Sony Encouraging SmartWatch 2 Development

Mobile device companies like selling devices–it’s how they make their money and … more

Easily Toggles Your Lollipop Mobile Data Network Type

Android Lollipop is by good margin the most advanced and refinedversion of … more

Unofficial CM12 for Android One, Disabling Encryption on Nexus 6 – XDA TV

Android One devices have received an Unofficial CyanogenMod … more

Pushbullet Universal Copy/Paste Availabe for Linux, Mac OS X

Pushbullet is one of those useful utilities that once installed, permanently … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Change your phone to google's DNS instead of carrier's

OP biged214

2nd March 2011, 08:06 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
I just want to share this link that i came across today by HTCdev. Hopefully this helps some of you guys. It claims it's going to help 3g/4g speeds!

htcdev.net/topic/229295-download-flashable-google-dns-zip/
Last edited by biged214; 2nd March 2011 at 08:11 PM.
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to biged214 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd March 2011, 08:14 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Hatillo
Thanks Meter: 114
 
649 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
It look interesting.

Thanks
2nd March 2011, 10:18 PM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Has anyone done this? Did you notice a speed difference?
kenny990
3rd March 2011, 01:34 AM   |  #4  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
n/a posts
Will try it tonight. If Google's as good as they look, this might own. I already use Google Voice to SMS over data.
3rd March 2011, 03:59 PM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
76 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
I tried and my speeds increased from 315 to 458 and 22 to 87 kbps, download and upload respectively (tested in a 8th floor office bldg).

Sent from my PC36100 using XDA App
16th March 2011, 09:51 AM   |  #6  
nappent's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bothell, Wa
Thanks Meter: 84
 
431 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
What devices will this work on?
16th March 2011, 10:29 AM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
40 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by javidnky2005

I tried and my speeds increased from 315 to 458 and 22 to 87 kbps, download and upload respectively (tested in a 8th floor office bldg).

I won't say I don't believe you, but it is impossible that only using another DNS server increases the upload/download speed.
17th March 2011, 01:21 AM   |  #8  
0vermind's Avatar
Senior Member
Provo, Utah
Thanks Meter: 394
 
497 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom--

I won't say I don't believe you, but it is impossible that only using another DNS server increases the upload/download speed.

Actually, that's not true. It has to do with pipe bandwidth and speed. Verizon obviously isn't as big as Google, and they also can handle better servers, it also has to do with where you are in the world, and on their network, and what you are doing. Google's DNS servers are configured and made for SPEED and speed only. Verizons DNS can also be bottlenecked to ensure "data consistancy" as they have came out and said before.

Chris says it better than I can though.
17th March 2011, 02:24 AM   |  #9  
0vermind's Avatar
Senior Member
Provo, Utah
Thanks Meter: 394
 
497 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
HTCDev.net is completely down. I can post a mirror. Just hold on one second.

UPDATE http://www.filedropper.com/googledns
Last edited by 0vermind; 17th March 2011 at 02:31 AM.
17th March 2011, 02:44 AM   |  #10  
nickmcminn60's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Asheville
Thanks Meter: 1,213
 
3,280 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0vermind

HTCDev.net is completely down. I can post a mirror. Just hold on one second.

UPDATE http://www.filedropper.com/googledns

LOL I got it thanks. Speedtest i was getting 1.95down and 1.48up before but using this I get either a really good test score or really bad. ex. one time it will be 2.59down and 1.75 up and next time ill get 0.25down0 .5up-- permissions are different for these files as apposed to the files in the zip. i changed them to match the directory but it diddnt change anything
Last edited by nickmcminn60; 17th March 2011 at 02:46 AM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes