Not Retired: Five Things to Do with Your Veteran Devices

XDA is full of power-users and developers. And both groups, which often intersect, … more

DBrand 40% off Discount for Nexus 6 Skins

Love your Nexus 6? Well, how about you give it a fine paintjob with these stylish and great-feeling … more

Xiaomi Mi Note Sells Out In Just 3 Minutes

Chinese giant’s latest phone had tens of millions of pre-orders and it turns out the … more

Four Original and Pretty Themes

XDA Senior MemberSiddheshpatilhas created these four gorgeous and unique CM12 Themes for your Lollipop … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] From CDMA to GSM via Firmware Update ?

OP snowg

26th February 2011, 07:15 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
I've read that XOOM use the Radio chip Qualcomm MDM6600 ( the same of Iphone 4 ) and that is compatible with CDMA and also GSM network.
If it's true there's a way to set the actual CDMA Xoom for using GSM net with a cooked firmware ?
27th February 2011, 05:04 AM   |  #2  
LordLugard's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag NYC
Thanks Meter: 294
 
1,741 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
More
Not possible. Verizon's Xoom does not have GSM, only CDMA and LTE down the road.
27th February 2011, 05:33 AM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by LordLugard

Not possible. Verizon's Xoom does not have GSM, only CDMA and LTE down the road.

I'm pretty sure the iFixit tear down indicated that the verizon xoom had gsm hardware inside that just wasnt activated.
27th February 2011, 05:41 AM   |  #4  
martonikaj's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Seattle, WA
Thanks Meter: 1,715
 
7,850 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattkeane88

I'm pretty sure the iFixit tear down indicated that the verizon xoom had gsm hardware inside that just wasnt activated.

But isn't the LTE simcard bigger than a normal phone SIM card?
27th February 2011, 06:34 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
196 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowg

I've read that XOOM use the Radio chip Qualcomm MDM6600 ( the same of Iphone 4 ) and that is compatible with CDMA and also GSM network.
If it's true there's a way to set the actual CDMA Xoom for using GSM net with a cooked firmware ?

The chip is a world capable but the radio with it is cdma so it can't work on GSM networks unlessbit has a GSM radio. The chip probably just makes it easier for moto to produce xooms without having buy separate parts when GSM version comes out.


Sent from my Xoom using Tapatalk
9th March 2012, 03:39 AM   |  #6  
Recognized Developer
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 255
 
814 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by socomdark

The chip is a world capable but the radio with it is cdma so it can't work on GSM networks unlessbit has a GSM radio. The chip probably just makes it easier for moto to produce xooms without having buy separate parts when GSM version comes out.


Sent from my Xoom using Tapatalk

Hmmm. Pretty sure that's wrong. The chip is the actual modem - it is what *modulates*/*demodulates* digital signals to/from the radio. The "radio" is merely a power transmitter/receiver; the modem is what controls what the radio signals mean. As long as the radio is tuned for the right frequencies, it should work.
9th March 2012, 02:29 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
So, is it possible or not? Has anyone tried it?
9th March 2012, 05:59 PM   |  #8  
bigrushdog's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Fontana, CA
Thanks Meter: 6,203
 
3,181 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2007
Donate to Me
More
I'd just buy a data dongle and have the best of both. CDMA -> GSM has brick written all over it.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes