Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,812,248 Members 37,659 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[How To] Manually enable sideloading

Tip us?
 
gdanko
Old
(Last edited by gdanko; 25th February 2011 at 11:21 PM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 40
Posts: 370
Join Date: Oct 2010
Default [How To] Manually enable sideloading

First of all, Linux and OS X come with sqlite3 by default. Windows users will need to download the executable. With that said, here is how you can enable sideloading the old-fashioned way.

Code:
[gdanko@dolemite ~]$ adb shell

$ su
# busybox cp /data/data/com.android.providers.settings/databases/settings.db /data/data/com.android.providers.settings/databases/settings.db.bak
# chown system.system /data/data/com.android.providers.settings/databases/settings.db
# ls -l /data/data/com.android.providers.settings/databases/settings.db*
# busybox cp /data/data/com.android.providers.settings/databases/settings.db /sdcard
# exit
$ exit

[gdanko@dolemite ~]$ adb pull /sdcard/settings.db
sqlite3 settings.db
sqlite> SELECT * FROM secure WHERE name="install_non_market_apps";
3|install_non_market_apps|0

sqlite> UPDATE secure SET value=1 WHERE name="install_non_market_apps";
sqlite> SELECT * FROM secure WHERE name="install_non_market_apps";
3|install_non_market_apps|1

sqlite> .quit

[gdanko@dolemite ~]$ adb push settings.db /sdcard/
[gdanko@dolemite ~]$ adb shell

$ su
# busybox cp /sdcard/settings.db /data/data/com.android.providers.settings/databases/settings.db
# chown system.system /data/data/com.android.providers.settings/databases/settings.db
# ls -l /data/data/com.android.providers.settings/databases/settings.db*
# exit
$ exit

[gdanko@dolemite ~]$ adb reboot
You should be all set.
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to gdanko For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
lsxrx7
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 45
Posts: 713
Join Date: Feb 2010
thank god for super one click
 
jug6ernaut
Old
#3  
jug6ernaut's Avatar
Retired Moderator / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 458
Posts: 2,533
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: San Antonio, Tx
Script?

Sent from my MB860 using XDA Premium App

-Active-
- Nexus5 -
- Nexus7.2 -

-Retired-
- Xperia Z2 - LG G2 - Xperia ZL - Samsung Note2 - Samsung Note1 - GalaxyNexus - Motorola Atrix - NexusOne - LG Expo - HTC TouchPro2 - HTC Kaiser - HTC Wizard -
- Nexus7 - HP Touchpad - Motorola Xoom -

"You can lead a fool to knowledge, but you can not make them think."
 
gdanko
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 40
Posts: 370
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by lsxrx7 View Post
thank god for super one click
1) Great if you use Wind'oh!s which I refuse to do.
2) I like to know how things work.
 
aksma
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 43
Join Date: Sep 2008
I think this work on only rooted devices. If that case we have one already which will root it and also side load apps.
 
darkamikaze
Old
#6  
darkamikaze's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 165
Posts: 1,458
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Candyland
You got the phone gdanko?! Cool
I'll do it this way for kicks when I get my phone lol
"I once stuck my hand down my pants and I made lemonade out of it."
I think that's how that quote goes.
 
norcal einstein
Old
#7  
norcal einstein's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 302
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bay Area
Quote:
Originally Posted by gdanko View Post
1) Great if you use Wind'oh!s which I refuse to do.
2) I like to know how things work.
Yes, it's always great to know how things work.

But it looks like SuperOneClick is not just confined to Windows.

It is compatible with:
Windows Vista
Windows 7
Ubuntu Hardy (8.04 LTS)
Ubuntu Jaunty (9.04)
Ubuntu Karmic (9.10)
Ubuntu Lucid (10.04 LTS)
Ubuntu Maverick (10.10)
Debian Lenny (5.0)
Debian Squeeze (testing)
Debian Sid (unstable)
Debian Experimental
The Following User Says Thank You to norcal einstein For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
agentdr8
Old
#8  
agentdr8's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,045
Posts: 2,055
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Cowtown, CA

 
DONATE TO ME
SuperOneClick uses Mono on Linux platforms, so most any of the modern ones should work. I used it on my openSUSE box and it worked just fine for allowing non-market installs.
AT&T HTC One (m7)
ARHD'd

Check out my Xposed modules
Stock Sense 6 battery with percent
Xposed StatusBar Mods - Statusbar mods for HTC One-series
TD Fuzzer - Change Touchdown device provisioning data
GoogleCamX - Use Volume buttons to zoom in Google Camera
XFBSync - Restore native FB syncing in CM10+
XposedMTC - Mods for KGL/RM/KLD Android headunits
GCalMonthDetail - Enable/customize event text in GCal month view
SkypeX - Spoof Skype version sent to servers
 
phro321
Old
#9  
phro321's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 104
Join Date: Apr 2007
Can anyone do this a little more nood friendly? And/or does this require root?
 
norcal einstein
Old
#10  
norcal einstein's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 302
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bay Area
Quote:
Originally Posted by phro321 View Post
Can anyone do this a little more nood friendly? And/or does this require root?
Yeah, you basically want to get out of this thread and head here:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=960336

Follow briefmobile's tutorial. And yes, it requires root.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes