5,595,339 Members 48,055 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[FIX] For international users with GPS issues

Tip us?
 
Whipon
Old
#1  
Whipon's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 40
Posts: 231
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Avellaneda
Post [FIX] For international users with GPS issues

Hello ^^.
Well, my Atrix arrived yesterday and I noticed the GPS took too long to get a lock.
Also I tested it outside and couldn't get a lock with NDrive and with Google Maps it gave me a 900 meters accuracy.
So I remembered the gps.conf file under system/etc

Here's a copy paste of the original one:

Code:
SUPL_HOST=h-slp.mnc410.mcc310.pub.3gppnetwork.org
SUPL_PORT=7275
NTP_SERVER=north-america.pool.ntp.org
XTRA_SERVER_1=http://xtra1.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
XTRA_SERVER_2=http://xtra2.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
XTRA_SERVER_3=http://xtra3.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
"h-slp.mnc410.mcc310.pub.3gppnetwork.org" is the AT&T A-GPS server. It only works with AT&T. I remember this from my Captivate days, hacking jupiter.xml.

So I changed it to:

Code:
SUPL_HOST=supl.google.com
SUPL_PORT=7276
Then we have the ntp server. File is configured to North America, wich doesn't apply to me because I'm in Argentina. I changed mine to South America as follows:

Code:
NTP_SERVER=south-america.pool.ntp.org
So here's the final result:

Code:
SUPL_HOST=supl.google.com
SUPL_PORT=7276
NTP_SERVER=south-america.pool.ntp.org
XTRA_SERVER_1=http://xtra1.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
XTRA_SERVER_2=http://xtra2.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
XTRA_SERVER_3=http://xtra3.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
If you're not in South America, you can search for your respective ntp server HERE.

Now my gps is working perfectly.
The Following 12 Users Say Thank You to Whipon For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
franciscojavierleon
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 430
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Maracaibo
gracias che, i will test this (Venezuela) and see how it goes
 
bl0wf1sh
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 236
Join Date: Feb 2011
Thanks man! did not even know that was the problem... will see if it works better now.
Though I have to say, editing with vi on the phone is a bit of a bitch Need to remount the /system partition to edit this file, btw.
 
Whipon
Old
#4  
Whipon's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 40
Posts: 231
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Avellaneda
Quote:
Originally Posted by bl0wf1sh View Post
Thanks man! did not even know that was the problem... will see if it works better now.
Though I have to say, editing with vi on the phone is a bit of a bitch Need to remount the /system partition to edit this file, btw.
I used Root Explorer to edit the file. Worked like a charm.
 
phobos512
Old
#5  
phobos512's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 611
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ridgecrest, CA
Anyone try using the random server that ntp.org offers? As someone who travels frequently I don't want to have to change this every time.
Motorola DROID RAZR HD
iPad 4G (Verizon) 64GB

 
zen kun
Old
(Last edited by zen kun; 17th March 2011 at 05:29 AM.)
#6  
zen kun's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 312
Posts: 1,663
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Mexico City

 
DONATE TO ME
there is an app named FasterFix on market i used before and works pretty nice
Edit:
off topic but just to not open a brand new thread, im wondering if the atrix come with any sdcard what capacity and class? thanks
Check Out this apps
Car Dashdroid, A car dashboard rate if you like
SMS enhancer, check out the XDA thread

fix google security flag with my app
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...creenprotector

Nexus 4
HTC One X
Samsung Galaxy Pro
HTC Evo 3D
Motorola Atrix 4g
NeXuS OnE (Retired)
My First Android:Nexus One: 05/06/2010
 
bl0wf1sh
Old
(Last edited by bl0wf1sh; 17th March 2011 at 05:41 AM.) Reason: 32 not 64. D'OH!
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 236
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by zen kun View Post
there is an app named FasterFix on market i used before and works pretty nice
Edit:
off topic but just to not open a brand new thread, im wondering if the atrix come with any sdcard what capacity and class? thanks
My Atrix came w/o an SD card. Bought a class 4 16GB one. That gives me a total of 28GB for media (the remainder is for apps and system, fixed). I find 16GB has the better price point, 32GB is more than twice as expensive.

Note: there is a directory /mnt/sdcard/ that refers to the internal storage. If you pop in an actual miniSD card, it is mounted under /mnt/sdcard-ext/
The Following User Says Thank You to bl0wf1sh For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
crnkoj
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 340
Posts: 1,471
Join Date: Feb 2011
Hey, i tried this, after it was kinda slow to find gps outdoors. I still dont get any real gps lock indoors, which is rather disappointing since my almsot 3 years old nokia 6220 classic, found them immediately being in the same spot =/
 
Whipon
Old
#9  
Whipon's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 40
Posts: 231
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Avellaneda
Quote:
Originally Posted by crnkoj View Post
Hey, i tried this, after it was kinda slow to find gps outdoors. I still dont get any real gps lock indoors, which is rather disappointing since my almsot 3 years old nokia 6220 classic, found them immediately being in the same spot =/
Where are you located?. It helped me greatly here in Argentina.
Don't know why yours don't work.
 
danilo2k
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 26
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whipon View Post
Hello ^^.
Well, my Atrix arrived yesterday and I noticed the GPS took too long to get a lock.
Also I tested it outside and couldn't get a lock with NDrive and with Google Maps it gave me a 900 meters accuracy.
So I remembered the gps.conf file under system/etc

Here's a copy paste of the original one:

Code:
SUPL_HOST=h-slp.mnc410.mcc310.pub.3gppnetwork.org
SUPL_PORT=7275
NTP_SERVER=north-america.pool.ntp.org
XTRA_SERVER_1=http://xtra1.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
XTRA_SERVER_2=http://xtra2.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
XTRA_SERVER_3=http://xtra3.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
"h-slp.mnc410.mcc310.pub.3gppnetwork.org" is the AT&T A-GPS server. It only works with AT&T. I remember this from my Captivate days, hacking jupiter.xml.

So I changed it to:

Code:
SUPL_HOST=supl.google.com
SUPL_PORT=7276
Then we have the ntp server. File is configured to North America, wich doesn't apply to me because I'm in Argentina. I changed mine to South America as follows:

Code:
NTP_SERVER=south-america.pool.ntp.org
So here's the final result:

Code:
SUPL_HOST=supl.google.com
SUPL_PORT=7276
NTP_SERVER=south-america.pool.ntp.org
XTRA_SERVER_1=http://xtra1.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
XTRA_SERVER_2=http://xtra2.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
XTRA_SERVER_3=http://xtra3.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
If you're not in South America, you can search for your respective ntp server HERE.

Now my gps is working perfectly.
I see you got the Atrix working fine there! Cool
Excellent info! Thanks a lot!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Add Swipe Utilities to Your App with SimpleFingerGestures Library

Gestures have become an increasingly important element in smartphone UI … more

Android App Review: Lock it Down with Lockdown Pro – XDA Developer TV

Our smartphones are our lives. They store our contacts, emails, … more

Get the AOSP Lock Screen on Your ICS-Powered Samsung Device

Android is the only popular mobile operating system that allows users, … more

Motorola Droid RAZR HD and M to Receive KitKat in a “Few More Weeks”

Verizon and Motorola shocked us all back in November when … more