Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

installing incredikernel on cm7?

OP bongholio

2nd March 2011, 11:12 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
150 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Hi guys i just installed cm7 on my incredible and i was wondering if im allowing to install incredikernal?

also im wondering how to wipe battery stats and when to do it

thanks
Last edited by bongholio; 2nd March 2011 at 11:33 AM.
2nd March 2011, 01:39 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Flag Mountain View
Thanks Meter: 1
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
I've used other kernels with CM before and it works fine--if that's what your getting at...

As for battery stats, you should be able to do that from recovery. With clockwork mod, its under the 'advanced' menu.

Sent from my ADR6300 using XDA App
2nd March 2011, 03:56 PM   |  #3  
g00s3y's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cape Coral
Thanks Meter: 145
 
1,606 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bongholio

Hi guys i just installed cm7 on my incredible and i was wondering if im allowing to install incredikernal?

also im wondering how to wipe battery stats and when to do it

thanks

If you are talking about this kernel

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=848453

Yes that is made for GB roms like CM7. As for wiping battery stats, the debate is out as to whether or not that really does much. I have never noticed anything extra from doing it, but thats my experience with it, your experience could be different.
2nd March 2011, 08:01 PM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
150 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by g00s3y

If you are talking about this kernel

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=848453

Yes that is made for GB roms like CM7. As for wiping battery stats, the debate is out as to whether or not that really does much. I have never noticed anything extra from doing it, but thats my experience with it, your experience could be different.

thanks a lot for the info

i installed the incredikernal but chris says to have min cpu set at 128 so i did and i have set on boot checked.. is this right?
3rd March 2011, 06:23 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
150 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
bump am i suppose to make cpu min at 128? i haven't touched max cpu and i wont
3rd March 2011, 06:44 AM   |  #6  
g00s3y's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cape Coral
Thanks Meter: 145
 
1,606 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bongholio

bump am i suppose to make cpu min at 128? i haven't touched max cpu and i wont

Yeah its good to put min at 128, helps the screen off profile and with battery life. The max you can make whatever you want, but once you go higher than 1.113GHz then you start going into unstable territory IMO.
3rd March 2011, 06:49 AM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
150 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by g00s3y

Yeah its good to put min at 128, helps the screen off profile and with battery life. The max you can make whatever you want, but once you go higher than 1.113GHz then you start going into unstable territory IMO.

thanks a lot! im just going to leave max cpu at 998
3rd March 2011, 07:46 AM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
150 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
also i updated to cm7 #8 using rom manager and downloading it off my browser now the thing is i was wondering if it removed the previous version?
3rd March 2011, 07:39 PM   |  #9  
g00s3y's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cape Coral
Thanks Meter: 145
 
1,606 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bongholio

also i updated to cm7 #8 using rom manager and downloading it off my browser now the thing is i was wondering if it removed the previous version?

of the kernel? It probably did, go to settings > about phone > kernel version. It will say there the kernel that it is using.
4th March 2011, 07:14 PM   |  #10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
57 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by bongholio

bump am i suppose to make cpu min at 128? i haven't touched max cpu and i wont

Just note that a few users have reported issues with the 128 setting. I haven't experienced any problems getting text messages or missed calls and I'm using this kernel with the 128 setting but just keep it in mind if for some reason you find yourself missing texts and/or calls.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes