Android 5.0 Favorite Features, Release November 3rd? – XDA TV

Google Confirms Android 5.0 Lollipop for November 3rd! That and much more … more

Prepare Your Build Machines: Ubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn Now Official

Today is an important day for any and all Linux enthusiasts. One of the … more

Track the Time You Waste on Social Media with Socials Addict

When you use your phone, you often don’t even realize how much time you … more

Document the Story of Your Social Life with 8tory

The different forms of social media are growing every day. It’s hard to imagine a day … more
Post Reply

[FIX] For international users with GPS issues

OP Whipon

17th March 2011, 02:31 AM   |  #1  
Whipon's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Avellaneda
Thanks Meter: 40
 
231 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Hello ^^.
Well, my Atrix arrived yesterday and I noticed the GPS took too long to get a lock.
Also I tested it outside and couldn't get a lock with NDrive and with Google Maps it gave me a 900 meters accuracy.
So I remembered the gps.conf file under system/etc

Here's a copy paste of the original one:

Code:
SUPL_HOST=h-slp.mnc410.mcc310.pub.3gppnetwork.org
SUPL_PORT=7275
NTP_SERVER=north-america.pool.ntp.org
XTRA_SERVER_1=http://xtra1.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
XTRA_SERVER_2=http://xtra2.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
XTRA_SERVER_3=http://xtra3.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
"h-slp.mnc410.mcc310.pub.3gppnetwork.org" is the AT&T A-GPS server. It only works with AT&T. I remember this from my Captivate days, hacking jupiter.xml.

So I changed it to:

Code:
SUPL_HOST=supl.google.com
SUPL_PORT=7276
Then we have the ntp server. File is configured to North America, wich doesn't apply to me because I'm in Argentina. I changed mine to South America as follows:

Code:
NTP_SERVER=south-america.pool.ntp.org
So here's the final result:

Code:
SUPL_HOST=supl.google.com
SUPL_PORT=7276
NTP_SERVER=south-america.pool.ntp.org
XTRA_SERVER_1=http://xtra1.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
XTRA_SERVER_2=http://xtra2.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
XTRA_SERVER_3=http://xtra3.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
If you're not in South America, you can search for your respective ntp server HERE.

Now my gps is working perfectly.
The Following 12 Users Say Thank You to Whipon For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th March 2011, 02:42 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Maracaibo
Thanks Meter: 38
 
430 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
gracias che, i will test this (Venezuela) and see how it goes
17th March 2011, 03:16 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
236 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Thanks man! did not even know that was the problem... will see if it works better now.
Though I have to say, editing with vi on the phone is a bit of a bitch Need to remount the /system partition to edit this file, btw.
17th March 2011, 03:47 AM   |  #4  
Whipon's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Avellaneda
Thanks Meter: 40
 
231 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by bl0wf1sh

Thanks man! did not even know that was the problem... will see if it works better now.
Though I have to say, editing with vi on the phone is a bit of a bitch Need to remount the /system partition to edit this file, btw.

I used Root Explorer to edit the file. Worked like a charm.
17th March 2011, 04:30 AM   |  #5  
phobos512's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lexington Park, MD
Thanks Meter: 61
 
678 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
More
Anyone try using the random server that ntp.org offers? As someone who travels frequently I don't want to have to change this every time.
17th March 2011, 05:17 AM   |  #6  
zen kun's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mexico City
Thanks Meter: 332
 
1,737 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Donate to Me
More
there is an app named FasterFix on market i used before and works pretty nice
Edit:
off topic but just to not open a brand new thread, im wondering if the atrix come with any sdcard what capacity and class? thanks
Last edited by zen kun; 17th March 2011 at 05:29 AM.
17th March 2011, 05:40 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
236 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zen kun

there is an app named FasterFix on market i used before and works pretty nice
Edit:
off topic but just to not open a brand new thread, im wondering if the atrix come with any sdcard what capacity and class? thanks

My Atrix came w/o an SD card. Bought a class 4 16GB one. That gives me a total of 28GB for media (the remainder is for apps and system, fixed). I find 16GB has the better price point, 32GB is more than twice as expensive.

Note: there is a directory /mnt/sdcard/ that refers to the internal storage. If you pop in an actual miniSD card, it is mounted under /mnt/sdcard-ext/
Last edited by bl0wf1sh; 17th March 2011 at 05:41 AM. Reason: 32 not 64. D'OH!
The Following User Says Thank You to bl0wf1sh For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th March 2011, 12:57 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 365
 
1,574 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Hey, i tried this, after it was kinda slow to find gps outdoors. I still dont get any real gps lock indoors, which is rather disappointing since my almsot 3 years old nokia 6220 classic, found them immediately being in the same spot =/
18th March 2011, 12:36 AM   |  #9  
Whipon's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Avellaneda
Thanks Meter: 40
 
231 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Question
Quote:
Originally Posted by crnkoj

Hey, i tried this, after it was kinda slow to find gps outdoors. I still dont get any real gps lock indoors, which is rather disappointing since my almsot 3 years old nokia 6220 classic, found them immediately being in the same spot =/

Where are you located?. It helped me greatly here in Argentina.
Don't know why yours don't work.
18th March 2011, 03:47 AM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whipon

Hello ^^.
Well, my Atrix arrived yesterday and I noticed the GPS took too long to get a lock.
Also I tested it outside and couldn't get a lock with NDrive and with Google Maps it gave me a 900 meters accuracy.
So I remembered the gps.conf file under system/etc

Here's a copy paste of the original one:

Code:
SUPL_HOST=h-slp.mnc410.mcc310.pub.3gppnetwork.org
SUPL_PORT=7275
NTP_SERVER=north-america.pool.ntp.org
XTRA_SERVER_1=http://xtra1.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
XTRA_SERVER_2=http://xtra2.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
XTRA_SERVER_3=http://xtra3.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
"h-slp.mnc410.mcc310.pub.3gppnetwork.org" is the AT&T A-GPS server. It only works with AT&T. I remember this from my Captivate days, hacking jupiter.xml.

So I changed it to:

Code:
SUPL_HOST=supl.google.com
SUPL_PORT=7276
Then we have the ntp server. File is configured to North America, wich doesn't apply to me because I'm in Argentina. I changed mine to South America as follows:

Code:
NTP_SERVER=south-america.pool.ntp.org
So here's the final result:

Code:
SUPL_HOST=supl.google.com
SUPL_PORT=7276
NTP_SERVER=south-america.pool.ntp.org
XTRA_SERVER_1=http://xtra1.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
XTRA_SERVER_2=http://xtra2.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
XTRA_SERVER_3=http://xtra3.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
If you're not in South America, you can search for your respective ntp server HERE.

Now my gps is working perfectly.

I see you got the Atrix working fine there! Cool
Excellent info! Thanks a lot!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Atrix 4G Android Development by ThreadRank