FORUMS

HTC’s New Ad Campaign And What It Really Means

HTC has just released three new blind test adverts comparing app loading … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (June 27 – July 4)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

HTC One M9 Developer Edition Android 5.1 OTA

The Developer Edition of the HTC One M9 is receiving an over-the-air update to Android 5.1. … more

Index Project For XDA Device Subforums

Another ambitious project from the collaborative efforts of Recognized Contributors and Forum … more

[Q] How to wipe via ClockworkMod Recovery?

81 posts
Thanks Meter: 6
 
By Denavar, Member on 5th March 2011, 01:20 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Ahoy! I apologize in advance if this question has been asked and answered before (I'm sure it has - but I couldn't find exactly what I'm looking for via search.)

I currently have the Android Revolution HD v2.0.13 ROM installed.

I'm now looking to install Version 3.0. A 'full wipe' is suggested when flashing 3.0. I remember doing this via ClockworkMod recovery when I changed from my Stock ROM to ARHD, but I've forgotten exactly how to do it.

I see there are a lot of wipe/format options in ClockworkMod Recovery, but I just don't know exactly which one to use. :P

Any help would be much appreciated!


Bonus Question!: I've only had my phone for three weeks or so. The SD card has gotten /extremely/ messy due to faults of my own, mainly just lazyness. I'd like to just wipe the SD card of all data and start again fresh and clean. Is this possible? If so, how do I do it and will it mess up my ROM or anything? I'm OK with losing ALL my data and just having a freshly-installed ROM and nothing else.
 
 
5th March 2011, 01:28 AM |#2  
menov321's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Just go into clockword mod and choose install rom off sd or second option is to power off device and then hold down volume down key and power on...this will enable recovery console and there you can do a full wipe and then flash new rom ....make sure new rom is already on sd card.
As for sd card im not entirely sure but think you should be ok if you really wanted to wipe it....but probably be better off just trying to tidy it up .....up to you though

hope this helped
5th March 2011, 01:47 AM |#3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Yeah, I know how to get into Clockworkmod Recovery and all, but to actually perform a 'full wipe', I don't know what option to choose specifically.

Thanks though!
5th March 2011, 01:54 AM |#4  
menov321's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
......wipe data/factory reset is the one to choose.
9th March 2011, 12:37 PM |#5  
c_felge's Avatar
Member
Flag Hamburg
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Hi,

You can either format your SD via ROM-Manager or CWM there's definitely an option for doing that but I can't remember where exactly!

Rgds
9th March 2011, 01:46 PM |#6  
ghostofcain's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Birkenhead
Thanks Meter: 829
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by menov321

......wipe data/factory reset is the one to choose.

Also wipe /cache and /dalvik-cache, these are actually the most important as this is where files reside that may cause you problems as it's not overwritten by flashing a new ROM.

As for clearing out the SD card, go ahead and format it if you want, the ROM will install all required folders on boot up so don't worry about losing anything important
The Following User Says Thank You to ghostofcain For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th December 2013, 10:01 AM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
safestrap is uninstalled
guys , i have motorola razr xt910 and i have just installed an aokp rom through the safestrap and then i have just uninstall the safestrap with the boot manager also now i just cant have any rom as safestrap is uninstalled .after the reboot of the phone it simply shows motorola logo .
6th December 2013, 05:14 AM |#8  
Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 455
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by krishna4741

guys , i have motorola razr xt910 and i have just installed an aokp rom through the safestrap and then i have just uninstall the safestrap with the boot manager also now i just cant have any rom as safestrap is uninstalled .after the reboot of the phone it simply shows motorola logo .

You won't get very much help in the desire HD forum.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using xda app-developers app
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes