Unofficial Omni 5.1 for the Xperia Z

Unofficial Omni 5.1 builds just landed on the Xperia Z (yuga), thanks to recognized Developer … more

What’s Next For Pebble?

It is all well and good stating figures, but what does $20 million of crowd funding mean for a company? … more

LG G4 Note Picture Leaked, Oxygen OS Delayed – XDA TV

The LG G4 Note has been leaked! That and much more news is covered by Jordan … more

Unofficial Android 5.1 for Samsung Galaxy Note 4

The Qualcomm edition of the Samsung Galaxy Note 4 is another device that received … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Chronic phone problems. Want to nuke the whole thing and start again.

21st August 2014, 02:26 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
I have had inklings that something was a little off with my installation for a little bit. It has always been like pulling teeth to get a rom installed on my htc one, and for the most part I had to sideload everything I wanted to install.

I ran a snapshot of cyanogen for a while, but my phone refused to update to new versions. I got frustrated and installed the nocturnal GPE rom which worked fine for a few months, but recently would not connect to the networks. I attempted to run the factory reset command from TWRP, but the phone hung for an hour trying to erase the cache. Then when I restarted the phone, instead of seeing the boot screen for the GPE rom I had most recently installed, I saw the cyanogen boot screen.

I have had little luck reinstalling roms since then and also have some problems with the recoveries. I have to install CWM or whatever recovery I dont have installed to even get sideloading to work. I've installed the nocturnal GPE rom again, but when it gets to the screen to select English it just restarts without warning.

Right now I just want to know if it is possible to nuke everything but the bootloader and just start fresh from factory settings. I want the nightmare to be over!


I have done everything in this thread:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/htc-...7/post54949931
21st August 2014, 06:46 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Hyderabad, Telangana
Thanks Meter: 175
 
600 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gothmog1114

I have had inklings that something was a little off with my installation for a little bit. It has always been like pulling teeth to get a rom installed on my htc one, and for the most part I had to sideload everything I wanted to install.

I ran a snapshot of cyanogen for a while, but my phone refused to update to new versions. I got frustrated and installed the nocturnal GPE rom which worked fine for a few months, but recently would not connect to the networks. I attempted to run the factory reset command from TWRP, but the phone hung for an hour trying to erase the cache. Then when I restarted the phone, instead of seeing the boot screen for the GPE rom I had most recently installed, I saw the cyanogen boot screen.

I have had little luck reinstalling roms since then and also have some problems with the recoveries. I have to install CWM or whatever recovery I dont have installed to even get sideloading to work. I've installed the nocturnal GPE rom again, but when it gets to the screen to select English it just restarts without warning.

Right now I just want to know if it is possible to nuke everything but the bootloader and just start fresh from factory settings. I want the nightmare to be over!


I have done everything in this thread:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/htc-...7/post54949931

Follow this guide.
22nd August 2014, 12:11 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by StormyNight

Follow this guide.

I tried that. When flashing the firmware, I get (bootloader) read zipped android_info fail. FAILED (remote: 99 unknown fail)
22nd August 2014, 08:49 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Hyderabad, Telangana
Thanks Meter: 175
 
600 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gothmog1114

I tried that. When flashing the firmware, I get (bootloader) read zipped android_info fail. FAILED (remote: 99 unknown fail)

Could you screenshot the bootloader for me?
22nd August 2014, 09:50 PM   |  #5  
Xenosis's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
111 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Maybe you've got a whacked recovery. Reflash from fastboot from an md5 verified .img (make sure its m7wls version of TWRP). You should have no problems wiping any partition from within.
The Following User Says Thank You to Xenosis For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th August 2014, 03:21 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by StormyNight

Could you screenshot the bootloader for me?

http://imgur.com/GwCBmpe
24th August 2014, 04:05 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Hyderabad, Telangana
Thanks Meter: 175
 
600 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gothmog1114

http://imgur.com/GwCBmpe

Are you using a Windows 8 computer? If so, try it with Windows 7. If you're using Windows 7, try a different port (preferably a USB 2.0 port).

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
cyanogen, nocturnal
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes