FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

VOIP apps - any of them are working?

1,753 posts
Thanks Meter: 318
 
By clubtech, Senior Member on 27th February 2011, 04:21 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Was anyone able to successfully use any VOIP app on this phone?
I tried several of them, i can her the other party fine but all they hear is some distortion.

I tested with Skype, Line2, Sipdroid, Fring.
Fring and Sipdroid are totally unusable.

It seems like Motorola screwed up the voice API's on the phone so no VOIP app works..
 
 
27th February 2011, 06:43 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 191
 
More
You try CSipsimple?
28th February 2011, 02:41 AM |#3  
MrSlacker's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
This is a serious let down for me. I was looking forward to being able to use Skype on my phone after many years of crappy WinMo phones. This SUCKS
4th March 2011, 10:31 PM |#4  
anothersmith's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
Skype works fine for me!

Over wifi only!
Last edited by anothersmith; 5th March 2011 at 05:05 AM.
5th March 2011, 12:21 AM |#5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
does anybody know how to bypass the message in skype that states somethin about MAKING CALLS ONLY OVER WIFI, anybody know how to do that?
6th March 2011, 04:55 AM |#6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
bump.........
6th March 2011, 08:25 AM |#7  
ceo.mtcl's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag St. Paul, MN
Thanks Meter: 427
 
More
Agree, voip sucks. I'm coming from iphone 4 and this is one major thing that I miss. There were so many voip apps in ios, they all worked perfectly.

Sent from my MB860 using XDA Premium App
6th March 2011, 08:55 AM |#8  
OP Senior Member
USA
Thanks Meter: 318
 
More
I literally tried every single free (and two paid) voip apps on the market yesterday. Nothing works on this phone like it should. Either the mic is all messed up or the audio is choppy, Motorola really messed something up here.
6th March 2011, 03:33 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Same here. I've tried several of them and none works right. The same apps work perfectly on my Galaxy Tab so my assumption is that this is a Motorola mess-up.
6th March 2011, 08:53 PM |#10  
Ririal's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Grayslake
Thanks Meter: 398
 
Donate to Me
More
Did you guys ever stop to think that it's the applications that don't support the phone, not the phone itself? Blaming Motorola for a third party app not working is the most ludicrous thing I've heard all day.
The Following User Says Thank You to Ririal For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th March 2011, 11:17 PM |#11  
dicksteele's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 1,965
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ririal

Did you guys ever stop to think that it's the applications that don't support the phone, not the phone itself? Blaming Motorola for a third party app not working is the most ludicrous thing I've heard all day.

Interesting. But if Motorola had confidence their phone worked, would they not have included an app on it?

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes