[Tutorial]: How to change the size of a .ttf font file

OP d_1000

12th March 2011, 09:17 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Chicago NW 'Burbs
Thanks Meter: 241

544 posts
Ever wanted to change the base size of the system font file? I spent quite a bit of time looking into this and I found and open source program called FontForge which will modify the .ttf font file. It will run on both Win and Mac.

Here are 300+ existing flashable Font-Packs 300+ existing flashable Font-Packs which you can use and even modify the size of the .ttf file within and re-insert using 7-zip.

Font Forge Instructions:

I spent hours, trying to figure this out, but it is really rather simple...now! FontForge is very powerful and I know how to modify the font size and that is it. I am by NO MEANS an expert!

Once the the selected .ttf file is open - FontForge ALWAYS fc's on my macbook the first time I open a file. Once I relaunch, it is fine...just the nature of the beast.

1. go to: Edit>Select>SelectAll (all characters should be selected)
2. go to: Element>Tansformations>Transform
3. On the transform menu, I have chosen to increase by 20%...make sure all boxes below are checked.

4. Click ok
5. It should now render them 20% larger (or whatever you choose)
6. go to: File>Generate Fonts
make sure you change filename to keep the original clean and de-select validate - otherwise you will get about 200 warnings

7. Click ok...there will be a couple of warnings that appear, but I have not found any visible font issues or errors-you can ignore them - hat is it. When you close Font Forge, it will ask you about saving changes...if you do, it creates another file type, but I have never paid attention to it.

Last edited by d_1000; 14th March 2011 at 06:12 PM. Reason: ummmm .ttf not .tty! Duh!
The Following 18 Users Say Thank You to d_1000 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th March 2011, 03:07 AM   |  #2  
Thanks Meter: 164

3,201 posts
Donate to Me