5,600,292 Members 37,225 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Wi-Fi To 3G

Tip us?
 
D Twizzle
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Oct 2010
Unhappy [Q] Wi-Fi To 3G

Hi,

Got a really annoying issue with my Nexus One that has been happening since the Froyo days, when I leave home to go to work I turn the Wi-Fi off on my phone to save battery. Sometimes I use the widget sometimes I go through the settings.

The problem is that the 3G doesn't alway's kick in, the only way for me to get 3G working is to turn my phone off and on which always works.

Any suggestions on why this is happening and how to resolve them?

I am running Stock Ginger Bread on my Nexus One on the the Vodafone network in the UK.
 
HighTech216
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 102
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Ohio
Try checking your signal strength: *#*#4636#*#*

You can try to enable 3G only and see if you can keep a signal.

My signal is sometimes intermittent due to topography. Stupid flat Ohio. Haha
Galaxy Nexus CDMA - Stock until CM9
HTC Sensation - Back to stock - Gifted
Gtablet - Flashback 10.3
Nexus one - Homemade 2.3.7 - Legacy, just for fun
G1 - CM - Gifted
 
D Twizzle
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by HighTech216 View Post
Try checking your signal strength: *#*#4636#*#*

You can try to enable 3G only and see if you can keep a signal.

My signal is sometimes intermittent due to topography. Stupid flat Ohio. Haha
Thanks, it won't be that though because once I turn the phone off then back on it's there. Also once I turn W-Fi off and 3G doesn't kick in, then it won't do untill I restart. Also another reason why I know this isn't the case is because even when I do this at work 3G doesn't kick in and there is a Vodafone 3G mast on the roof
 
RogerPodacter
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 391
Posts: 5,558
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
never seen this problem before, but it sounds like something that might have to be fixed by doing a full wipe and reflashing your ROM. i know its drastic, so maybe do a nand backup first. then flash and see if the problem remains. if its still there, than just go right back to your backup and no harm and nothing lost. worth a shot.
My boring Github
My N1 Battery Project

Phone: Galaxy Nexus
ROM: AOKP 29 4.0.4
Recovery: CWM Touch
 
D Twizzle
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by RogerPodacter View Post
never seen this problem before, but it sounds like something that might have to be fixed by doing a full wipe and reflashing your ROM. i know its drastic, so maybe do a nand backup first. then flash and see if the problem remains. if its still there, than just go right back to your backup and no harm and nothing lost. worth a shot.
I'm on a stock Nexus One unrooted so I shouldn't have to Root to fix an Android problem. Never Rooted before but considering it.
 
Kelvino9
Old
#6  
Kelvino9's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 58
Posts: 945
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NRW|DE

 
DONATE TO ME
I got the exact same problem with Froyo and Gingerbread ROMs, can't remember if I had that issue with MIUI ROMs, but definitely with CyanogenMod ROMs.

Instead of rebooting the phone I suggest switching flight mode on/off it's faster than a full reboot

Haven't found any real solution yet and always thought I'm teh only one with that problem as I couldn't find any other person with that issue. Right now I'm testing different Radio/ROM combination and if that doesn't work I'll need to check if any app is causing the problem.

Any chance you are using Tasker?
Google Nexus 4 (LG Mako / LG-E960)
Recovery: Team Win Recovery Project 2.7.0.0
Radio: 2.0.1700.98
SPL: MAKOZ30d
ROM: OmniROM
Kernel: Hells Doctor
 
D Twizzle
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelvino9 View Post
I got the exact same problem with Froyo and Gingerbread ROMs, can't remember if I had that issue with MIUI ROMs, but definitely with CyanogenMod ROMs.

Instead of rebooting the phone I suggest switching flight mode on/off it's faster than a full reboot

Haven't found any real solution yet and always thought I'm teh only one with that problem as I couldn't find any other person with that issue. Right now I'm testing different Radio/ROM combination and if that doesn't work I'll need to check if any app is causing the problem.

Any chance you are using Tasker?
I used to use Tasker but uninstalled it when I thought that it was causing this, it wasn't. Thanks for the tip about airplane mode, worked a treat.

Tags
bug, nexus one, wi-fi
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Intelligently Place Contacts on Your Home Screen with CallWho Widget

There are plenty of ways to get your contacts to show up on your … more

Control TWRP from within Android with TWRP Coordinator

You may recall that back when TWRP2 introduced a couple of years ago, it brought with … more

Keep Track of Everything Your Device Does with Event Logger

Regardless of their OS choice, computing power users generally share one common … more

A More Competitive Spin on the Addictive 2048 Puzzle

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we talked about a rather interesting take on … more