Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,813,628 Members 38,913 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Chronic phone problems. Want to nuke the whole thing and start again.

Tip us?
 
gothmog1114
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default [Q] Chronic phone problems. Want to nuke the whole thing and start again.

I have had inklings that something was a little off with my installation for a little bit. It has always been like pulling teeth to get a rom installed on my htc one, and for the most part I had to sideload everything I wanted to install.

I ran a snapshot of cyanogen for a while, but my phone refused to update to new versions. I got frustrated and installed the nocturnal GPE rom which worked fine for a few months, but recently would not connect to the networks. I attempted to run the factory reset command from TWRP, but the phone hung for an hour trying to erase the cache. Then when I restarted the phone, instead of seeing the boot screen for the GPE rom I had most recently installed, I saw the cyanogen boot screen.

I have had little luck reinstalling roms since then and also have some problems with the recoveries. I have to install CWM or whatever recovery I dont have installed to even get sideloading to work. I've installed the nocturnal GPE rom again, but when it gets to the screen to select English it just restarts without warning.

Right now I just want to know if it is possible to nuke everything but the bootloader and just start fresh from factory settings. I want the nightmare to be over!


I have done everything in this thread:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/htc-...7/post54949931
 
StormyNight
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 157
Posts: 557
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Hyderabad, Telangana
Quote:
Originally Posted by gothmog1114 View Post
I have had inklings that something was a little off with my installation for a little bit. It has always been like pulling teeth to get a rom installed on my htc one, and for the most part I had to sideload everything I wanted to install.

I ran a snapshot of cyanogen for a while, but my phone refused to update to new versions. I got frustrated and installed the nocturnal GPE rom which worked fine for a few months, but recently would not connect to the networks. I attempted to run the factory reset command from TWRP, but the phone hung for an hour trying to erase the cache. Then when I restarted the phone, instead of seeing the boot screen for the GPE rom I had most recently installed, I saw the cyanogen boot screen.

I have had little luck reinstalling roms since then and also have some problems with the recoveries. I have to install CWM or whatever recovery I dont have installed to even get sideloading to work. I've installed the nocturnal GPE rom again, but when it gets to the screen to select English it just restarts without warning.

Right now I just want to know if it is possible to nuke everything but the bootloader and just start fresh from factory settings. I want the nightmare to be over!


I have done everything in this thread:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/htc-...7/post54949931
Follow this guide.
 
gothmog1114
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by StormyNight View Post
Follow this guide.
I tried that. When flashing the firmware, I get (bootloader) read zipped android_info fail. FAILED (remote: 99 unknown fail)
 
StormyNight
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 157
Posts: 557
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Hyderabad, Telangana
Quote:
Originally Posted by gothmog1114 View Post
I tried that. When flashing the firmware, I get (bootloader) read zipped android_info fail. FAILED (remote: 99 unknown fail)
Could you screenshot the bootloader for me?
 
Xenosis
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 52
Join Date: Apr 2011
Maybe you've got a whacked recovery. Reflash from fastboot from an md5 verified .img (make sure its m7wls version of TWRP). You should have no problems wiping any partition from within.
The Following User Says Thank You to Xenosis For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
gothmog1114
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by StormyNight View Post
Could you screenshot the bootloader for me?
http://imgur.com/GwCBmpe
 
StormyNight
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 157
Posts: 557
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Hyderabad, Telangana
Quote:
Originally Posted by gothmog1114 View Post
Are you using a Windows 8 computer? If so, try it with Windows 7. If you're using Windows 7, try a different port (preferably a USB 2.0 port).

Tags
cyanogen, nocturnal
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Android M Mentions Spotted in Android Code Review

While we are still waiting for Android L to be officially released, the first mentions of … more

Create a Simple Custom Launcher from Scratch

When you are starting your journey intoany sort of development, it’s never easy at the … more

MediaTek Continues Steps Towards Being Developer-Friendly

Not too long ago MediaTek was very closed off towards the mobile developer … more