FORUMS

3D Printable Mobile Microscope? Nexus 7 Discontinued – XDA TV

The Nexus 7 2013 has been discontinued on the Google Store! That and … more

Which Lockscreen Security Type Do You Use?

From pattern locks to the controversial face unlock, there are a number of different ways you … more

Xposed 3.0 Alpha 3 Released

A new alpha for the Xposed framework is out and brings several bug fixes. You’ll only need to flash … more

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (Apr 18 – 25)

Here in the digital XDA newsroom, we spend our days pouring over an average of … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

I got Google Voice working.

7th March 2011, 08:30 PM |#1  
Elysian893's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 71
 
More
edit: Can probably ignore most of this and use this APK instead:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...5&postcount=75



I've been bothered by Google Voice not working since I got my Xoom on launch day, but have been using the web portal... Until now.

I loaded up my Droid, backed up Google Voice+settings with Titanium Backup, restored it on my Xoom and it came up without doing the setup, since it already had my account settings installed. It force closed the first time but I noticed an error in the notification area... Error was asking for permission to use that email address as my Google Voice account, I accepted, re-launched Google Voice and success, full app, working as it would on the phone. Gives notifications and everything.

Enjoy!

edit: Attaching screenshots


Last edited by Elysian893; 10th March 2011 at 07:21 PM.
The Following 11 Users Say Thank You to Elysian893 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
7th March 2011, 08:31 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Pensacola, FL
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Good work I will have to check that out.
7th March 2011, 08:31 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
Awesome!
7th March 2011, 08:42 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Indianapolis
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Do you have to be rooted?
7th March 2011, 08:45 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Maybe I don't know any better, but how did you do that without a working SD slot?
7th March 2011, 09:00 PM |#6  
Elysian893's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 71
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DatterBoy

Maybe I don't know any better, but how did you do that without a working SD slot?

What do you mean? Don't need an SD slot, just copy the TitaniumBackup folder from your Android phone to your PC then copy it to the Xoom...
7th March 2011, 09:00 PM |#7  
Elysian893's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 71
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by agentpower

Do you have to be rooted?

Yes, need to be rooted, install BusyBox(there's a Market app for that) then install Titanium Backup. I've tried just installing the APK, naturally no luck.
7th March 2011, 09:06 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Indianapolis
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elysian893

Yes, need to be rooted, install BusyBox(there's a Market app for that) then install Titanium Backup. I've tried just installing the APK, naturally no luck.

Dang, looks like I'll be waiting for the official version for honeycomb. :/
7th March 2011, 09:24 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Indianapolis
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
woops double post
7th March 2011, 09:27 PM |#10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DatterBoy

Maybe I don't know any better, but how did you do that without a working SD slot?

You could also use dropbox (or something similar) or even just email the APK to yourself.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
google voice, honeycomb, working
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes