Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

SetCPU and overclocking

OP coolestmage

9th March 2011, 08:23 PM   |  #41  
TEK112's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 464
 
2,104 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
This thread is full of fail, can we just burn it ceremonially?
The Following User Says Thank You to TEK112 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th March 2011, 07:42 PM   |  #42  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
926 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
well sorry to resurrect this thread lol

But I just installed the latest version of setcpu on my tab "2.1.1a" and I'm running caulkins rom with the latest clemsyn kernel.

I know we cant OC yet, but anything worth setting up in setcpu yet? min/max? profiles? etc?
20th March 2011, 09:27 PM   |  #43  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
186 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by luigic81

I know we cant OC yet, but anything worth setting up in setcpu yet? min/max? profiles? etc?

No. Nothing. The Nvidia kernel code ignores scheduler profiles, etc all in the name of their own optimization for power efficiency. And from what I can tell they do an excellent job of CPU clock and voltage management, as well as when to fire up the second core.

To be honest I have spent more than a few hours working to unravel their (mess) to enable overclocking, but the issue is made more complex by their efforts to minimize RF interference (e.g. EMC with respect to the tablet and receivers around the tablet)....

Perhaps a few words dropped here will help someone else. Turning up the max clock for the CPU SKU is ultimately vetoed by the EMC code and at times temperature management. An option is simply disabling much of this via conditionals that are present in the drivers. But in the end unless the CPU can be overclocked more than a minor amount, this is an overall waste of time as the net result is nothing more than benchmark bragging rights, etc.
20th March 2011, 10:05 PM   |  #44  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
99 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by vsc

No. Nothing. The Nvidia kernel code ignores scheduler profiles, etc all in the name of their own optimization for power efficiency. And from what I can tell they do an excellent job of CPU clock and voltage management, as well as when to fire up the second core.

To be honest I have spent more than a few hours working to unravel their (mess) to enable overclocking, but the issue is made more complex by their efforts to minimize RF interference (e.g. EMC with respect to the tablet and receivers around the tablet)....

Perhaps a few words dropped here will help someone else. Turning up the max clock for the CPU SKU is ultimately vetoed by the EMC code and at times temperature management. An option is simply disabling much of this via conditionals that are present in the drivers. But in the end unless the CPU can be overclocked more than a minor amount, this is an overall waste of time as the net result is nothing more than benchmark bragging rights, etc.

The Xoom has been overclocked to 1.5Ghz, so there is quite a bit of headroom in there for overclocking.
15th April 2011, 05:37 AM   |  #45  
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 3,885
 
7,747 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
enjoy!

http://droidbasement.com/db-blog/?p=1733
The Following User Says Thank You to pershoot For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th April 2011, 07:03 AM   |  #46  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 734
 
2,545 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
For those of us who aren't familiar with the overclocking process, could someone please tell us which one of all those files to get and do what?
15th April 2011, 08:56 AM   |  #47  
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 3,885
 
7,747 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by goodintentions

For those of us who aren't familiar with the overclocking process, could someone please tell us which one of all those files to get and do what?

on the blog post? flash the file according to the OS version you have.

You'll want to grab either froyo (no _gb in filename) or gingerbread (_gb in filename), under ViewSonic Gtablet/Malata Zpad (first section of downloads).

then follow what it says regarding setcpu (making the proper selection in setcpu to get the frequencies).
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to pershoot For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th April 2011, 09:30 AM   |  #48  
Mantara's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Vancouver
Thanks Meter: 128
 
609 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Holy carp! At least some some good news is coming in this week. This is big. Thanks pershoot :)
The Following User Says Thank You to Mantara For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th April 2011, 09:04 PM   |  #49  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Can't overclock CPU?
Obviously I did something wrong... I installed SetCPU as I would any other APK file. I then booted into recovery (Clockwork) and installed the kernel (zip) that had "gb" in the name as I am running the VeganTab Ginger Edition.

When I start SetCPU, I identify my device as "Tegra2" and approve permissions after verifying that the "Remember" box is checked.

I am being offered a maximum speed of 1000 and a minimum of 216. The slider (for the 1000) is as far to the right (high end) of the slider as it will go. I tried a reboot, and went throught he SetCPU options again, but I get the same result.

Can someone shoot some advice my way? I got the GPad from the Woot sale a few weeks back, and just ordered a "spare" from Amazon. I also have the Archos 70 350GB version and a Droid2, the FIRST of which I picked up in February, so I am still sort of new to Android, although I am not new to computers. Let's just say I pre-date Windows (which is why flashing the ROM didn't seem like a big deal... just like flashing a BIOS).
Last edited by Lisa21222; 15th April 2011 at 09:11 PM.
15th April 2011, 09:14 PM   |  #50  
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 3,885
 
7,747 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lisa21222

Obviously I did something wrong... I installed SetCPU as I would any other APK file. I then booted into recovery (Clockwork) and installed the kernel (zip) that had "gb" in the name as I am running the VeganTab Ginger Edition.

When I start SetCPU, I identify my device as "Tegra2" and approve permissions after verifying that the "Remember" box is checked.

I am being offered a maximum speed of 1000 and a minimum of 216. The slider (for the 1000) is as far to the right (high end) of the slider as it will go. I tried a reboot, and went throught he SetCPU options again, but I get the same result.

Can someone shoot some advice my way? I got the GPad from the Woot sale a few weeks back, and just ordered a "spare" from Amazon. I also have the Archos 70 350GB version and a Droid2, the FIRST of which I picked up in February, so I am still sort of new to Android, although I am not new to computers. Let's just say I pre-date Windows (which is why flashing the ROM didn't seem like a big deal... just like flashing a BIOS).


please read the blog post.

all instructions are there on how to attain the higher frequencies.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes