What Do You Do with All of Your Old Photos?

Smartphone cameras have advanced so tremendously over the past few years that they have … more

Diving into the April 2015 Material Design Update

Before the release of Android 5.0 Lollipop, the Holo Design guidelines served as the … more

New Cyanogen Partnerships Bring Privacy Concerns

New Privacy concerns have emerged regarding Cyanogen’s latest announcements, … more

PSA: Google Play Services Wakelock Affects Many 5.x ROMs

Wakelocks are the bane of the battery conscious, and this wakelock bug has been … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Direct Dial???

27th February 2011, 05:28 PM |#1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
51 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
On my Captivate I had the ability to add a Direct Dial icon to my screen, allowing me to call someone with one press of a button. I was using Launcher Pro, and am not sure if it was that launcher of the Samsun firmware that gave me the ability to add that shortcut.

However, on the Atrix, also running launcher pro, I don't see an option anywhere to add direct dial, as in its missing from the list of things to add.

I can add a contact to the page, but then there's a second step needed to actually dial the number.

Any thoughts on how I can get around it?
 
 
27th February 2011, 09:34 PM |#2  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
51 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Nobody? Am I the only one who ever used the direct dial function?
28th February 2011, 03:53 AM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 62
 
500 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
I did it too, cant find it on atrix either
28th February 2011, 05:05 AM |#4  
phobos512's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lexington Park, MD
Thanks Meter: 131
 
850 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
More
Had the same problem, here's what you can do:

Get the [free] app "Folder Organizer lite" from the market...Then go to the create a shortcut menu, and select Folder Organizer item - pick Direct Call / Direct Text etc. from the next menu and you're good to go. Works great! There is built-in functionality with Blur but I find it to be very flaky / hard to setup.
28th February 2011, 02:05 PM |#5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
51 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
This worked! Thank you very much. Now I'm 100% happy with the phone!
28th February 2011, 05:37 PM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by phobos512

Had the same problem, here's what you can do:

Get the [free] app "Folder Organizer lite" from the market...Then go to the create a shortcut menu, and select Folder Organizer item - pick Direct Call / Direct Text etc. from the next menu and you're good to go. Works great! There is built-in functionality with Blur but I find it to be very flaky / hard to setup.

how did you get this to work? after i make the contact in the app, I keep getting the error message that "shortcuts were only available in the paid version" whenever i click on the new contact .
28th February 2011, 07:11 PM |#7  
bsinc1962's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dubois, Wy
Thanks Meter: 74
 
271 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Animated widget is pretty cool too. I can direct dial or text any contact in my book from a single widget. The other app that worked well was anycut.
28th February 2011, 07:16 PM |#8  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
51 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rezznor

how did you get this to work? after i make the contact in the app, I keep getting the error message that "shortcuts were only available in the paid version" whenever i click on the new contact .

You don't make the contact in the app. You just add a shorcut like you would any other on your homescreen (so press and hold and select shortcut), in the shortcuts menu there is an option for folder organizer items, select that and then select direct dial from the list.
28th February 2011, 09:25 PM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by AsSiMiLaTeD_77

On my Captivate I had the ability to add a Direct Dial icon to my screen, allowing me to call someone with one press of a button. I was using Launcher Pro, and am not sure if it was that launcher of the Samsun firmware that gave me the ability to add that shortcut.

However, on the Atrix, also running launcher pro, I don't see an option anywhere to add direct dial, as in its missing from the list of things to add.

I can add a contact to the page, but then there's a second step needed to actually dial the number.

Any thoughts on how I can get around it?

I don't know what is an issue here but I'm running LauncherPro as well and on my Atrix speed dial works just fine. Simple press dialer and old any button except 1 which is voicemail.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes