Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,730,322 Members 50,304 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Swype beta updated!

Tip us?
 
NickHu
Old
(Last edited by NickHu; 17th March 2011 at 09:38 PM.) Reason: Added FAQ
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 32
Posts: 250
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Rugby

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Swype beta updated!

Attention Wildfire users! Swype has been updated to use QVGA resolutions, and therefore supports the Wildfire! ... And it looks pretty! Sign up for the beta here now!


(As an added bonus, UK English dictionaries!)

Happy swyping!



As seen on the XDA Portal!

FAQ / Issues

Q: After reboot, Swype breaks. I can no longer Swype words, the border just flashes, but I can still tap out letters.
A: Go into the Swype Installer, and select "Generate License" from the menu, and follow the instructions. It takes about a minute, and it's annoying, but it's better than restoring data/ re-installing.

Q: I'm missing languages that are supported!
A: Re-install Swype, I suggest backing up app with Titanium Backup, and restoring ONLY the data afterwards.


NOTE: Modifying Swype in any way, be that decompiling to invalidate license validation, or adding languages, or just customisation is not condoned in any way, by me, or XDA. It should not be discussed here.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to NickHu For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
pl0ppy
Old
#2  
pl0ppy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 142
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Dublin
New swype is awesome. I am writing this in swype!

Sent from my HTC Wildfire using XDA Premium App
HTC Wildfire
[ROM] HTC Stock Froyo 2.43.0
[RECOVERY]Clockwork 5.0.2.0
[HBOOT]HTCDev Unlock 1.02.0000 S-ON
[KERNEL] arco nFinity
Windows is essentially an operating system with 64 bit support over a 32 bit extension and a graphical shell for a 16 bit patch to an 8 bit operating system originally coded for a 4 bit microprocessor, written by a 2 bit company that can't stand 1 bit of competition!
 
WillKennerley
Old
(Last edited by WillKennerley; 12th March 2011 at 09:58 AM.)
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 195
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Woodbridge
Thanks for the heads up

I would be grateful if someone made a UK English only version (to save space).

EDIT: it's pretty small actually compared to other versions! Guess I don't need a custom English only.
 
Formiak
Old
#4  
Formiak's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 41
Posts: 527
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Poznań
Works great but in beta there is not my language ,but it is not neccesary to me so.
 
hackworks
Old
(Last edited by hackworks; 12th March 2011 at 03:05 PM.)
#5  
hackworks's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 277
Posts: 811
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bangalore
I tried it today after much anticipation. It stops working after a reboot as a swipe keyboard and you need to reinstall it make it work. SlideIt is best once they make it small layout.
Edit: on reboot, you need to get license once again.
GT-I9300, CM10.1 nightly
Twitter: @hackworks
 
WillKennerley
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 195
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Woodbridge
Quote:
Originally Posted by hackworks View Post
I tried it today after much anticipation. It stops working after a reboot as a swipe keyboard and you need to reinstall it make it work. SlideIt is best once they make it small layout.
Really, I have no such problems!?! Have you moved it to SD? that made it become the non default for me on boot up but then I just reset it as default and it worked fine.
 
hackworks
Old
#7  
hackworks's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 277
Posts: 811
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bangalore
Quote:
Originally Posted by WillKennerley View Post
Really, I have no such problems!?! Have you moved it to SD? that made it become the non default for me on boot up but then I just reset it as default and it worked fine.
Initially I was using a2sd but I am now not using anything fancy and using cm7 #17
GT-I9300, CM10.1 nightly
Twitter: @hackworks
 
NickHu
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 32
Posts: 250
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Rugby

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by hackworks View Post
Initially I was using a2sd but I am now not using anything fancy and using cm7 #17
Update nightly = Destroy license

Sent from my HTC Wildfire using XDA Premium App
 
Xs3n
Old
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 38
Join Date: Jan 2011
Thanks

Sent from my X10 using XDA Premium App
 
neoazrael
Old
#10  
neoazrael's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 229
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NJ/USA
can someone share this app please if it is not forbidden by the forum rules and the rights of the company that made it.i tried to register and log in with different accounts but i got anything (maybe it is about the country where i have been for a short time... )

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Implement Split View in Your LG G2 KitKat Rom with Automated Installer

Some of you may have remembered a story on the Portal a few weeks back … more

Cast Your Device Screen the Way it Was Meant to be with Second Screen

Not too long ago here on the XDA Portal, we covered how Google had made … more

Samsung Gear Live Unboxed the XDA Way – XDA Developer TV

XDA Developer TV Producer AdamOutleris known for his XDA Unboxingseries where … more

Make Your Own DIY Capacitive Stylus

The XDA Portal is a place where we like to talkabout things that are interesting, fun, and sometimes … more