Android 5.0.2 and New Factory Images For Nexus 7 (Wi-Fi) Available

Android 5.0 is has been publicly available since early November, and the … more

Github Tutorial App Shows You How to Use… Github

Github can get pretty complicated and using it can become quite daunting, especially … more

Google Glass-like Clip-On For Regular Glasses Developed by Sony

For the price of $2,000, a pair of glasses that can run apps, take pictures, … more

Micromax Takes OnePlus to Court! Android Wear Receives Lollipop – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop is available officially for the Moto 360! … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Thread Closed

[GUIDE] ClockWorkMod Recovery on Vibrant 4G

OP troby1986

28th February 2011, 01:46 AM   |  #1  
OP Account currently disabled
Flag Oceanside
Thanks Meter: 13
 
131 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Ensure you have root first!!!

MOD EDIT: POSTERS ARE REPORTING THERE ARE HAVING A LOT OF ISSUES WITH THIS GUIDE, THREAD CLOSED.

Use SuperOneClick 1.7 to gain root (USB debugging enabled) Get it here:
1. Download "3e_recovery_installer.zip" from here:
2. Open SuperOneClick and run Shell Root with your phone plugged in. Once finished, close.

3. Now run the 3e Recovery Installer. When finished, close.

4. Now flash ClockWorkMod Recovery via ROM Manager by selecting "Vibrant" when asked for phone type. Then reboot into recovery. (You may need to reboot your phone if you get stuck on the ROM Manager "Reboot to Recovery" screen) (Just reboot, then attempt to reboot into recovery again)

5. At the blue recovery select "reinstall packages". The first time will fail, run it once more, and you should now have the green CWM Recovery menu.

6. Wait for Team Whiskey to release an amazing ROM!!!

Sent from my SGH-T959V using XDA App
Last edited by Mr. Clown; 28th February 2011 at 06:12 PM.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to troby1986 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th February 2011, 02:02 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Kansas City, Mo
Thanks Meter: 25
 
641 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
More
Thanks for the guide! Making a nandroid as i type!
28th February 2011, 02:09 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag Tampa
Thanks Meter: 1
 
190 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
More
my phone just gets stuck on the reboot into recovery screen

edit: now it keeps saying failed
Last edited by eakrish; 28th February 2011 at 02:13 AM.
28th February 2011, 02:11 AM   |  #4  
OP Account currently disabled
Flag Oceanside
Thanks Meter: 13
 
131 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by eakrish

my phone just gets stuck on the reboot into recovery screen

Power down your phone. Power it back up and try again. Mine did the same thing at first.

Sent from my SGH-T959V using XDA App
28th February 2011, 02:16 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Tampa
Thanks Meter: 1
 
190 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
More
nevermind, work third time. had to completely reboot, then reinstall recovery through rom manager. Then reboot into recovery, then reinstall packages twice. Good to go. Thanks!
28th February 2011, 03:52 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Ohio
Thanks Meter: 611
 
2,037 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
Donate to Me
More
Well I guess one good thing came out of me doing what I did to my phone was able to tell you how to do this lol
28th February 2011, 03:54 AM   |  #7  
OP Account currently disabled
Flag Oceanside
Thanks Meter: 13
 
131 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by collins521

Well I guess one good thing came out of me doing what I did to my phone was able to tell you how to do this lol

Yes it did. Thank you.

Sent from my SGH-T959V using XDA App
28th February 2011, 04:32 AM   |  #8  
chadster214's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Granada Hills
Thanks Meter: 320
 
1,486 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
Donate to Me
More
I'm getting this error.

"E:Can't mount /dev/block/mmcblk0p2
(File exists)
Can't mount /data/!"
28th February 2011, 05:37 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag Reno
Thanks Meter: 8
 
119 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
so this is a confirmed method to get rom manager / clockwork working for the SGS4G?
28th February 2011, 05:45 AM   |  #10  
Lavundra21's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag washington DC
Thanks Meter: 2
 
129 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
i must be doing something wrong because i keep getting failed.. but i am following the instructions to the T..

Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes