Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[How To] Manually enable sideloading

OP gdanko

26th February 2011, 12:15 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 40
 
371 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
First of all, Linux and OS X come with sqlite3 by default. Windows users will need to download the executable. With that said, here is how you can enable sideloading the old-fashioned way.

Code:
[gdanko@dolemite ~]$ adb shell

$ su
# busybox cp /data/data/com.android.providers.settings/databases/settings.db /data/data/com.android.providers.settings/databases/settings.db.bak
# chown system.system /data/data/com.android.providers.settings/databases/settings.db
# ls -l /data/data/com.android.providers.settings/databases/settings.db*
# busybox cp /data/data/com.android.providers.settings/databases/settings.db /sdcard
# exit
$ exit

[gdanko@dolemite ~]$ adb pull /sdcard/settings.db
sqlite3 settings.db
sqlite> SELECT * FROM secure WHERE name="install_non_market_apps";
3|install_non_market_apps|0

sqlite> UPDATE secure SET value=1 WHERE name="install_non_market_apps";
sqlite> SELECT * FROM secure WHERE name="install_non_market_apps";
3|install_non_market_apps|1

sqlite> .quit

[gdanko@dolemite ~]$ adb push settings.db /sdcard/
[gdanko@dolemite ~]$ adb shell

$ su
# busybox cp /sdcard/settings.db /data/data/com.android.providers.settings/databases/settings.db
# chown system.system /data/data/com.android.providers.settings/databases/settings.db
# ls -l /data/data/com.android.providers.settings/databases/settings.db*
# exit
$ exit

[gdanko@dolemite ~]$ adb reboot
You should be all set.
Last edited by gdanko; 26th February 2011 at 12:21 AM.
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to gdanko For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th February 2011, 01:09 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 49
 
725 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
thank god for super one click
26th February 2011, 01:11 AM   |  #3  
jug6ernaut's Avatar
Retired Moderator / Recognized Developer
Flag San Antonio, Tx
Thanks Meter: 471
 
2,544 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2006
More
Script?

Sent from my MB860 using XDA Premium App
26th February 2011, 01:53 AM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 40
 
371 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by lsxrx7

thank god for super one click

1) Great if you use Wind'oh!s which I refuse to do.
2) I like to know how things work.
3rd March 2011, 06:17 PM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
43 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
I think this work on only rooted devices. If that case we have one already which will root it and also side load apps.
3rd March 2011, 08:04 PM   |  #6  
darkamikaze's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Candyland
Thanks Meter: 167
 
1,464 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
You got the phone gdanko?! Cool
I'll do it this way for kicks when I get my phone lol
3rd March 2011, 08:21 PM   |  #7  
norcal einstein's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bay Area
Thanks Meter: 36
 
302 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gdanko

1) Great if you use Wind'oh!s which I refuse to do.
2) I like to know how things work.

Yes, it's always great to know how things work.

But it looks like SuperOneClick is not just confined to Windows.

It is compatible with:
Windows Vista
Windows 7
Ubuntu Hardy (8.04 LTS)
Ubuntu Jaunty (9.04)
Ubuntu Karmic (9.10)
Ubuntu Lucid (10.04 LTS)
Ubuntu Maverick (10.10)
Debian Lenny (5.0)
Debian Squeeze (testing)
Debian Sid (unstable)
Debian Experimental
The Following User Says Thank You to norcal einstein For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd March 2011, 08:59 PM   |  #8  
agentdr8's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cowtown, CA
Thanks Meter: 1,179
 
2,364 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
Donate to Me
More
SuperOneClick uses Mono on Linux platforms, so most any of the modern ones should work. I used it on my openSUSE box and it worked just fine for allowing non-market installs.
3rd March 2011, 09:11 PM   |  #9  
phro321's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
104 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2007
Can anyone do this a little more nood friendly? And/or does this require root?
3rd March 2011, 09:54 PM   |  #10  
norcal einstein's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bay Area
Thanks Meter: 36
 
302 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by phro321

Can anyone do this a little more nood friendly? And/or does this require root?

Yeah, you basically want to get out of this thread and head here:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=960336

Follow briefmobile's tutorial. And yes, it requires root.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes