Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,769,355 Members 39,239 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Weird menu screen - what to look for ? - SOLVED

Tip us?
 
F308
Old
(Last edited by F308; 11th July 2014 at 08:08 PM.) Reason: I want close thread
#1  
F308's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 112
Join Date: Feb 2013
Default Weird menu screen - what to look for ? - SOLVED

Since some time I have empty field in my menu. Top left, see picture.
When I tap on it - nothing happens but place is still occupied.
What holds it ?

(Note: apps are in alphabetical order.)

I guess one of updates failed and it is relic.
Once a time SuperSU was called .SuperSU - dotted filename. It was displayed before 'a'.
How to get rid of it ?

FYI:
In the meantime I migrated from 4.3 to 4.4.4 but without data wiping.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	My_Menu.jpg
Views:	82
Size:	91.6 KB
ID:	2837890  
 
Iruwen
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 53
Posts: 191
Join Date: Dec 2012
I'd try wiping the cache for the launcher app first.
 
coolkoushik07
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 189
Posts: 810
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Kolkata
It is google search app.. Simply uninstall google search update and update it again from play store..
Press thank if I helped you

Model: D5503 Xperia Z1 Compact, GT-I8552 Grand Quattro, GT-I9500 Galaxy S4(Returned to store after using 20 days)
The Following User Says Thank You to coolkoushik07 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
F308
Old
(Last edited by F308; 8th July 2014 at 07:50 AM.)
#4  
F308's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 112
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolkoushik07 View Post
It is google search app.. Simply uninstall google search update and update it again from play store..
That was right hint. Thanx, pal.

Added later:
Funny thing.
After reinstall empty space appeared again.
I can even copy it to main screen, then drop do trash.
Well. Maybe it has something to do with fact that I froze lot of applications, from /system/app too.

Added next day:
Well. Google search downloaded it's update and this fixed problem.
Tags
solved
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes