FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

Removing the music bar and power settings from the top slider (notification bar)

15 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By Robokill, Junior Member on 11th March 2011, 12:39 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Recieved my P990 yesterday. But I cannot seem to find the right application to remove to ditch the music bar and power settings from the notification panel.

Already removed the music application etc. (trough titanium backup with root)

Does anyone know what the application is called that shows this. Or is it in the rom and can't it be removed. (which mean I have to put the music app back to make it work and ditch winamp)
 
 
11th March 2011, 12:42 PM |#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Open the musicapp and open the settings, there you van disable the player in the notification bar.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to pollie99 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th March 2011, 04:26 PM |#3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
That only works if you didn't remove of freezed the music app. Unfreeze, deselect the option, the musicbar is gone. Freeze or remove the app, the musicbar is there again. I've tried it many times...
18th March 2011, 11:38 AM |#4  
djmcnz's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Auckland, NZ
Thanks Meter: 1,522
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovigui

That only works if you didn't remove of freezed the music app. Unfreeze, deselect the option, the musicbar is gone. Freeze or remove the app, the musicbar is there again. I've tried it many times...

Music bar is managed by the framework.

It is on by default at boot but can be turned off by the Music app. If you remove the Music app it never gets told to "turn off".

Actually, in the framework it appears really easy to totally remove this functionality but will require a patch that I've not worked on yet, and it may require to remove the actual Music app to prevent force closes.

I might have a play with that this weekend.
The Following User Says Thank You to djmcnz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th March 2011, 03:46 PM |#5  
drrogern's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Anything on the second question of topic?
The powersettings
18th March 2011, 03:58 PM |#6  
djmcnz's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Auckland, NZ
Thanks Meter: 1,522
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by drrogern

Anything on the second question of topic?
The powersettings

There's no option to turn them off as far as I can tell but I think I can also remove that permanently... I'll look at that too.
18th March 2011, 06:21 PM |#7  
djmcnz's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Auckland, NZ
Thanks Meter: 1,522
 
More
Exclamation
Okay, so don't try and do this.

I just bricked my phone.

I'll need to wait for a mod/update or return it. Back to my Nexus One for the weekend it seems.
18th March 2011, 08:51 PM |#8  
Member
Flag nyc
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by djmcnz

Okay, so don't try and do this.

I just bricked my phone.

I'll need to wait for a mod/update or return it. Back to my Nexus One for the weekend it seems.

Oh man, really sorry to hear that. Short story, what happened? Was there progress & then...?
18th March 2011, 10:50 PM |#9  
djmcnz's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Auckland, NZ
Thanks Meter: 1,522
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fen_nyc

Oh man, really sorry to hear that. Short story, what happened? Was there progress & then...?

No problems, have a Nexus One to go back to which is sweet.

Don't (try to) replace framework-res.apk, that's what I learned...
20th March 2011, 08:15 PM |#10  
maedox's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oslo
Thanks Meter: 55
 
More
How the hell do you brick a phone by replacing an apk? A brick is what the word suggests; A brick, paperweight etc. Surely you could replace the apk with ADB?
21st March 2011, 01:11 PM |#11  
djmcnz's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Auckland, NZ
Thanks Meter: 1,522
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by maedox

How the hell do you brick a phone by replacing an apk? A brick is what the word suggests; A brick, paperweight etc. Surely you could replace the apk with ADB?

It's a paperweight.

I need a nv flash to replace the system.img.

The framework fails to load and a reset command is issued by the system as soon as it boots. I have adb access for less than 3 seconds before the phone restarts and can not issue a stop command before the reset command.

It's not that uncommon really.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes