Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Fix weak LTE connection in ZVD firmware

OP rocket321

21st August 2014, 05:59 PM   |  #21  
jayt0625's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Stowe, PA
Thanks Meter: 3
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rocket321

Yep, if you are rebooting or toggling airplane mode to get LTE, this should fix you up.

Thanks, will give this a shot when I get home...
21st August 2014, 08:58 PM   |  #22  
Senior Member
Flag Framingham, MA
Thanks Meter: 50
 
165 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rocket321

If you have noticed after the ZVD update you seem to be on 3g a lot and seem to have problems staying on LTE in locations you previously had good signals, here is a fix I shared in the ZVD update thread which seems to completely resolved the issue:

1. Obtain your MSL
2. open the dialer and enter ##data#
3. Tap LTE and select edit
4. Enter your MSL
5. Select BSRTimer (defaults to 3000) and change the value to 3
6. Press back, phone should reboot
7. Profit

*does not require root

After doing this, I'm back to nearly constant LTE connectivity, where prior to the fix I was on 3g almost every time I checked.

When I tried to edit the field, it automatically changed to a 3 in the edit field. I wonder if they just screwed up the units. 3000 would imply milliseconds, which would be a problem if the field is actually in seconds (3000 seconds = 50 minutes).
23rd August 2014, 05:20 PM   |  #23  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by rocket321

From the phone app - dial pad







Quote:
Originally Posted by secret.animal

You mean data menu

Sent from my LG-LS980 using Tapatalk

Thanks guys needed to give an update, this fix worked out great. As I figured we were having work done. Now getting constant Spark LTE.


Sent from my LG-LS980 on Affliction ROM using XDA Free mobile app
27th August 2014, 09:17 PM   |  #24  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
111 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
is this only for ZVD?
I am still on ZVC and I default to 3G A LOT... distinctly more than I did before ZVC...
I just checked and my BSRTimer is already at 3...is there anything else I could poke around at?
8th September 2014, 03:44 PM   |  #25  
rocket321's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 482
 
742 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by myxmastrmike

is this only for ZVD?
I am still on ZVC and I default to 3G A LOT... distinctly more than I did before ZVC...
I just checked and my BSRTimer is already at 3...is there anything else I could poke around at?

Yep, specific fix for a bug introduced in ZVD. if you are on a different version, then it must be some other problem. You might try posting in the Q&A forum.
9th September 2014, 12:08 AM   |  #26  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by hotbbq

When I tried to edit the field, it automatically changed to a 3 in the edit field. I wonder if they just screwed up the units. 3000 would imply milliseconds, which would be a problem if the field is actually in seconds (3000 seconds = 50 minutes).

I am running Affliction ROM which is on ZVD. This ROM has the 'Permanent LTE mod' enabled.
Just getting curious, I poked around in the LTE BSR Timer setting and found mine is currently set to '0'.
One thing I have noticed since installing the ROM, I am almost ALWAYS on LTE, which is expected since I assume permanent means permanent.

Guess what I am getting at, is I am wondering if setting it to '0' is what the 'Permanent LTE mod' really is/does....anyone have any idea? Because if it is that easy, this may help out a whole lot of people.

BTW, please nobody try doing this until we have a concrete answer.
9th September 2014, 12:15 AM   |  #27  
rocket321's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 482
 
742 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
It's possible although I suspect a setting of 0 may increase battery drain in areas with weak LTE signals.
24th October 2014, 08:06 PM   |  #28  
Junior Member
Washington, DC
Thanks Meter: 18
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
sincere appreciation and Sprint chat experience
First and foremost, thank you for sharing this work around with everyone. I've had the most difficult time up until this functionally using any data related content at a speed necessary to not feel like I'm wasting client's time looking up on the spot to their questions.

As far as Sprint Chat experience acquiring my code, wasn't quick and my case. The rep did reluctantly provide the code but only after I was asked with palpable suspicion. They asked why I wanted it. Then what purpose having the code was intended. Then finally asking if I wanted to unlock my device and/or modify the way my handset interacts with the service network. In each instance I stated the MSL code is information about my account with them I would like to know and as such ought to be freely available to me without explaining my intentions. I further added such questions would not be an issue once the msl had been given. Long story short...they may give a little push back before giving it up. You needn't explain why you'd like info related to the account you've been paint Sprint to maintain.

The Following User Says Thank You to mmcgrat6 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes