Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,737,675 Members 46,647 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Cruz Tablet Enabling Ad hoc Tethering

Tip us?
 
viss2000
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 4
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default Cruz Tablet Enabling Ad hoc Tethering

Hi,

I wanted to know if someone can let know if the Cruz tablet can access ad hoc networks ( i have made my iphone a hotspot) but my tablet cannot detect it.


Thanks
 
fbelleri
Old
(Last edited by fbelleri; 1st March 2011 at 09:59 PM.)
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Feb 2011
I don’t know your system but each android device has the same base software system.
Normally, android cannot recognize ad-hoc networks (because of the settings imposed by goo), but there are all the things necessary to do so.
In practice you have to edit one or two files (the file “wpa_supplicant.conf” is surely present, while the file "tiwlan.ini" is on your tablet if you have a wireless interface from Texas Instruments).
So, this is the manual mode, the only one that I know always works for my cheap tablet, but there are also softwares that can manage ad-hoc connection for other devices (modified network software designed for Galaxy Tab and other Samsung products, not working on my MilkWay tab).

1 Your tablet must be rooted.

2 shut down wifi in settings.

3 using RootEplorer, locate and make a copy of file "wpa_supplicant.conf" (generally is in “data/misc/wifi/” or in “etc/wifi/” folder) and remember the folder name.

4 locate and make a copy of file "tiwlan.ini" (This file could be not present, generally is in “system/etc/wifi folder”) and remember the folder name.

5 HAVE YOU MADE A COPY/BACKUP OF THESE 2 FILES AND PUTTED THEM IN A SAFE PLACE ?

6 Ok ok, now you have to edit them (the originals, not the copies). There are several modes to do it, for example you can put them on the sdcard and edit via notepad on win (do not use MS WORD for a configuration pure text file!) or you can edit them via RootExplorer directly, or you can use ADB interface to extract them to you pc and the edit, as you prefer.

7 edit tiwlan.ini file (if present):
locate and change line: WiFiAdhoc = 0 -> WiFiAdhoc = 1
add this line: dot11DesiredSSID = YourSSID #insert your SSID (the AP name) without commas!
add this line: dot11DesiredBSSType = 0

8 modify wpa_supplicant.conf like this:
ctrl_interface=...... (do not touch this line!)
update_config=1

ap_scan=2

network={
ssid="YourSSID"
#insert your SSID (the AP name) now WITH commas!
scan_ssid=1
key_mgmt=NONE
mode=1
priority=1
}



9 If modified offline, put modified files in their original folder, overwriting old ones.

10 shut down tablet.
11 power on the wifi tether AP on phone.
12 power on the tablet.
13 enable wifi in settings.
14 in a few seconds, your tablet should connect to your phone AP and you can browse internet.
15 I hope that you have a flat subscription

Note:
1 sometimes it will take more time to connect; try to enable/disable wifi or reboot the tablet.
2 if you need to connect to normal AP (not ad-hoc) maybe you have to restore original files. Sometimes all works fine with mixed networks in wpa_sup… file, sometimes …. no.
3 if you add a network using settings, you have to edit again the wpa_sup… file, because the system deletes the line “ap_scan=2” and you have to re-add that line.
4 the most convenient is to create two wpa_sup… files (one for the adhoc mode and one for normal mode) and replace them when needed, maybe through a script.
5 the network configuration at #8 is without encription. If you want WEP shared encription just add a line, in the network definition of wpa_sup.. file, with the key, like this:
wep_key0="1234567890123" # ASCII keys are with commas
or
wep_key0=0102030405 # HEX keys are without commas



Hoping helpful, best Regards.
 
viss2000
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 4
Join Date: Feb 2011
Hi,

thank you for taking the time and replying back.... I have the wpa_supplicant.conf file in /system/etc/wifi/ i couldnt find the other file u mentioned.

I am attaching the orignal wpa_supplicant.conf file please see if u can modify it

I tried to do it as u said and now wen i try to connect to internet it says WiFi unable to connect.


Thank You
Attached Files
File Type: zip wpa_supplicant.zip - [Click for QR Code] (9.5 KB, 124 views)
 
fbelleri
Old
(Last edited by fbelleri; 31st March 2011 at 06:53 AM.) Reason: I forgot the attachments
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by viss2000 View Post
Hi,

thank you for taking the time and replying back.... I have the wpa_supplicant.conf file in /system/etc/wifi/ i couldnt find the other file u mentioned.

I am attaching the orignal wpa_supplicant.conf file please see if u can modify it

I tried to do it as u said and now wen i try to connect to internet it says WiFi unable to connect.

Thank You
Hi,
your wpa_supplicant.conf file is the best full commented file that I never see. Reading the file you can find many explanations in the commented lines (#).

The initial assumption is that the device works as AP is a cell phone that only allows ad-hoc mode, as my Nokia 5800 with the program JoikuSpot. Some more lucky people have phones with hardware that can operate in infrastructure mode and do not need to do anything.

Other assumption is that you have wpa_supplicant.conf file in the /system/etc/wifi/ folder.
Quote:
I have the wpa_supplicant.conf file in /system/etc/wifi/
Other assumption is that your tablet doesn't have a TexasInstrument wifi chip (not important)
Quote:
I have the wpa.....ifi/, i couldnt find the other file u mentioned.

The simplest way is to create one personalized wpa...conf file needed only when You want have access to your ad-hoc phone wifi network.

So you will have 2 wpa...conf files: the first for normal networks and the secon only for your personalized ad-hoc network.
Remember that the file in use can be automatically modified by the Network configuration in settings. Do not use scan network in settings when there is in use the wpa..conf ad-hoc file, because the app will automatically modify it erasing the line ap_scan=2. When is in use the 'normal' file, you can do all you want.

I have modified the files as you need. YOU must edit 1 line in the adhoc file (use the internal editor of your pad or Wordpad in Win) and insert the correct SSID (the wifi network name).

I have also added the .normal file in the case you have problems with your 'normal' wifi network
Quote:
I tried to do it as u said and now wen i try to connect to internet it says WiFi unable to connect.
Step1:
Edit "wpa_supplicant.conf.adhoc" attached file and insert the correct SSID.

Step2:
Copy "wpa_supplicant.conf.adhoc" file to the folder /system/etc/wifi/.

Step3:
Assuming that you already have at least one 'normal' wifi network running, using RootExplorer go to the folder /system/etc/wifi/ and make a copy of your file wpa...conf in use and rename the copy "wpa_supplicant.conf.normal" in the same folder. Why? Because this file contains your update normal wifi networks configuration and passwords.

So, what I have to do when I want swith from NORMAL to ADHOC network?
1 Disable the wifi network in settings.
2 With RootExplorer,
2.1 go to folder /system/etc/wifi/
2.2 long press on file wpa_supplicant.conf, when menu pop up, delete this file.
2.3 long press on file wpa_supplicant.conf.adhoc, when menu pop up, copy and paste.
2.4 long press on file "wpa_supplicant.conf.adhoc - Copy" and rename it to wpa_supplicant.conf
3 Enable the wifi network in settings.
4 After 2 seconds, your tablet should connect to the adhoc ap of your phone.
5 DO NOT use scan for netwoks in settings because it will auto modify your wpa..conf file.

What I have to do when I want change the network from ADHOC to NORMAL?
1 Disable the wifi network in settings
2 With RootExplorer,
2.1 go to folder /system/etc/wifi/
2.2 long press on file wpa_supplicant.conf, when menu pop up, delete this file.
2.3 long press on file wpa_supplicant.conf.normal, when menu pop up, copy and paste.
2.4 long press on file "wpa_supplicant.conf.normal - Copy" and rename it to wpa_supplicant.conf
3 Enable the wifi network in settings.
4 After 1/2 seconds, your tablet should connect to the ap of your wifi network..
5 You can use/modify/add netwoks in settings because it will correctly modify your wpa..conf 'normal' file. If you add/modify anything make a copy of your updated wpa..conf to "wpa_supplicant.conf.normal" erasing old one.


It would be more comfortable not having to use this procedure that may seem complicated, but in practice it is really easy. Four years have passed since the first request to allow the adhoc connection was requested to the developer of Android. Still no answer.

I've used this procedure with my old tablet A81E, with my Herotab C8 clone, and with a linux notebook.
To me it always works. If sometimes I have problems is because of the phone and its software.

Tell me if it works!
Attached Files
File Type: zip wpa.zip - [Click for QR Code] (821 Bytes, 589 views)
 
viss2000
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 4
Join Date: Feb 2011
Thanks a ton ....worked like a GEM !!!.....


Really appreciate all the work !!

thanks !
The Following User Says Thank You to viss2000 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
berube170
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Aug 2010
Thank you so much for the information. I am trying to do this. I have two wpa_supplicant files. One is in etc/wifi and the other is in system/etc/wifi.

Do I need to alter both files or just one?

I have already copied and edited the file. I haven't replaced anything yet because I want to make sure I do it right.

Thank you again
 
fbelleri
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Feb 2011
Also on my tab (Herotab C8 aka Haipad M7 aka Apad M7009 aka Dropad A8) there are 2 wpa_supplicant.conf files, in same folders as yours, because the 2 folders are..... 1 folder mirrored on the fly.
You can modify wpa_supplicant.conf files in the folder that you prefer.
There are no risks, but in any case make a copy of the original file so you have it always available. You can always reload it by ADB or DroidCommander (nice utility).
In the original file, only the first line is customized with the directory of your tablet, the rest of the file can also be deleted because it is modified by the system when you use settings-wifi-...

Ciao!
 
osmanii
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: May 2011
Thumbs up Adhoc Network (Android Froyo 2.2.1)

Hi thanks for your valuable time.

I am using Samsung Galaxy POP (GT-S5570). OS-Android 2.2.1
It has only wpa_supplicant.conf file. (Well documented But no support for ad hoc network!!)

I have tried your above procedure multiple times but failed. When I on wifi from settings a message appeared "unable to scan for networks" and wifi turned off automatically.

I am trying to add ad hoc network. Its very urgent.
Please help.
Thanks in advance.

Osmani
Bangladesh
 
hesperides
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 18
Join Date: Mar 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by osmanii View Post
Hi thanks for your valuable time.

I am using Samsung Galaxy POP (GT-S5570). OS-Android 2.2.1
It has only wpa_supplicant.conf file. (Well documented But no support for ad hoc network!!)

I have tried your above procedure multiple times but failed. When I on wifi from settings a message appeared "unable to scan for networks" and wifi turned off automatically.

I am trying to add ad hoc network. Its very urgent.
Please help.
Thanks in advance.

Osmani
Bangladesh
Change your default wpa_supplicant with my attached new wpa_supplicant
it's work in my S5570
Attached Files
File Type: rar wpa_supplicant.rar - [Click for QR Code] (120.2 KB, 148 views)
 
mpathfinder
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: May 2011
Default Enable ad-hoc in Samsung Galaxy Ace S5830

hi
I have a Galaxy Ace (Froyo 2.2.1) one . im frustrated by finding a way to enable ah hoc in it . this solution seems neat and powerful . but HOW to apply this patch in phone ? (

my environment is :
  • I could NOT use Conectify or Virtual Router because they need Win 7 and i have XP .
  • Rom Manager is installed but ClockWorldMod Recovery could not be installed after that , because it seems does not support my phone (Galaxy Ace) .
  • I have eaten all of this thread to find the solution but plz help me how to apply that zip file .

thank in advance for your assistance .

Tags
cruz, tether
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...