Post Reply

How to get Authorized Software to re-lock the bootloader

11th March 2011, 04:55 AM   |  #11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 79
 
686 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmc2543

Give em about 5 minutes I will try to get them posted.

Its all good, just bit the bullet and signed up for Moto Dev. File downloading now
11th March 2011, 04:57 AM   |  #12  
jmc2543's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag WI
Thanks Meter: 21
 
145 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeski27

Its all good, just bit the bullet and signed up for Moto Dev. File downloading now

Lol np. You figure its probally good you did being that any futeure files, if not evetually the updates will be posted there.
11th March 2011, 04:57 AM   |  #13  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmc2543

Damn you beat me to it.

haha, i was refreshing every 5 seconds on the moto thread. lol
11th March 2011, 05:00 AM   |  #14  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
More
Just relocked on my mac using the moto software, good to go!
11th March 2011, 05:03 AM   |  #15  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 79
 
686 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by lwick74

Just relocked on my mac using the moto software, good to go!

So we have the commands from Moto:

fastboot flash boot boot.img
fastboot flash system system.img
fastboot flash recovery recovery.img
fastboot flash userdata userdata.img
fastboot erase cache
fastboot oem lock


But for those (like me) who aren't super confident in their skills in this area, what steps are not mentioned above? Obviously we'd need to reboot to fastboot (power button + volume up). Then once we're there, we just use the commands above in adb? No additional reboots/remounts/etc involved here? In other words, no steps missing above that might not be obvious to some users?
11th March 2011, 05:10 AM   |  #16  
jmc2543's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag WI
Thanks Meter: 21
 
145 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
More
Here are the steps in order to use the files ( I will post the files in a couple minutes, uploading now)


1. Extract the files to the android-sdk/tools folder

2 open command prompt/terminal from the sdk tools folder

3. adb reboot bootloader

4 fastboot flash boot boot.img
5 fastboot flash system system.img
6 fastboot flash recovery recovery.img
7 fastboot flash userdata userdata.img
8 fastboot erase cache
9 fastboot oem lock

You are now relocked and back to stock (no root) If VZ or Moto will know that you were ever rooted I dont know.
Last edited by jmc2543; 11th March 2011 at 05:57 AM.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to jmc2543 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th March 2011, 05:12 AM   |  #17  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
More
Actually you will be using the fastboot cmd not ADB (adb reboot bootloader to get into fastboot), totally different thing. Just follow the commands motorola has and your all set (no rebooting, just one after the other). When you get to the oem lock part, use the volume controls on the xoom to choose yes to continue....

jmc2543 post is exactly what I did
Last edited by lwick74; 11th March 2011 at 05:16 AM. Reason: jmc2543 explained it better then I did!
11th March 2011, 05:14 AM   |  #18  
jmc2543's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag WI
Thanks Meter: 21
 
145 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
More
Thing you have to remember is you have to be in the recovery which is what the adb command does in order to use the fastboot commands. For windows anyways. I just tried fastboot commands from the desktop and the cmd prompt sits there.
Last edited by jmc2543; 11th March 2011 at 05:24 AM.
11th March 2011, 05:20 AM   |  #19  
jmc2543's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag WI
Thanks Meter: 21
 
145 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
More
Ok im stock now give me my damn update.
11th March 2011, 05:21 AM   |  #20  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 79
 
686 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Nice, all set to go now. Thanks for the help bro!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Top Threads in Xoom Android Development by ThreadRank