MultiROM Makes its Way Over to the HTC One (M8)

While browsing our forum, you will undoubtedly find more than a few enticing ROMs available … more

Welcome to the New XDA-Developers Portal!

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we opened up the XDA-2015 forum themesto intrepid users … more

An Android Enthusiast’s Apple iPhone 6 Challenge

The media has gone batty again over Apple “revolutionizing” smartphones. … more

Sony to Extend its AOSP Program to Other Devices

Sony will be offering its users the possibility to use AOSP ROMs as an alternative to the … more
Post Reply

Flashing Back to Stock ROM using Heimdall

3rd March 2011, 04:40 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
I am having THE hardest time flashing back to stock rom using heimdall. I dont know how to use it, unfortunately i cannot use Odin..if anyone could instruct me on a step to step guide to getting this done, that would be great. i cannot seem to find one after looking for a good hour and a half :/ i got to samfirmware.com but once i download it asks me for a password and i input it (the one it shows to input) and it doesnt work.

Thank you
3rd March 2011, 05:16 AM   |  #2  
FroggyStyle's Avatar
Senior Member
Seattle
Thanks Meter: 32
 
159 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Just wondering, why can't you use Odin?

Sent from my Cappy using XDA App
3rd March 2011, 01:46 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
100 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
something like this

Code:
$ heimdall flash --factoryfs factoryfs.rfs --cache cache.rfs ..... --kernel zImage
just type "heimdall" and it will print the usage format. you can flash whatever you want.
3rd March 2011, 02:41 PM   |  #4  
pietro_spina's Avatar
Senior Member
Western MA
Thanks Meter: 14
 
168 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Tell us what OS you are using. Do you have the most current version of Heimdal?
Also, try unzipping the firmware with a different tool.(what are you using)?
3rd March 2011, 10:32 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
The reason I cannot use odin is because I have a mac and odin is not mac compatible. I am using precision v3.5. Firmware 2.2.1 I've used the normal text editor and zipeg. And I have the most recent heimdall

Sent from my GT-I9000 using XDA App
4th March 2011, 06:04 AM   |  #6  
pietro_spina's Avatar
Senior Member
Western MA
Thanks Meter: 14
 
168 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by FaithFor_TheFallen

The reason I cannot use odin is because I have a mac and odin is not mac compatible. I am using precision v3.5. Firmware 2.2.1 I've used the normal text editor and zipeg. And I have the most recent heimdall

Sent from my GT-I9000 using XDA App

so since you are already on a 2.2 rom we will hope you are not having the mac sbl.bin problems.

steps are:
1 grab the stock firmware from here if you want froyo
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=963403
or find the equivalent eclair version in the forums or on the samsung firmwares site.

2 unpack the archive

3 unpack it again so you just have the various files in a folder. there are 4 important files in the froyo linked above and one .dll you can ignore.

4 put your phone in download mode

5 put the 4 file in the proper slots (see attached image)

6 hit start.. wait...

If Heimdall cannot see your phone you might be having the sbl problem. head over to the main heimdall support thread and search around... ther are quite a few mac users over there
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Heimdall Frontend.png
Views:	2938
Size:	80.9 KB
ID:	533192  
Last edited by pietro_spina; 4th March 2011 at 06:06 AM.
7th July 2011, 05:43 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Has anyone sucessfully been able to flash Samsung stock 2.2 using Heimdall?

For some reason when it's flashing factoryfs it fails at 43% "failed sending data packet"

I have downloaded KB1 from here http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=963403

And tried the .zip file that Kies downloads during it's upgrade process, both do the same thing.

Ultimately I'd like to find a universal flashing method to be able to restore my phone back to stock. While also being able to flash Clockwork kernels for rebuilding CM7.

The only way I've been able to get CM7 to load successfully is to Odin1Click back to JF6 then use Kies (which requires a different USB driver) to get 2.2 loaded.

Then install USB driver for Heimdall, to flash a Clockwork kernel for CM7 load.
If something goes sideways this process starts all over again.

Reinstalling USB drivers over and over again is getting rather tedious.

Would really like to find out why Heimdall is failing when flashing factoryfs.
7th July 2011, 07:19 PM   |  #8  
Pirateghost's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 7,577
 
10,690 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
why would you upgrade to 2.2 to get to CM7??? you can go to CM7 straight from 2.1 JF6
7th July 2011, 07:32 PM   |  #9  
KonaZXIII's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Orlando
Thanks Meter: 59
 
426 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Bootloader question?

I made a post recently asking "What's the diff between 2.1 and 2.2 bootloaders?"

Nobody knows (or few cared to share their knowledge with the group). The best answer I got was, (paraphrased) 'none?'
7th July 2011, 10:17 PM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pirateghost

why would you upgrade to 2.2 to get to CM7??? you can go to CM7 straight from 2.1 JF6

Taken from Cyanogen Wiki wiki.cyanogenmod.com/wiki/Samsung_Galaxy_S:_Full_Update_Guide

Just above step one: "This guide assumes the Samsung Galaxy S already has Android 2.2 already installed on it."

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
flashing, heimdall, stock rom
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes