5,597,084 Members 46,943 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[BUG] ADWLauncher EX Customize Menu failure

Tip us?
 
ScottHW
Old
(Last edited by ScottHW; 18th March 2011 at 05:37 PM.) Reason: correction
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 135
Join Date: Sep 2010
Default [BUG] ADWLauncher EX Customize Menu failure

I recently upgraded from the CM7 stock ADW.Launcher (1.3.6) to ADWLauncher EX 1.2.2.
Firstly, I want to support the Dev of one of the best and most popular Apps out there.

The Feature I was most interested in was the ability to edit the Menu (I hate that More \|/ dropdown, totally unnecessary clicking).

When I try to do this:
Menu>More>ADWSettings>General Behavior>System Preferences>Customize Menu>
and then uncheck items, and/or move them around, the changes don't stick when I go back to my Home Screen.
Or more accurately, they stick about 1 in 20 tries, but I have found no rhyme or reason to it.

Anyone else experienced this same problem?

I was also discussing this on the CM Forum
http://forum.cyanogenmod.com/topic/1...settings-menu/
And I'll post a comment directly on the ADWLauncher EX page as well
http://jbthemes.com/anderweb/2011/01...ased/#comments
An iPhone is not my Desire
Logcat is log

--------HTC Desire--A8181 HT06x AMOLED--------
AlphaRev 1.8 S-OFF HBOOT 0.93.1000 Bravo CM7
--------Radio 32.44.00.32U_5.09.05.30_2--------
----ClockworkMod 2.5.0.7 CyanogenMod 6.1.1----
-----gapps-hdpi-20101114 ADW Launcher EX-----

 
ScottHW
Old
(Last edited by ScottHW; 18th March 2011 at 05:10 PM.) Reason: correction
#2  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 135
Join Date: Sep 2010
Default Workaround

Well, I think this is almost certainly a bug, but I did figure out a workaround.
  • Menu>More>ADWSettings>General Behavior>System Preferences>Customize Menu>
  • Make the change(s) you want
  • Press Back button
  • Click back into Customize Menu>
  • Make the change(s) you want again
  • Press Home button
An iPhone is not my Desire
Logcat is log

--------HTC Desire--A8181 HT06x AMOLED--------
AlphaRev 1.8 S-OFF HBOOT 0.93.1000 Bravo CM7
--------Radio 32.44.00.32U_5.09.05.30_2--------
----ClockworkMod 2.5.0.7 CyanogenMod 6.1.1----
-----gapps-hdpi-20101114 ADW Launcher EX-----

The Following User Says Thank You to ScottHW For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
si3eck684
Old
(Last edited by si3eck684; 1st April 2011 at 04:43 PM.)
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 16
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Philadelphia
Question A way to put the ADW Launcher EX menu back into the settings menu?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottHW View Post
I was also discussing this on the CM Forum
http://forum.cyanogenmod.com/topic/1...settings-menu/
I read your post on the other forum and was wondering if you or others have found a way to put the ADW Launcher EX menu back into the settings menu?

Once I purchased the EX version, made it my default, and deleted the regular ADW launcher, the ADW menu disappeared from the settings menu. I also tried to use root manager and move the file to /system/app folder from the /data/app, rebooted but nothing shows up.

Anyone have a solution to this?
 
ScottHW
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 135
Join Date: Sep 2010
Default No solution yet

Quote:
Originally Posted by si3eck684 View Post
I read your post on the other forum and was wondering if you or others have found a way to put the ADW Launcher EX menu back into the settings menu?
Sorry to say, I haven't really come up with anything yet.

For the time being, I have settled on using the Customize Menu option, according to the hack I described above.

Since my [REQUEST] in the CM forum went totally unresponded, I think I will submit it in the Bug Tracker.

Skrki was discussing how Requests should be best handled, but until a more unified (and possibly democratic) approach is implemented, I think I'll just double-post in the Forums and Bug Tracker, and give links to each other.
An iPhone is not my Desire
Logcat is log

--------HTC Desire--A8181 HT06x AMOLED--------
AlphaRev 1.8 S-OFF HBOOT 0.93.1000 Bravo CM7
--------Radio 32.44.00.32U_5.09.05.30_2--------
----ClockworkMod 2.5.0.7 CyanogenMod 6.1.1----
-----gapps-hdpi-20101114 ADW Launcher EX-----

 
si3eck684
Old
(Last edited by si3eck684; 6th April 2011 at 02:42 PM.)
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 16
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Philadelphia
I asked some devs here as well and they don't seem to know either... Let us know here if anyone reponds to you from the CM forums with an answer thanks!
 
jamRwoo
Old
#6  
jamRwoo's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 46
Posts: 278
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Greenville, SC
This continues to be an issue...Customize Menu still does nothing, the workaround previously mentions seems to have some effect, but half of the menu items don't show up at all, regardless of what I do.

It's driving me nuts that I can't access the "Manage Apps" or "Remove Catalog" options...I don't even know what they do but they sound useful.

Has any progress been made on this?
 
AGStumps8807
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Oct 2010
I've tried using the workaround. It works, but not for the "Manage Apps". It is listed as enabled, but doesn't show. By far my most used menu item on stock, wish I could have it here.
 
Tone_Capone
Old
#8  
Tone_Capone's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 172
Posts: 477
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Ohio
I also found that the customize dock bar options dont stick either. Not sure what the issue is
Never overlook the Thanks button if someone has helped you.

Phone: Toro
ROM: AOSP-Based Paranoid Android
Kernel: A.S.K.P. B17MR2
Recovery: TWRP

Tablet: Grouper
ROM: AOSP-Based Paranoid Android
Kernel: M-Kernel a60
Recovery: TWRP

Dead/Sold Device(s)
Fascinate:
She was running strong until the pool took her life. RIP
Shadow: Damn locked bootloader.


 
all.black.nexus
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Jul 2010
So glad I found this thread confirming that I'm not crazy. No matter what I do the 'Manage Apps' button doesn't show up. Everything else seems to work fine, but this one button doesn't show. This happened on both my stock unrooted Nexus One and on a CM7 Nexus one (both with ADW Launcher EX). Since its been awhile anyone has posted here, as anyone found a solution yet?

Thanks.

Tags
adw, customize, launcher, menu, setttings
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...