FORUMS

3D Printable Mobile Microscope? Nexus 7 Discontinued – XDA TV

The Nexus 7 2013 has been discontinued on the Google Store! That and … more

Which Lockscreen Security Type Do You Use?

From pattern locks to the controversial face unlock, there are a number of different ways you … more

Xposed 3.0 Alpha 3 Released

A new alpha for the Xposed framework is out and brings several bug fixes. You’ll only need to flash … more

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (Apr 18 – 25)

Here in the digital XDA newsroom, we spend our days pouring over an average of … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Chronic phone problems. Want to nuke the whole thing and start again.

21st August 2014, 02:26 PM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I have had inklings that something was a little off with my installation for a little bit. It has always been like pulling teeth to get a rom installed on my htc one, and for the most part I had to sideload everything I wanted to install.

I ran a snapshot of cyanogen for a while, but my phone refused to update to new versions. I got frustrated and installed the nocturnal GPE rom which worked fine for a few months, but recently would not connect to the networks. I attempted to run the factory reset command from TWRP, but the phone hung for an hour trying to erase the cache. Then when I restarted the phone, instead of seeing the boot screen for the GPE rom I had most recently installed, I saw the cyanogen boot screen.

I have had little luck reinstalling roms since then and also have some problems with the recoveries. I have to install CWM or whatever recovery I dont have installed to even get sideloading to work. I've installed the nocturnal GPE rom again, but when it gets to the screen to select English it just restarts without warning.

Right now I just want to know if it is possible to nuke everything but the bootloader and just start fresh from factory settings. I want the nightmare to be over!


I have done everything in this thread:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/htc-...7/post54949931
 
 
21st August 2014, 06:46 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag Hyderabad, Telangana
Thanks Meter: 175
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gothmog1114

I have had inklings that something was a little off with my installation for a little bit. It has always been like pulling teeth to get a rom installed on my htc one, and for the most part I had to sideload everything I wanted to install.

I ran a snapshot of cyanogen for a while, but my phone refused to update to new versions. I got frustrated and installed the nocturnal GPE rom which worked fine for a few months, but recently would not connect to the networks. I attempted to run the factory reset command from TWRP, but the phone hung for an hour trying to erase the cache. Then when I restarted the phone, instead of seeing the boot screen for the GPE rom I had most recently installed, I saw the cyanogen boot screen.

I have had little luck reinstalling roms since then and also have some problems with the recoveries. I have to install CWM or whatever recovery I dont have installed to even get sideloading to work. I've installed the nocturnal GPE rom again, but when it gets to the screen to select English it just restarts without warning.

Right now I just want to know if it is possible to nuke everything but the bootloader and just start fresh from factory settings. I want the nightmare to be over!


I have done everything in this thread:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/htc-...7/post54949931

Follow this guide.
22nd August 2014, 12:11 AM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by StormyNight

Follow this guide.

I tried that. When flashing the firmware, I get (bootloader) read zipped android_info fail. FAILED (remote: 99 unknown fail)
22nd August 2014, 08:49 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Flag Hyderabad, Telangana
Thanks Meter: 175
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gothmog1114

I tried that. When flashing the firmware, I get (bootloader) read zipped android_info fail. FAILED (remote: 99 unknown fail)

Could you screenshot the bootloader for me?
22nd August 2014, 09:50 PM |#5  
Xenosis's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
Maybe you've got a whacked recovery. Reflash from fastboot from an md5 verified .img (make sure its m7wls version of TWRP). You should have no problems wiping any partition from within.
The Following User Says Thank You to Xenosis For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th August 2014, 03:21 PM |#6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by StormyNight

Could you screenshot the bootloader for me?

http://imgur.com/GwCBmpe
24th August 2014, 04:05 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Flag Hyderabad, Telangana
Thanks Meter: 175
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gothmog1114

http://imgur.com/GwCBmpe

Are you using a Windows 8 computer? If so, try it with Windows 7. If you're using Windows 7, try a different port (preferably a USB 2.0 port).
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
cyanogen, nocturnal
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes