Early Lollipop Ports for Micromax A116 and A117

It feels like it was only yesterday when Google announced the mysterious Android L.After … more

Now Gesture Tweaks Replaces Google Now with Custom Action

On most modern Android devices with software navigation keys, swiping up from the … more

ToqAN Fixes Android 5.0 Notification Bug on Qualcomm Toq

The Qualcomm Toq is probably one of the lesser known smartwatches on the market … more

How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Stuck in bootloop, how can I backup pictures from stock phone?

OP AndyGizzle

4th September 2014, 12:07 PM   |  #21  
Didgesteve's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Truro
Thanks Meter: 415
 
556 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Have you tried flashing with the 'remove customisations' enabled? Not sure that this will help, but worth a try. Avoid 'wipe data'.
If it's hanging at boot after a flash of new rom then it's possibly hardware fault, a device failing, that is causing the freeze. the only way to resolve that is to send it back to Sony.
Was the freeze after a failed flash or mod of some kind?
If not then Sony should fix it under warranty.
Don't know what else to suggest, sorry.
5th September 2014, 08:57 AM   |  #22  
zxz0O0's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,434
 
919 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Didgesteve

Have you tried flashing with the 'remove customisations' enabled? Not sure that this will help, but worth a try. Avoid 'wipe data'.
If it's hanging at boot after a flash of new rom then it's possibly hardware fault, a device failing, that is causing the freeze. the only way to resolve that is to send it back to Sony.
Was the freeze after a failed flash or mod of some kind?
If not then Sony should fix it under warranty.
Don't know what else to suggest, sorry.

Have you actually done 'reset customizations' ? The author of flashtool says it's factory reset: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...postcount=1973

I think my previous post was wrong and 'Wipe data' (aka userdata.sin) actually wipes the whole userdata partition (which is mounted on /data, pictures are in /data/media).
26th September 2014, 02:21 PM   |  #23  
AndyGizzle's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
72 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
More
Hi, with the impression that we had no other choice, we flashed the latest stock rom through flashboot with "DATA" ticked.

Fortunately the phone now boots, but unfortunately the photos are gone. Tried using Recuva, but it seems that's not possible over MTP, and internal storage is only avaiable through MTP.

Is there anything at all we can try now, or should we just settle with having lost the photos?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes