FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

GPS fix CM7 DHD

215 posts
Thanks Meter: 14
 
By duanes, Senior Member on 11th March 2011, 06:19 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
After endless searching for the gps solution i've found a solution.
I've tested it and can confirm it works.

All credits go to the developer of faster fix (Bernard Bekker)

So here are the steps:

1. Download the CM7 rom ( I'm currently running the built #15 nightly)
link:http://mirror.teamdouche.net/?device=ace

2. After installing the rom and gapps set it up as you normally would.

3. Download Fast Reboot from the market (and install it).

4. After installing the Fast Reboot, download Faster Fix from the market (and install it).

5. Now turn off the gps (not in the notification bar, but in settings).
menu/settings/location

6. Run Fast Reboot

7. Run Faster Fix, and select your country and hit Go
A pop up should say: for example "Done set to:nl.pool.ntp.org" as I live in the Netherlands.

8. Turn on your GPS and reboot.

Now when you use the Google Navigation you should have a fast and steady fix for your GPS.

This won't work if you turn off GPS and on again.
In this case you have to reboot your phone!!! Remember to turn on the GPS bevore you reboot your phone!

It is not nessesery to repeat steps 1 to 7, just 8.
The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to duanes For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
11th March 2011, 08:27 PM |#2  
palletguru's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Huntington Beach, CA
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
Just tried this and got instant GPS lock when I walked outside of my office. THanks for posting this.
11th March 2011, 09:49 PM |#3  
pwraggcan's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag London U.K.
Thanks Meter: 81
 
Donate to Me
More
Seems to work. Thanks for the information.

Sent from my Desire HD using XDA App
12th March 2011, 02:26 AM |#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
really thannnnnnnx..

though i seldom use the gps in case it would cost lots of battery,thanks very much for posting this ~

btw,i am a chinese.i am now a sophomore in english major,cosidering to pursue a further study abroad,i wonder if netherland is a good place for studying business.

do u have any suggestions?

thanks in advance~
12th March 2011, 03:07 AM |#5  
Member
Flag Louisville, KY
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Also worked on my desire z.
12th March 2011, 07:57 PM |#6  
duanes's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Amsterdam
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmy1991110

really thannnnnnnx..

though i seldom use the gps in case it would cost lots of battery,thanks very much for posting this ~

btw,i am a chinese.i am now a sophomore in english major,cosidering to pursue a further study abroad,i wonder if netherland is a good place for studying business.

do u have any suggestions?

thanks in advance~

email me your interest for wich study you would like to follow.... many people from abroud come to study here :)

default.art@live.nl
18th March 2011, 03:10 AM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Maybe I am doing something wrong but I just followed these instructions and when I rebooted the phone froze on the splash screen. Had to recover and flash my nand. Have you heard of this problem?
22nd March 2011, 07:43 AM |#8  
duanes's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Amsterdam
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
No, i never had this problem, mostly if you make a lot of changes, reboot in to recovery and flash a .zip and than reboot, you might end up with a bootloop in the splash screen.

Sent from my Desire HD using XDA App
25th March 2011, 03:03 PM |#9  
dsixda's Avatar
Recognized Developer / Retired Senior Moderator
Flag Ottawa
Thanks Meter: 5,181
 
More
Just to inform you guys, if you are using a gel case on your Desire HD, it's going to have a noticeable impact on the GPS lock time, from two minutes down to only several seconds.

I have confirmed this with my Case-Mate Gelli, and there is also a video by someone else on YouTube showing this.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bUyhx...e_gdata_player


Faster Fix will still help with the lock time in both cases, so thanks to the original poster.
Last edited by dsixda; 25th March 2011 at 03:11 PM.
2nd April 2011, 08:13 PM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Unfortunately, it didn't work for me. I have an HTC Desire CDMA from USCC with CM7 RC4 running.
3rd April 2011, 09:04 PM |#11  
Junior Member
Flag Glasgow
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
?permanent fix
It worked but is it a permanent fix or every time you want to you GPS do u have to turn it on then reboot to get it working again? Thanks

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes