Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,782,937 Members 43,624 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[FIX] For international users with GPS issues

Tip us?
 
Whipon
Old
#1  
Whipon's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 40
Posts: 231
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Avellaneda
Post [FIX] For international users with GPS issues

Hello ^^.
Well, my Atrix arrived yesterday and I noticed the GPS took too long to get a lock.
Also I tested it outside and couldn't get a lock with NDrive and with Google Maps it gave me a 900 meters accuracy.
So I remembered the gps.conf file under system/etc

Here's a copy paste of the original one:

Code:
SUPL_HOST=h-slp.mnc410.mcc310.pub.3gppnetwork.org
SUPL_PORT=7275
NTP_SERVER=north-america.pool.ntp.org
XTRA_SERVER_1=http://xtra1.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
XTRA_SERVER_2=http://xtra2.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
XTRA_SERVER_3=http://xtra3.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
"h-slp.mnc410.mcc310.pub.3gppnetwork.org" is the AT&T A-GPS server. It only works with AT&T. I remember this from my Captivate days, hacking jupiter.xml.

So I changed it to:

Code:
SUPL_HOST=supl.google.com
SUPL_PORT=7276
Then we have the ntp server. File is configured to North America, wich doesn't apply to me because I'm in Argentina. I changed mine to South America as follows:

Code:
NTP_SERVER=south-america.pool.ntp.org
So here's the final result:

Code:
SUPL_HOST=supl.google.com
SUPL_PORT=7276
NTP_SERVER=south-america.pool.ntp.org
XTRA_SERVER_1=http://xtra1.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
XTRA_SERVER_2=http://xtra2.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
XTRA_SERVER_3=http://xtra3.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
If you're not in South America, you can search for your respective ntp server HERE.

Now my gps is working perfectly.
The Following 12 Users Say Thank You to Whipon For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
franciscojavierleon
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 430
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Maracaibo
gracias che, i will test this (Venezuela) and see how it goes
 
bl0wf1sh
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 236
Join Date: Feb 2011
Thanks man! did not even know that was the problem... will see if it works better now.
Though I have to say, editing with vi on the phone is a bit of a bitch Need to remount the /system partition to edit this file, btw.
 
Whipon
Old
#4  
Whipon's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 40
Posts: 231
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Avellaneda
Quote:
Originally Posted by bl0wf1sh View Post
Thanks man! did not even know that was the problem... will see if it works better now.
Though I have to say, editing with vi on the phone is a bit of a bitch Need to remount the /system partition to edit this file, btw.
I used Root Explorer to edit the file. Worked like a charm.
 
phobos512
Old
#5  
phobos512's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 54
Posts: 660
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lexington Park, MD
Anyone try using the random server that ntp.org offers? As someone who travels frequently I don't want to have to change this every time.
Currently: VZW LG G3 (VS985) || Previous Smartphones: iPhone 5S; iPhone 5; Motorola Droid RAZR HD MAXX; Motorola Droid RAZR HD; HTC One X; HTC One V; Motorola Atrix 4G; HTC EVO 4G; HTC Aria; HTC Touch Pro; Palm Treo 650
 
zen kun
Old
(Last edited by zen kun; 17th March 2011 at 05:29 AM.)
#6  
zen kun's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 326
Posts: 1,727
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Mexico City

 
DONATE TO ME
there is an app named FasterFix on market i used before and works pretty nice
Edit:
off topic but just to not open a brand new thread, im wondering if the atrix come with any sdcard what capacity and class? thanks
Check Out this apps
Car Dashdroid, A car dashboard rate if you like
SMS enhancer, check out the XDA thread

fix google security flag with my app
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...creenprotector
Best Car dashboard app on play store
Car Dashdroid

Nexus 4
HTC One X
Samsung Galaxy Pro
HTC Evo 3D
Motorola Atrix 4g
NeXuS OnE (Retired)
My First Android:Nexus One: 05/06/2010
 
bl0wf1sh
Old
(Last edited by bl0wf1sh; 17th March 2011 at 05:41 AM.) Reason: 32 not 64. D'OH!
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 236
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by zen kun View Post
there is an app named FasterFix on market i used before and works pretty nice
Edit:
off topic but just to not open a brand new thread, im wondering if the atrix come with any sdcard what capacity and class? thanks
My Atrix came w/o an SD card. Bought a class 4 16GB one. That gives me a total of 28GB for media (the remainder is for apps and system, fixed). I find 16GB has the better price point, 32GB is more than twice as expensive.

Note: there is a directory /mnt/sdcard/ that refers to the internal storage. If you pop in an actual miniSD card, it is mounted under /mnt/sdcard-ext/
The Following User Says Thank You to bl0wf1sh For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
crnkoj
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 355
Posts: 1,533
Join Date: Feb 2011
Hey, i tried this, after it was kinda slow to find gps outdoors. I still dont get any real gps lock indoors, which is rather disappointing since my almsot 3 years old nokia 6220 classic, found them immediately being in the same spot =/
 
Whipon
Old
#9  
Whipon's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 40
Posts: 231
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Avellaneda
Quote:
Originally Posted by crnkoj View Post
Hey, i tried this, after it was kinda slow to find gps outdoors. I still dont get any real gps lock indoors, which is rather disappointing since my almsot 3 years old nokia 6220 classic, found them immediately being in the same spot =/
Where are you located?. It helped me greatly here in Argentina.
Don't know why yours don't work.
 
danilo2k
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 26
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whipon View Post
Hello ^^.
Well, my Atrix arrived yesterday and I noticed the GPS took too long to get a lock.
Also I tested it outside and couldn't get a lock with NDrive and with Google Maps it gave me a 900 meters accuracy.
So I remembered the gps.conf file under system/etc

Here's a copy paste of the original one:

Code:
SUPL_HOST=h-slp.mnc410.mcc310.pub.3gppnetwork.org
SUPL_PORT=7275
NTP_SERVER=north-america.pool.ntp.org
XTRA_SERVER_1=http://xtra1.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
XTRA_SERVER_2=http://xtra2.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
XTRA_SERVER_3=http://xtra3.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
"h-slp.mnc410.mcc310.pub.3gppnetwork.org" is the AT&T A-GPS server. It only works with AT&T. I remember this from my Captivate days, hacking jupiter.xml.

So I changed it to:

Code:
SUPL_HOST=supl.google.com
SUPL_PORT=7276
Then we have the ntp server. File is configured to North America, wich doesn't apply to me because I'm in Argentina. I changed mine to South America as follows:

Code:
NTP_SERVER=south-america.pool.ntp.org
So here's the final result:

Code:
SUPL_HOST=supl.google.com
SUPL_PORT=7276
NTP_SERVER=south-america.pool.ntp.org
XTRA_SERVER_1=http://xtra1.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
XTRA_SERVER_2=http://xtra2.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
XTRA_SERVER_3=http://xtra3.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
If you're not in South America, you can search for your respective ntp server HERE.

Now my gps is working perfectly.
I see you got the Atrix working fine there! Cool
Excellent info! Thanks a lot!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Twik Keeps Your Accounts Secure with Randomly Generated Passwords

If youre one of thosewho find it just an impossible task to keep trackof … more

Moto G 4G Receives Official CyanogenMod 11 Love

When theMoto Gwas initially released to the world in November of last year,very few actually … more

Get Your Tasks Organized on Android Wear with Agenda Wear

Having a checklist of things you need to do is something we all can find useful at … more

Top 5 LG G3 MODs – XDA Developer TV

The LG G3 has been LG’s breakout hit of the summer. Using their knowledge frombuilding some … more