FORUMS

I/O Summary: How Android M Handles Power And Charging

In the spirit of improving the core Android experience, Google is changing Android … more

I/O Summary: Google Photos App

At I/O 2015, Google tackled the information problem in mobile once more, this time through … more

I/O Summary: Development, Play Store, The Next Billion

VP of Engineering Jen Fitzpatrick began talking about what Google is doing to … more

I/O Summary: Google Now on Tap

Google is all about organizing the world’s information to make it universally useful, and these … more

Z3C rom for Z1C ?

Thanks Meter: 17,430
 
By munjeni, Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer on 21st September 2014, 01:14 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
What you think, is it possible?
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to munjeni For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
21st September 2014, 04:05 PM |#2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
More
I'm not a dev but I will enjoy having it on my Z1C

Sent from my D5503 using XDA Free mobile app
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to skyline10 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st September 2014, 04:49 PM |#3  
OmarEinea's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Sharjah, UAE
Thanks Meter: 5,354
 
Donate to Me
More
You're our main dev for Z1C, anything would become possible if you contribute in it
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to OmarEinea For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st September 2014, 07:06 PM |#4  
Member
Flag Viterbo
Thanks Meter: 24
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by munjeni

What you think, is it possible?

Of course it's possible. It might even be easy because the manifacturer of the phones is the same and they have a really similar hardware. In order to port Z3C ROM to our Z1C we have to:
1 Extract system from Z3C FTF.
2 Deodex it (advisable).
3 Edit build.prop so that it matches our proprieties.
4 Replace their kernel and modules with ours.
5 Replace their system/lib/hw and system/lib/egl with ours.
If we are lucky enough we'll get a booting ROM, otherwise we'll have to debug it.
At the moment I think to have neither the time nor the experience to do it, but maybe I can help.
I wish good luck to everyone who tries to port it!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Lorenzoval For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st September 2014, 07:45 PM |#5  
munjeni's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 17,430
 
More
Anybody here have colected diferencie in hardware between Z1C and Z3C ? Only I have found is procesor is diferent (new model), not searched for other things. What is diferent there?
Last edited by munjeni; 21st September 2014 at 07:50 PM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to munjeni For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st September 2014, 07:57 PM |#6  
munjeni's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 17,430
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lorenzoval

5 Replace their system/lib/hw and system/lib/egl with ours.

Agree with 1,2,3,4 but about 5. I am not sure. Why egl and hw? Is not video card and sensors the same?
The Following User Says Thank You to munjeni For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st September 2014, 08:56 PM |#7  
Member
Flag Viterbo
Thanks Meter: 24
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by munjeni

Anybody here have colected diferencie in hardware between Z1C and Z3C ? Only I have found is procesor is diferent (new model), not searched for other things. What is diferent there?

Battery and screen of Z3C are bigger. Also some chips are different:

Quote:
Originally Posted by munjeni

Agree with 1,2,3,4 but about 5. I am not sure. Why egl and hw? Is not video card and sensors the same?

About egl I'm not sure: their gpu is an Adreno 330 but is clocked at a higher frequency. If I'm not wrong, hw directory also contains libraries that rely on the processor that is not the same.
The Following User Says Thank You to Lorenzoval For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st September 2014, 09:44 PM |#8  
anmolkakkar's Avatar
Member
Flag Delhi
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
Z3 Compact Russian ROM is available for download.... :smile:
Here:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/z3-c...4/post55447115
or any other through XperiFirm
Last edited by anmolkakkar; 21st September 2014 at 10:07 PM.
21st September 2014, 09:50 PM |#9  
munjeni's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 17,430
 
More
Hm, you are right, we will need to replace gralloc and other things, probably cam libs will not work too, and allso probably sensors too since diferent digitizer... etc.

Maybe we can port some smalis at least. Anybody know what is new feature in z3c rom which not exist on z1c?
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to munjeni For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st September 2014, 10:39 PM |#10  
Pakman123's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Far Far Away
Thanks Meter: 430
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by munjeni

Hm, you are right, we will need to replace gralloc and other things, probably cam libs will not work too, and allso probably sensors too since diferent digitizer... etc.

Maybe we can port some smalis at least. Anybody know what is new feature in z3c rom which not exist on z1c?

ps4 remote play

ultra stamina mode

stereo speakers

tap to wake

noob question but couldn't we just use the porting method for z1 roms ?
Last edited by Pakman123; 21st September 2014 at 10:51 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Pakman123 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes