FORUMS

PSA: You Can Optimize Your Note 4’s Recents Menu & RAM

The Note 4 never had the fastest Recents Menu, and despite its 3GB of RAM, … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (July 25 – Aug 1)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Voices Of XDA: Orbiting The Earth With Android

Editor’s note: This week’s feature has been written by forum … more

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

SetCPU and overclocking

30 posts
Thanks Meter: 5
 
By coolestmage, Member on 27th February 2011, 05:48 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
9th March 2011, 07:23 PM |#41  
TEK112's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 470
 
More
This thread is full of fail, can we just burn it ceremonially?
The Following User Says Thank You to TEK112 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
20th March 2011, 06:42 PM |#42  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 50
 
More
well sorry to resurrect this thread lol

But I just installed the latest version of setcpu on my tab "2.1.1a" and I'm running caulkins rom with the latest clemsyn kernel.

I know we cant OC yet, but anything worth setting up in setcpu yet? min/max? profiles? etc?
20th March 2011, 08:27 PM |#43  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by luigic81

I know we cant OC yet, but anything worth setting up in setcpu yet? min/max? profiles? etc?

No. Nothing. The Nvidia kernel code ignores scheduler profiles, etc all in the name of their own optimization for power efficiency. And from what I can tell they do an excellent job of CPU clock and voltage management, as well as when to fire up the second core.

To be honest I have spent more than a few hours working to unravel their (mess) to enable overclocking, but the issue is made more complex by their efforts to minimize RF interference (e.g. EMC with respect to the tablet and receivers around the tablet)....

Perhaps a few words dropped here will help someone else. Turning up the max clock for the CPU SKU is ultimately vetoed by the EMC code and at times temperature management. An option is simply disabling much of this via conditionals that are present in the drivers. But in the end unless the CPU can be overclocked more than a minor amount, this is an overall waste of time as the net result is nothing more than benchmark bragging rights, etc.
20th March 2011, 09:05 PM |#44  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vsc

No. Nothing. The Nvidia kernel code ignores scheduler profiles, etc all in the name of their own optimization for power efficiency. And from what I can tell they do an excellent job of CPU clock and voltage management, as well as when to fire up the second core.

To be honest I have spent more than a few hours working to unravel their (mess) to enable overclocking, but the issue is made more complex by their efforts to minimize RF interference (e.g. EMC with respect to the tablet and receivers around the tablet)....

Perhaps a few words dropped here will help someone else. Turning up the max clock for the CPU SKU is ultimately vetoed by the EMC code and at times temperature management. An option is simply disabling much of this via conditionals that are present in the drivers. But in the end unless the CPU can be overclocked more than a minor amount, this is an overall waste of time as the net result is nothing more than benchmark bragging rights, etc.

The Xoom has been overclocked to 1.5Ghz, so there is quite a bit of headroom in there for overclocking.
15th April 2011, 04:37 AM |#45  
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 4,192
 
More
enjoy!

http://droidbasement.com/db-blog/?p=1733
The Following User Says Thank You to pershoot For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th April 2011, 06:03 AM |#46  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 734
 
Donate to Me
More
For those of us who aren't familiar with the overclocking process, could someone please tell us which one of all those files to get and do what?
15th April 2011, 07:56 AM |#47  
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 4,192
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by goodintentions

For those of us who aren't familiar with the overclocking process, could someone please tell us which one of all those files to get and do what?

on the blog post? flash the file according to the OS version you have.

You'll want to grab either froyo (no _gb in filename) or gingerbread (_gb in filename), under ViewSonic Gtablet/Malata Zpad (first section of downloads).

then follow what it says regarding setcpu (making the proper selection in setcpu to get the frequencies).
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to pershoot For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th April 2011, 08:30 AM |#48  
Mantara's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Vancouver
Thanks Meter: 128
 
More
Holy carp! At least some some good news is coming in this week. This is big. Thanks pershoot :)
The Following User Says Thank You to Mantara For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th April 2011, 08:04 PM |#49  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Can't overclock CPU?
Obviously I did something wrong... I installed SetCPU as I would any other APK file. I then booted into recovery (Clockwork) and installed the kernel (zip) that had "gb" in the name as I am running the VeganTab Ginger Edition.

When I start SetCPU, I identify my device as "Tegra2" and approve permissions after verifying that the "Remember" box is checked.

I am being offered a maximum speed of 1000 and a minimum of 216. The slider (for the 1000) is as far to the right (high end) of the slider as it will go. I tried a reboot, and went throught he SetCPU options again, but I get the same result.

Can someone shoot some advice my way? I got the GPad from the Woot sale a few weeks back, and just ordered a "spare" from Amazon. I also have the Archos 70 350GB version and a Droid2, the FIRST of which I picked up in February, so I am still sort of new to Android, although I am not new to computers. Let's just say I pre-date Windows (which is why flashing the ROM didn't seem like a big deal... just like flashing a BIOS).
Last edited by Lisa21222; 15th April 2011 at 08:11 PM.
15th April 2011, 08:14 PM |#50  
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 4,192
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lisa21222

Obviously I did something wrong... I installed SetCPU as I would any other APK file. I then booted into recovery (Clockwork) and installed the kernel (zip) that had "gb" in the name as I am running the VeganTab Ginger Edition.

When I start SetCPU, I identify my device as "Tegra2" and approve permissions after verifying that the "Remember" box is checked.

I am being offered a maximum speed of 1000 and a minimum of 216. The slider (for the 1000) is as far to the right (high end) of the slider as it will go. I tried a reboot, and went throught he SetCPU options again, but I get the same result.

Can someone shoot some advice my way? I got the GPad from the Woot sale a few weeks back, and just ordered a "spare" from Amazon. I also have the Archos 70 350GB version and a Droid2, the FIRST of which I picked up in February, so I am still sort of new to Android, although I am not new to computers. Let's just say I pre-date Windows (which is why flashing the ROM didn't seem like a big deal... just like flashing a BIOS).


please read the blog post.

all instructions are there on how to attain the higher frequencies.
15th April 2011, 08:16 PM |#51  
OP Member
springfield, mo
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
You need to select custom under device instead of tegra 2. This will allow you to use the slots above 1ghz. Just open setcpu and then hit settings, device, then custom at the bottom of the list.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes