Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,781,180 Members 38,843 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Fixed screen on v1.09 vegas?

Tip us?
 
original_ganjaman
Old
(Last edited by original_ganjaman; 14th March 2011 at 05:47 PM.)
#1  
original_ganjaman's Avatar
Senior Moderator - OP
Thanks Meter 4,899
Posts: 4,931
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Glosta
Default Fixed screen on v1.09 vegas?

Hi all.

I changed my vega a week ago after the screen became unresponsive to multi touch on the right side. (Which pc world changed no problems, more than three months after purchase) I find that the screen responsiveness a LOT better.

I get no more sticky keys on the keyboard, which was the main problem with the vega. Multi touch seems a lot smoother now to, making google maps a lot better to use. Also there are no accidental presses while scrolling. Maybe they have changed the screen? Cant be software as i am running exactly the same as before.

The new one i got had flash pre-installed (v1.09 firmware), comes up at pc world as a different product as the one without flash pre-installed. So if you have to change yours, try to get one that has flash already on the device. (it will say on the label on the box)

Has anybody else had a similar experience after changing there vega?


Age, catamite - fac mihi hunc diem felicissimum
 
Piranf
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Sep 2010
Yes, had exactly the same here (mine was registering a single touch as a dual touch) replacement seems better than the first one ever was - in fact quality of the screen seems better in all respects - not sure whether this is just coloured by the relief of having the tablet back and working properly ...
 
Logseman
Old
#3  
Logseman's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 632
Posts: 2,451
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Tenerife

 
DONATE TO ME
If this is true, I'd consider the idea to ship my Vega to Advent. The double touch thing is maddening.
 
dagbro
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 45
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Skåne
I've never had any touch issues with my 2 weeks old POV Mobii.. well on AC power there are some issues, mainly when moving homescreen icons because sometimes it thinks i dropped them when i really didn't.

It's definitely not unusable on AC though, much much better than what some of you seem to be experiencing.
 
IndyUK
Old
#5  
IndyUK's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 56
Join Date: Jul 2008
I went to PC World last week to get my Vega swapped (screen problems) and they said it is not a Code 5 and will have to go for fixing. Personally I think they should swap it straight over considering the amount of Vegas with the same problem. I tested the one that was on display and you're right, it is slightly different and the screen looks better, and certainly didn't have this screen problem. I'm going back to the store again tomorrow to see if I can convince them to swap it. I don't want to have it fixed because in my opinion it's a manufacturing problem/issue.

Just out of curiosity, how have people here persuaded staff at the outlets to do a straight swap? This is my first dealings with PC World and it's not looking good.
 
original_ganjaman
Old
#6  
original_ganjaman's Avatar
Senior Moderator - OP
Thanks Meter 4,899
Posts: 4,931
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Glosta
Quote:
Originally Posted by IndyUK View Post
I went to PC World last week to get my Vega swapped (screen problems) and they said it is not a Code 5 and will have to go for fixing. Personally I think they should swap it straight over considering the amount of Vegas with the same problem. I tested the one that was on display and you're right, it is slightly different and the screen looks better, and certainly didn't have this screen problem. I'm going back to the store again tomorrow to see if I can convince them to swap it. I don't want to have it fixed because in my opinion it's a manufacturing problem/issue.

Just out of curiosity, how have people here persuaded staff at the outlets to do a straight swap? This is my first dealings with PC World and it's not looking good.
I purchased mine online and returned it in-store. You are right they say its code 5, but there is a number they are supposed to phone to check if they can change it. Sounds like they are giving you the run around. Tell them they do not repair them they do straight swaps. So if you returned it by mail, all they would do is send you out a new one anyway. I used multi touch visualizer to demonstrate the product was faulty, and they were very helpful at the Gloucester store. Might also be worth checking online, to see if they have them in stock.

Also forgot to mention, since changing my vega. I can use the device with now with no screen problems with the device plugged into the ac. I would recommend anyone who has any of the screen problems to return there vegas for a replacement. You will not regret it


Age, catamite - fac mihi hunc diem felicissimum
 
IndyUK
Old
#7  
IndyUK's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 56
Join Date: Jul 2008
Good news! I managed to swap my faulty one for a good one. I went into the store this morning and explained the situation and this time I managed to convince them that they just need to swap it. They obviously checked with their support people who told them exactly what I kept telling them myself. Anyway, I'm just over the moon that I've finally got one where the screen taps don't stick. No I can begin to enjoy the device.

I have also noticed that the screen seems better on this replacement. Maybe Advent ironed out some screen issues, although its a shame they didn't do anything about the viewing angle. No worries as I'm still happy with it. Right....got to find myself a nice stand so I can use this as my music player.
 
Budius
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 58
Posts: 214
Join Date: May 2010
Hi guys,
Great news u give me... I'm definitely getting my replaced.
Any thoughts on what are the key phrases u must tell them to get it replaced??
As English is not my first language any tips on dealing with it will be much appreciated.


Sent from my Nexus One using XDA App
 
IndyUK
Old
#9  
IndyUK's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 56
Join Date: Jul 2008
Hi Budius

If you're returning it within the 28 days then they shouldn't query anything with you (that's your consumer right). If however like me you're over this period then get them to check with their support people, who will hopefully advise them that this is a straight replacement item. I even mentioned that I'd looked around on internet forums and there were many in the same position (implying that this is a manufacturing defect, is the device's only means operating and therefore should be replaced at no cost to the consumer) and all had their device replaced. Good luck and do let us know how you get on.

Sent from my GT-I9000 using XDA App
 
Budius
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 58
Posts: 214
Join Date: May 2010
Thanks mate,
I'm just finishing some backups and flashing the original rom and will be on my way in a bit.
I checked and I'm within 28days, so should be straight forward.
I'll let u guys know when I'm back.

Sent from my Nexus One using XDA App

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Give Your Android Wear Device a Lock Screen with Lockable

Without a doubt,Android Wear is one of the most frequently talked abouttopics of … more

Forums Added for the LG G Watch R and Samsung Gear S

A little over a week ago, LG “inadvertently” let the world know about the … more

Secrecy App Goes Open Source, New LG Android Wear Device! – XDA Developer TV

Secrecy encryption app goes open source! That and much … more

Pushbullet Updated with SMS Send Ability

Pushbullet is one of thoseapplications that every Android lover should have installed on his or … more