Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Thread Closed

[OBSOLETE][Recovery] Clockwork Recovery

OP graffixnyc

17th March 2011, 12:18 PM   |  #1  
graffixnyc's Avatar
OP Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Flag New York City
Thanks Meter: 5,127
 
5,715 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More

PLEASE READ:

FIRST IF YOU HAVE INSTALLED THE OTA UPDATE(TO 2.2.2) ALREADY AND WERE NOT ROOTED BEFORE THE OTA UPDATE YOU CAN ONLY GET CLOCKWORK RECOVERY THROUGH THE FAST BOOT METHOD BELOW AS ONLY ROOT CAN FLASH CWR THROUGH ROM MANAGER

IF YOU ALREADY HAVE CWR INSTALLED BUT DO NOT HAVE OR TRIED TO INSTALL THE OTA UPDATE YET AND ARE STILL ON VERSION 2.2.1 DO NOT UPDATE!!! DOWNLOAD THE ZIP IN THIS THREAD http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1008650 AND FLASH THROUGH CLOCKWORK RECOVERY AND YOU WILL HAVE THE UPDATE PLUS IT WILL BE ROOTED (CURRENTLY THERE IS NO WAY TO ROOT WITH THE UPDATE UNLESS IT'S THIS METHOD)

IF YOUR STREAK 7 CAME PRE INSTALLED WITH ANDROID VERSION 2.2.2 YOU CAN ONLY GET CLOCKWORK RECOVERY THROUGH THE FAST BOOT METHOD BELOW AS ONLY ROOT CAN FLASH CWR THROUGH ROM MANAGER



Ladies and Gentlemen,
After over 72 long hours and barely any sleep we now have a working Clockwork Recovery!!! I cant believe I did it! Thanks to everyone in the community that pitched in to make this happen, I couldnt have done it without the help of all of you! Thanks!!

Special thanks to Koush for taking the time to chat with me and Bogdi1988.. one guy on irc told me "You should feel lucky, Koush is even talking to you about this, he ignored me for weeks" hahaha I guess he knew how close we were so we didn't mind helping us get to the finish line! I dont know what exactly he changed for us but he put the finishing touches on it.


AGAIN: YOU CAN FLASH CLOCKWORK RECOVERY MOD BY USING ROM MANAGER(IF YOU HAVE ROOT ACCESS) OR INSTALL MANUALLY THROUGH FASTBOOT

DO NOT PERFORM A FACTORY RESET FROM WITHIN ANDROID YOU WILL MESS UP YOUR PHONE. IF YOU WANT TO DO A FACTORY RESET DO IT THROUGH CLOCKWORK RECOVERY


make sure your phone is connected to the computer and you have entered fastboot mode on the phone by holding down Volume down and the power button at the same time

recovery: http://mirror.kanged.net/recoveries/....9-streak7.img

rename this file to recovery.img (or any easy name to type)and place into the same directory as your fastboot executable (usually androidsdkfolder/tools)

open up a command prompt and navigate to the androidsdkdir/tools folder and type this in at the C prompt

fastboot devices
(to make sure you're connected)

fastboot flash recovery recovery.img


Thanks to Koush, Bogdi1988, BinaryBishop, Lou, nledevil , Hellzya, KenAP, Josh (Hellzya:"hey Jo who are you?") hahaha and everyone else that helped us get this done!!!!!

LET IT BEGIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

disclaimer: I am NOT responsible if you brick your phone trying to flash recovery. flash at YOUR OWN RISK. This software is not supported (only by the community), has no warranty(will void your warranty) and is AS-IS you use/flash this at your own risk. AGAIN I AM NOT RESPONSIBLE IF YOU FU*K UP YOUR PHONE!!!!


donate if you want to/feel like it but if not no biggie.. I do this for the challenge mostly not for donations/thanks so if you feel like donating to me I wont stop ya but I'm definitely not asking for them.. if you want to click thanks then I thank you for your thanks , but again you dont have to
Last edited by graffixnyc; 25th April 2012 at 08:00 PM.
The Following 11 Users Say Thank You to graffixnyc For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th March 2011, 12:21 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Seattle, WA
Thanks Meter: 58
 
796 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
Donate to Me
More
here is a mirror: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/23637011/rec....9-streak7.img

if fastboot devices returns nothing, do this:
fastboot -i 0x413c flash recovery recovery.img

if you messed up you system because u can not read, do this:
get this http://dl.dropbox.com/u/23637011/system_orig.img
then do a fastboot flash system system_orig.img
or fastboot -i 0x413c flash system system_orig.img

if u were running dj_steve's perf tweak vs 2, then get this:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/23637011/system_v02.img


thank you koush for bearing with us tonight and fixing it for us!
Last edited by bogdi1988; 17th March 2011 at 12:35 PM.
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to bogdi1988 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th March 2011, 12:21 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag Seattle, WA
Thanks Meter: 58
 
796 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
Donate to Me
More
i can confirm this works since i messed up my system with rom manager and this saved my life and recovered all data back!
The Following User Says Thank You to bogdi1988 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th March 2011, 12:46 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 53
 
911 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
**** ya graffix I've got a 12 pack coming ur way.

Sent from Re-Engineered dInc
17th March 2011, 12:47 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Seattle, WA
Thanks Meter: 58
 
796 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hellzya

**** ya graffix I've got a 12 pack coming ur way.

Sent from Re-Engineered dInc

haha! i think graphix and i wiped out phones at least 10 times tonight... it was a pain in the b***!
17th March 2011, 01:03 PM   |  #6  
KenpoAP's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Juan
Thanks Meter: 42
 
654 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
I'm without mgt pc. f..k! Why can't we use terminal emulator!

From my CM7 urban themed Glacier
17th March 2011, 01:03 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 53
 
911 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Lol good job though man. You guys killed it.

Sent from Re-Engineered dInc
17th March 2011, 01:04 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag Seattle, WA
Thanks Meter: 58
 
796 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by KenpoAP

I'm without mgt pc. f..k! Why can't we use terminal emulator!

From my CM7 urban themed Glacier

wait until koush fixed rom manager tomorrow? :-s
17th March 2011, 01:18 PM   |  #9  
thatruth132's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag los angeles
Thanks Meter: 55
 
1,906 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
i flashed twice and dont see a change
17th March 2011, 01:19 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag Seattle, WA
Thanks Meter: 58
 
796 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by thatruth132

i flashed twice and dont see a change

huh? what do u mean?

Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes