FORUMS

Vinsic 20,000mAh Ultra Slim Power Bank Giveaway

We have covered a lot of Android Accessories here on XDA TV. Mostly because we realize … more

T-Mobile Steps Up The War Against Verizon

T-Mobile has today launched a new attack on Verizon under the tagline of “Never Settle … more

Multi DPI Apps for Galaxy Note 4

Samsung stock apps do not scale to non-stock DPIs, which can prove annoying to those that want to … more

Google #StepInsideAdWords Event Livestream

Ahead of the annual I/O conference scheduled to take place later this month, the Google … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Sprint Roaming Guard Greyed Out Fix.

7th July 2014, 07:44 AM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Hello
I am not a developer but I have a solution to roaming guards if you have root. I am a very tech savvy person and usually modify all my phone's on my on.

Here we go and I am not responsible for anything that could go wrong. Don't worry this is fairly simple computer programming.

1. Make sure you have root.
2. Download SQLite editor from the play store.
3. Open SQLite editor and go to the root of your phone.
4. Open data/data/com.android.providers.settings
5. Open Setting.db and select secure.
6. Scroll to and highlight data_roaming_guards_blocked and hit the pencil to edit.
7. Change wording to data_roaming_guards_allowed and save.
8. Scroll to and highlight voice_roaming_guard_blocked and hit pencil to edit.
9. Change wording to voice_roaming_guard_allowed and save.
10. There is no need to reboot just go directly to settings, mobile data and roaming guards. You should be able to select and deselect.

I hope this works for you and if it does let's put it out there. Lots of people have this problem and it took me several days to figure this out.
 
 
8th July 2014, 12:12 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag Baltimoe,Md
Thanks Meter: 125
 
More
I'm not sure what you are referring to, can you take a screen shot of it

Sent from my 831C using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
8th July 2014, 08:31 AM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Database roaming guard
Not every phone has this problem. Some Sprint m8,s roaming guards were unselectable. You would no if you had this issue. Sprint is very aware of the software issue. I will try and find a screen shot. Also the file written, I tried to get it put in the development section.
27th July 2014, 11:16 AM |#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeb1008

Hello
I am not a developer but I have a solution to roaming guards if you have root. I am a very tech savvy person and usually modify all my phone's on my on.

Here we go and I am not responsible for anything that could go wrong. Don't worry this is fairly simple computer programming.

1. Make sure you have root.
2. Download SQLite editor from the play store.
3. Open SQLite editor and go to the root of your phone.
4. Open data/data/com.android.providers.settings
5. Open Setting.db and select secure.
6. Scroll to and highlight data_roaming_guards_blocked and hit the pencil to edit.
7. Change wording to data_roaming_guards_allowed and save.
8. Scroll to and highlight voice_roaming_guard_blocked and hit pencil to edit.
9. Change wording to voice_roaming_guard_allowed and save.
10. There is no need to reboot just go directly to settings, mobile data and roaming guards. You should be able to select and deselect.

I hope this works for you and if it does let's put it out there. Lots of people have this problem and it took me several days to figure this out.



I have sprint m8 un activated phone, so roaming option is not preset, can any one give roaming file to enable roaming
21st August 2014, 04:15 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 60
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by madhaval

I have sprint m8 un activated phone, so roaming option is not preset, can any one give roaming file to enable roaming

I have the exact same problem, roaming options are missing. Can anyone provide the roaming file ?
21st August 2014, 02:18 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag Cane Ridge, Tennessee
Thanks Meter: 143
 
More
Not sure why some phones have the the roaming guards greyed out, I've never had that issue.........have always been able to check/uncheck.
21st August 2014, 07:47 PM |#7  
OMJ's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag MN
Thanks Meter: 9,521
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by madhaval

I have sprint m8 un activated phone, so roaming option is not preset, can any one give roaming file to enable roaming

Quote:
Originally Posted by rachitboom2

I have the exact same problem, roaming options are missing. Can anyone provide the roaming file ?

roaming file? did u try the steps in the OP??? seems pretty straight forward to me
22nd February 2015, 01:54 PM |#8  
krishan2207's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Delhi
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Hi Jeb1008 .. can you please share your settings.db file after all the alterations, need it to view certain things..
Last edited by krishan2207; 22nd February 2015 at 04:16 PM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes