Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,805,427 Members 42,470 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Cm11 - need help flashing new baseband

Tip us?
 
fadern
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Stockholm
Default Cm11 - need help flashing new baseband

Hi,

Does anyone know how to flash/update a new baseband? I've tried to use flashtool but haven't got it to work. Flashtool says it went good but the baseband has still the same version (39). I want to update to (51)
 
mdc1983uk
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 49
Join Date: Aug 2013
Baseband version is not read off the partition, it's hard coded into the ROM - so show's version the ROM you are using originally came with. Rest assured so long as flash was successful you have upgraded the baseband.

Quote:
Originally Posted by fadern View Post
Hi,

Does anyone know how to flash/update a new baseband? I've tried to use flashtool but haven't got it to work. Flashtool says it went good but the baseband has still the same version (39). I want to update to (51)
 
fadern
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Stockholm
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdc1983uk View Post
Baseband version is not read off the partition, it's hard coded into the ROM - so show's version the ROM you are using originally came with. Rest assured so long as flash was successful you have upgraded the baseband.
OK, thank you for your reply. So is there any way to se the actual version of the baseband?
 
mdc1983uk
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 49
Join Date: Aug 2013
No need for thanks, just hit the button

I don't think you actually can in any simple way. I struggle to think when you are best off with anything but the latest baseband so you just flash it and leave it alone until Sony bring out another major update... Technically I suppose you could rip it from the handset onto PC and search it for a version number or something amongst all the code if you really wanted to find out but I don't know if it's even there in plain text - never looked - and I see no reason to need to do it.

Aside from that they should either fix that little bug in Android or just take the whole baseband info out if they can't.



Quote:
Originally Posted by fadern View Post
OK, thank you for your reply. So is there any way to se the actual version of the baseband?
 
LazyT
Old
#5  
LazyT's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 30
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
it's hard coded into the ROM
Are you sure?

So we should find the baseband version defined in the device specific tree - but i see nothing there...

Where do you get the info about hardcoding?
 
mdc1983uk
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 49
Join Date: Aug 2013
I read it on here somewhere ages ago I am sure. I always wondered why the baseband changed testing out ROM's on the T. 90% of the time I never flashed a baseband or the ROM didn't even include one yet the last 2 digits at least always changed. It could be different on the Z1C to the T but I wouldn't have thought so... If someone proves me wrong I apologise. Literally been using this phone a few hours and it's great. I am thinking keep this one on stock for now, just root and xposed my way into freedom and enjoy the thing its a real nice phone.


Quote:
Originally Posted by LazyT View Post
Are you sure?

So we should find the baseband version defined in the device specific tree - but i see nothing there...

Where do you get the info about hardcoding?
The Following User Says Thank You to mdc1983uk For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


CyanogenMod 11 M10 Available for Supported Devices

Summer vacation isover for most students out there, and it’s the time to get back to … more

XDA Forums Added for the First Batch of Android One Devices!

Just yesterday, we talked about the highly anticipated launch of the first batch … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: DonkeyGuard, Don’t Be a Donkey, Control Your Device – XDA Developer TV

Some applications ask for the world … more

Use Facebook Pictures as a LWP with Facebook View

One of the best things that Android has always offeredits users is the ability to tailor … more