Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,785,150 Members 38,087 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Bad Rootedupdate? <Solved>

Tip us?
 
Azaruc
Old
(Last edited by Azaruc; 4th March 2011 at 04:09 PM.)
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 36
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Amstelveen

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [Q] Bad Rootedupdate? <Solved>

Hi all,

I've been trying to root my legend again (had to unroot it after the first time because I got stuck in a boot loop..)

But now I get stuck at the last step; flashing rootedupdate.zip

Let me first say that everything upto running step2-windows.bat went well, except for step2-windows.bat being unable to write rootedupdate.zip to my sdcard (I/O error).

So I manually copied it to the sd-card to be able to flash it.
However, it now gives me an error, saying
"E: Can't open /sdcard/rootedupdate.zip (bad)"

Does anyone recognize this or know what might cause this? I've tried different rootedupdate.zips, from different locations, but keep getting the same error.
 
whitetigerdk
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 56
Posts: 1,049
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Odense

 
DONATE TO ME
Try download any other rooted rom.. just flash the other rom instead..

Sent from my Legend using XDA App
 
Azaruc
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 36
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Amstelveen

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by whitetigerdk View Post
Try download any other rooted rom.. just flash the other rom instead..

Sent from my Legend using XDA App
Where to find another rooted rom then?

I've already tried different rootedupdate.zip files, since that's the rooted rom always used in guides.
 
BlaY0
Old
#4  
BlaY0's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 566
Posts: 1,552
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Medvode
Just flash CM or B or any other from dev forum.

Sent from my HTC Legend
 
Azaruc
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 36
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Amstelveen

 
DONATE TO ME
I'm trying to do so now, but I now get stuck at the second step itself. It gives me the following output in my command line;

Code:
Legend Root Step 2

Pushing required files to device...

error: protocol fault (no status)
* daemon not running. starting it now on port 5037 *
* daemon started successfully *
- exec '/system/bin/sh' failed: No such file or directory (2) -

Pushing update file to device sdcard - this may take a few minutes...

- exec '/system/bin/sh' failed: No such file or directory (2) -
To give some more details;

- HBOOT 1.01
- Android 1.31 is running
- Goldcard succesfully created (even re-did this to be sure)
- Step 1 completed succesfully (as far as I can see)

Does anyone know how to solve this?
 
BlaY0
Old
#6  
BlaY0's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 566
Posts: 1,552
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Medvode
Just follow the instructions for fake-flash.

Sent from my HTC Legend
The Following User Says Thank You to BlaY0 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Azaruc
Old
#7  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 36
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Amstelveen

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlaY0 View Post
Just follow the instructions for fake-flash.

Sent from my HTC Legend
You rock!

Never thought of using fake flash for this purpose

But it worked like a charm! Thanks!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Bring Back Tablet UI on KitKat

Google presented their brand new UI for tablets alongsidethe release of Android 3.0 Honeycomb back in early … more

Give Your Notification Shade a Facelift with these Modding Guides

Modification has always been one of the strong suits of Android, due in … more

Keep Track of How Much Your Car Truly Costs with Car Logbook

It’s a very well established fact that cars are expensive. In addition to … more

New Nvidia SHIELD Tablet OTA! Moto G 4G Gets Official CyangenMod 11 Nightlies – XDA Developer TV

The Nvidia SHIELD Tablet gets its … more