Post Reply

OTA update

19th July 2014, 05:45 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag cali
Thanks Meter: 74
 
403 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Hello, I got an OTA update from ZVA to ZVC, but when the phone restart to apply the update it still on ZVA.....Any help please
19th July 2014, 06:09 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 281
 
638 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by danieldp1990

Hello, I got an OTA update from ZVA to ZVC, but when the phone restart to apply the update it still on ZVA.....Any help please

if any system files have been modified, then the ota wont work. easiest way to get to zvc is to tot to it. (copy all pictures and anything important that is in the internal memory to a computer first! )
19th July 2014, 10:27 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag cali
Thanks Meter: 74
 
403 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcwxguy

if any system files have been modified, then the ota wont work. easiest way to get to zvc is to tot to it. (copy all pictures and anything important that is in the internal memory to a computer first! )

hmmmm when I flash the ZVA I dissable all apps from sprint... I rename each of does like example.apk.bak, is that the reason why it cant update?
20th July 2014, 12:40 AM   |  #4  
piscesjoey's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Newark, DE - originally from Baltimore
Thanks Meter: 257
 
1,132 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by danieldp1990

hmmmm when I flash the ZVA I dissable all apps from sprint... I rename each of does like example.apk.bak, is that the reason why it cant update?

Yup exactly why, it will fail even if 1 file is missing or wrong. As poster above you stated, best bet is to first backup all your important files currently on your internal storage to a pc & then tot your device to ZVC.

Sent from my G2
20th July 2014, 06:10 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Flag cali
Thanks Meter: 74
 
403 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by piscesjoey

Yup exactly why, it will fail even if 1 file is missing or wrong. As poster above you stated, best bet is to first backup all your important files currently on your internal storage to a pc & then tot your device to ZVC.

Sent from my G2


When I flash the ZVA I had to unlock it, and APNS stuff, does that matter? or only the apps that I dissable
21st July 2014, 03:59 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Flag cali
Thanks Meter: 74
 
403 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
I change the app names back to original .apk and still cant apply the update....

What I know is that when I flash ZVA I had to appky the permanent unlock for it to work with my sim.... ( I replace the carrier folder, the apn file, and other stuff mentionen on unlock threat...

If I want to update OTA to ZVC do I have to let the ZVA without unlock?
21st July 2014, 10:43 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Nashik
Thanks Meter: 456
 
2,094 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by danieldp1990

I change the app names back to original .apk and still cant apply the update....

What I know is that when I flash ZVA I had to appky the permanent unlock for it to work with my sim.... ( I replace the carrier folder, the apn file, and other stuff mentionen on unlock threat...

If I want to update OTA to ZVC do I have to let the ZVA without unlock?

Mine update OTA was fine, I also done the unlock..
Anyways sprint is rolling ZVD now..

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Sprint G2 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank