Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,780,683 Members 50,972 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[A] Bootloop after flashing a ROM via 3.0.0.5 Recovery image.

Tip us?
 
neidlinger
Old
(Last edited by neidlinger; 18th April 2011 at 08:34 PM.)
#1  
neidlinger's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 447
Posts: 2,365
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Cincinnati
Default [A] Bootloop after flashing a ROM via 3.0.0.5 Recovery image.

What you did .. .. ..

Okay so you've rooted your newly bought MyTouch4G, and you've made sure that s=off and you've flashed Clockwork ROM manager's recovery image that you got from the market. That is all the correct order. But when you flashed a ROM you got stuck in a bootloop.


Am i screwed???

Don't worry you are just in a "soft brick mode", or "limp mode" if you will.

What happened? Why is it doing this?
The Image that you downloaded and installed 3.0.0.5 is for 2.3 (Gingerbread) based ROMs only. [n3rd note] these are ext4 style ROMS. They act and store information differently than 2.2 which are Ext3 ROMs[/n3rd note].

This could also be caused by trying to flash a 2.3 using a older 2.x.x.x version of the Recovery Image. Those will only support the Ext3 style ROMs, which are FroYo (2.2) based ROM.

Okay what do i need to do to fix it, there are two methods.

This is Method one it's the older version.


You must use this method if you do not have the engineering screen


If you are using the 3.0.0.5 Recovery image
To fix your problem you need to flash any 2.3 based ROM, for time sake i will recommend Cyanogen(mod). Link to Cyanogen(mod)'s CM7RC4. While you are there you need to also store the G/Apps.



If you are using the 2.x.x.x Recovery Image
To fix your problem you need to flash any 2.2 based ROM, for time sake i will recommend RoyalGlacier Thread can be found here


- Question: How do i find out what Recovery image i am using
- Answer: Boot the phone into the recovery mode. We'll touch on that in a little bit

Now when you download both of those files you also need to store them to SDCard.
NOTE: If you are using 2.x.x.x and going to flash RoyalGlacier you will not need the g/apps. They have included this in their ROM, and MAKE sure to follow their specific directions for installing the ROM.



- Question: Now how in the world i am going to do that since my phone is in bootloop.

Answer:
Two ways one can do that
1) use a SDcard reader and just plug the card into a main USB port.
2) Mount the SDCard in the phone via the Recovery Image. *** i'd recommend this method since you are going to need to be in recovery anyway ***

Pull the battery from the phone an put it back in, then put the back on the phone. turn the phone on holding the power button along with the volume down rocker button. That will boot the phone into the HBoot (Engineering) Screen. From there you will see an option that says "recovery" [this is what i mentioned earlier, about the different versions] use the volume rocker to select it, then tap the power button to select it. The phone will reboot into what is called the recovery image. From there you will select "mount" then USB. That will mount the SDCard to the Computer.


If you are using the 3.0.0.5 Recovery image
Once you have move Cyanogen(mod) and the g/apps to the SD card unmount the SDCard.

Then navigate to "wipe data/factory reset" you will want to wipe the phone. That will format everything to a fashion that can be written over w/o problems.

Then navigate to "install .zip from sdcard" > " choose .zip " > then flash the main Cyanogen(mod) ROM. Then do the same but flash the g/apps that you downloaded.

Once those are done you can re-boot the phone. That will boot you into cyanogen.

If you are using the 2.x.x.x Recovery image
Please use the link i supplied above to get that ROM up and running once it is done, according to their instructions come back here.

Now i understand that may or may not want Cyanogen nor RoyalGlacier on your phone. Well take care of that


What can i do to prevent this from Happening again?

Once you are up and running (make sure to log into your Google Account) go to the market and download Clockwork ROM manager again, and re-flash the recovery image.

Once you are done with that i HIGHLY suggest upgrading to the newest 3.0.0.6 Recovery image. You can do that one of two ways.


one way is to flash True_Blues method for installing 3.0.0.6 recovery image. Use this thread..


This is the way that i would personally recommend.
The second way is download the 3.0.0.6 recovery image, which i've attached and flash it via the ADB commands. If you want to do it this way you do not need to download Clockwork Rom Manager, you can "just flash it". If you need help with that, if you are using Windows or Mac, see my signature for True_Blue's method on EZ ADB. If you are using Unbutu 10.10 use this This Method to get ADB running. This is the method i used to ADB running on my Linux NetBook.
Download the file that i've attached and store just the recovery image from the .zip to the SDCard, from the ADB commands type
Quote:
adb shell
su
flash_image recovery /sdcard/recovery.img
More information on this process can be found here


That will flash the newest recovery image to your phone

Once you have installed the 3.0.0.6 ROM Manager you can wipe and flash ANY MyTouch4G ROM that you want. It will handle both 2.2 (ext3) and 2.3 (ext4) ROM formats.



This is the New Method - Which is a little easier.


AND YOU MUST HAVE THE ENGINEERING HBOOT
Thanks to TeeJay for inspiring this.

I am going to assume that since you have the Engineering Screen you are more familiar with what you are doing so i'll be more to the point with this walk-through.

you will need to have ADB up and running for this method.

1) Download the attached file and store just the .img to your folder from which you preform all of your ADB commands

2) plug the phone into the computer

3) boot the phone into HBoot

4) from the ADB commands change the drive to the folder where you stored the recovery image.

5) type these commands
Code:
fastboot flash recovery recovery.img
the screen should say something to the degree of
Code:
 
sending 'recovery' (3426 KB)... OKAY [  1.172s]
            writing 'recovery'... OKAY [  0.797s]
finished. total time: 1.969s
6) then select "bootloader"
7) navigate to "reboot recovery"
8) flash your ROM of choice.
9) enjoy your ROM of choice.

Please feel free to use this in your signature or link people back to. If you feel i made an error in this post please PM and i'll edit it accordingly.

If this thread has helped you solve your problem please hit the "thanks" button.


THE RECOVERY IMAGE HAS BEEN UPDATED TO THE NEWEST ONE.
Attached Files
File Type: zip recovery.img.zip - [Click for QR Code] (4.38 MB, 145 views)
HTC | Glacier | Cyanogen(mod) 7 nightly
B&N | Nook Color | Cyanogen(mod) Nightly

Asus | Transformer | Cyanogen(mod) 9
Logitech | Revue | Factory spec
Newcomers to the HTC Glacier? Please read me
My Social Networks.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to neidlinger For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
leo221
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 153
Join Date: Nov 2010
good summary. originally when i flashed cm7 I had to search a bit to come up with what you said above. one addition, CWM lets you mount sd storage to usb so you can copy files to sdcard (say the recovery image). then update CWM 3.0.0.6 with ADB.
The Following User Says Thank You to leo221 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
neidlinger
Old
#3  
neidlinger's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 447
Posts: 2,365
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Cincinnati
Quote:
Originally Posted by leo221 View Post
good summary. originally when i flashed cm7 I had to search a bit to come up with what you said above. one addition, CWM lets you mount sd storage to usb so you can copy files to sdcard (say the recovery image). then update CWM 3.0.0.6 with ADB.
Added that method as well.
HTC | Glacier | Cyanogen(mod) 7 nightly
B&N | Nook Color | Cyanogen(mod) Nightly

Asus | Transformer | Cyanogen(mod) 9
Logitech | Revue | Factory spec
Newcomers to the HTC Glacier? Please read me
My Social Networks.
 
option94
Old
#4  
option94's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 712
Posts: 2,534
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Davie, FL

 
DONATE TO ME
May want to mention that the opposite could be true as well > same boot loop but from flashing 2.3 rom with recovery 2.5.1.2
 
austengeist
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Mar 2011
Thank you for this!! Exactly what I needed...!
 
neidlinger
Old
#6  
neidlinger's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 447
Posts: 2,365
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Cincinnati
Quote:
Originally Posted by austengeist View Post
Thank you for this!! Exactly what I needed...!
Glad it helped, just make sure to hit the "Thanks" button in the first post.
HTC | Glacier | Cyanogen(mod) 7 nightly
B&N | Nook Color | Cyanogen(mod) Nightly

Asus | Transformer | Cyanogen(mod) 9
Logitech | Revue | Factory spec
Newcomers to the HTC Glacier? Please read me
My Social Networks.
 
aalsmadi1
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 105
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: orange county
dang man you're the Q&A champ, every time i'm on this you're answering questions.

well this worked like a charm, idk why people on xda always make things more complicated than it has to be.
Phone: bronze T-Mobile G1
ROM: SuperCSDIv4 (waiting on sciencetest 1.0 )
SPL: danger SPL
Recovery: Ra Recovery 1.6.2
Radio: 2.22.23.02


Samsung Galaxy S II
 
neidlinger
Old
(Last edited by neidlinger; 11th March 2011 at 09:14 PM.)
#8  
neidlinger's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 447
Posts: 2,365
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Cincinnati
Quote:
Originally Posted by option94 View Post
May want to mention that the opposite could be true as well > same boot loop but from flashing 2.3 rom with recovery 2.5.1.2
Added.
Quote:
Originally Posted by aalsmadi1 View Post
dang man you're the Q&A champ, every time i'm on this you're answering questions.

well this worked like a charm, idk why people on xda always make things more complicated than it has to be.
Well i work in the Imported Automotive parts. My job requires me to basically sit around and answer the phone when it rings. We have our own "call center" room. I just pick up the phone and answer question and sell parts. Like right now i'm working on a engine rebuild kit for a 1975 2Ton Mercedes Bens..... so i get some free time from time to time, and XDA is one of a few sites they allow me to visit.... BGR/ Android and Me, Android Central are the others....

I can see why some people blow up, spend +$200.00 on a phone then turn around and blow through something w/o taking the time to read something and then you get stuck in a bootloop.... i can see why people go bonkers. But slowing down and reading would solve alot of problems. Heck i've got 3 great threads in my signature that would solve alot question that one could have with a new device.
HTC | Glacier | Cyanogen(mod) 7 nightly
B&N | Nook Color | Cyanogen(mod) Nightly

Asus | Transformer | Cyanogen(mod) 9
Logitech | Revue | Factory spec
Newcomers to the HTC Glacier? Please read me
My Social Networks.
 
irwendol
Old
(Last edited by irwendol; 22nd March 2011 at 02:14 PM.)
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Sep 2009
fixed my problem
 
option94
Old
#10  
option94's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 712
Posts: 2,534
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Davie, FL

 
DONATE TO ME
Thread stuck.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Secrecy App Goes Open Source, New LG Android Wear Device! – XDA Developer TV

Secrecy encryption app goes open source! That and much … more

Pushbullet Updated with SMS Send Ability

Pushbullet is one of thoseapplications that every Android lover should have installed on his or … more

[OTA] Nvidia Shield Tablet Receives its First Update

The Nvidia Shield Tabletis the latest toy from one of the largest desktop graphics … more

Quick Control Panel Updated, Adds Notification Support

As some of you may remember, earlier this year we spoke about Quick Control Panel by … more