Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,808,220 Members 37,631 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] How to wipe via ClockworkMod Recovery?

Tip us?
 
Denavar
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 81
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default [Q] How to wipe via ClockworkMod Recovery?

Ahoy! I apologize in advance if this question has been asked and answered before (I'm sure it has - but I couldn't find exactly what I'm looking for via search.)

I currently have the Android Revolution HD v2.0.13 ROM installed.

I'm now looking to install Version 3.0. A 'full wipe' is suggested when flashing 3.0. I remember doing this via ClockworkMod recovery when I changed from my Stock ROM to ARHD, but I've forgotten exactly how to do it.

I see there are a lot of wipe/format options in ClockworkMod Recovery, but I just don't know exactly which one to use. :P

Any help would be much appreciated!


Bonus Question!: I've only had my phone for three weeks or so. The SD card has gotten /extremely/ messy due to faults of my own, mainly just lazyness. I'd like to just wipe the SD card of all data and start again fresh and clean. Is this possible? If so, how do I do it and will it mess up my ROM or anything? I'm OK with losing ALL my data and just having a freshly-installed ROM and nothing else.
 
menov321
Old
#2  
menov321's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 122
Join Date: Dec 2008
Just go into clockword mod and choose install rom off sd or second option is to power off device and then hold down volume down key and power on...this will enable recovery console and there you can do a full wipe and then flash new rom ....make sure new rom is already on sd card.
As for sd card im not entirely sure but think you should be ok if you really wanted to wipe it....but probably be better off just trying to tidy it up .....up to you though

hope this helped
 
Denavar
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 81
Join Date: Feb 2011
Yeah, I know how to get into Clockworkmod Recovery and all, but to actually perform a 'full wipe', I don't know what option to choose specifically.

Thanks though!
 
menov321
Old
#4  
menov321's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 122
Join Date: Dec 2008
......wipe data/factory reset is the one to choose.
 
c_felge
Old
#5  
c_felge's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 40
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Hamburg
Hi,

You can either format your SD via ROM-Manager or CWM there's definitely an option for doing that but I can't remember where exactly!

Rgds
 
ghostofcain
Old
#6  
ghostofcain's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 795
Posts: 2,547
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Birkenhead
Quote:
Originally Posted by menov321 View Post
......wipe data/factory reset is the one to choose.
Also wipe /cache and /dalvik-cache, these are actually the most important as this is where files reside that may cause you problems as it's not overwritten by flashing a new ROM.

As for clearing out the SD card, go ahead and format it if you want, the ROM will install all required folders on boot up so don't worry about losing anything important
The Following User Says Thank You to ghostofcain For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
krishna4741
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Dec 2013
Default safestrap is uninstalled

guys , i have motorola razr xt910 and i have just installed an aokp rom through the safestrap and then i have just uninstall the safestrap with the boot manager also now i just cant have any rom as safestrap is uninstalled .after the reboot of the phone it simply shows motorola logo .
 
ranger4740
Old
#8  
ranger4740's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 445
Posts: 1,445
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Melbourne
Quote:
Originally Posted by krishna4741 View Post
guys , i have motorola razr xt910 and i have just installed an aokp rom through the safestrap and then i have just uninstall the safestrap with the boot manager also now i just cant have any rom as safestrap is uninstalled .after the reboot of the phone it simply shows motorola logo .
You won't get very much help in the desire HD forum.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using xda app-developers app
Update: 8th April 2014
Samsung Galaxy S4 👉😆😄Echoe rom v20😄😆👈
Still on old BMG4 Boobloader + FNBH Baseband.👍

semi-retired
HTC Desire HD
(Hboot 2.00.0029 AND S-OFF)
SVHD V 2.1.0

Retired HTC Legend

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes