airplane mode then turn on WiFi. Reopen market and search for your app.

Sent from my Desire HD using XDA App
 
RayYung
Old
#10  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 401
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: White Plains, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by grumpy.medic View Post
Well if sideloading does not work... and removing the sim does not either... not sure... which app are you trying to install? Maybe I can try.
I was trying to install this: https://market.android.com/details?i...do.callingcard

Quote:
Originally Posted by andysousa View Post
I just got pdanet, put your phone in airplane mode then turn on WiFi. Reopen market and search for your app.
I can't find the app if I run Market on the phone (with SIM pulled and wifi).
If I search the the developer (ALEJANDRO TROCCOLI) on the phone(again, no SIM), I only see the Pro version. If I search it on my PC I get the free and Pro.


Thanks again,

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Remove Unnecessary WhatsApp Elements with Xposed

In modern life, you can’t underestimate the power ofthe dark sidemessaging … more

MaR-V-iN to Talk Google and Android APIs at XDA:DevCon 2014

Our international xda:devcon 14in Manchester, UK on the weekend of September … more