The XDA LG QPair Developer Challenge Voting Has Begun!

It seems like it was just yesterday that weannounced that we had paired up with LGto … more

Major Update for the Sony Smartwatch 2 Brings DND and More

With the wearables landscape now dominated by Android Wear and Pebble, its … more

How to Root Android Wear 5.0.1 Lollipop Devices – XDA TV

The Lollipop update for Android Wear devices has hit the market and people are … more

Android 5.0.2 and New Factory Images For Nexus 7 (Wi-Fi) Available

Android 5.0 is has been publicly available since early November, and the … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Chronic phone problems. Want to nuke the whole thing and start again.

OP gothmog1114

21st August 2014, 03:26 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
I have had inklings that something was a little off with my installation for a little bit. It has always been like pulling teeth to get a rom installed on my htc one, and for the most part I had to sideload everything I wanted to install.

I ran a snapshot of cyanogen for a while, but my phone refused to update to new versions. I got frustrated and installed the nocturnal GPE rom which worked fine for a few months, but recently would not connect to the networks. I attempted to run the factory reset command from TWRP, but the phone hung for an hour trying to erase the cache. Then when I restarted the phone, instead of seeing the boot screen for the GPE rom I had most recently installed, I saw the cyanogen boot screen.

I have had little luck reinstalling roms since then and also have some problems with the recoveries. I have to install CWM or whatever recovery I dont have installed to even get sideloading to work. I've installed the nocturnal GPE rom again, but when it gets to the screen to select English it just restarts without warning.

Right now I just want to know if it is possible to nuke everything but the bootloader and just start fresh from factory settings. I want the nightmare to be over!


I have done everything in this thread:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/htc-...7/post54949931
21st August 2014, 07:46 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Hyderabad, Telangana
Thanks Meter: 175
 
597 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gothmog1114

I have had inklings that something was a little off with my installation for a little bit. It has always been like pulling teeth to get a rom installed on my htc one, and for the most part I had to sideload everything I wanted to install.

I ran a snapshot of cyanogen for a while, but my phone refused to update to new versions. I got frustrated and installed the nocturnal GPE rom which worked fine for a few months, but recently would not connect to the networks. I attempted to run the factory reset command from TWRP, but the phone hung for an hour trying to erase the cache. Then when I restarted the phone, instead of seeing the boot screen for the GPE rom I had most recently installed, I saw the cyanogen boot screen.

I have had little luck reinstalling roms since then and also have some problems with the recoveries. I have to install CWM or whatever recovery I dont have installed to even get sideloading to work. I've installed the nocturnal GPE rom again, but when it gets to the screen to select English it just restarts without warning.

Right now I just want to know if it is possible to nuke everything but the bootloader and just start fresh from factory settings. I want the nightmare to be over!


I have done everything in this thread:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/htc-...7/post54949931

Follow this guide.
22nd August 2014, 01:11 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by StormyNight

Follow this guide.

I tried that. When flashing the firmware, I get (bootloader) read zipped android_info fail. FAILED (remote: 99 unknown fail)
22nd August 2014, 09:49 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Hyderabad, Telangana
Thanks Meter: 175
 
597 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gothmog1114

I tried that. When flashing the firmware, I get (bootloader) read zipped android_info fail. FAILED (remote: 99 unknown fail)

Could you screenshot the bootloader for me?
22nd August 2014, 10:50 PM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
90 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Maybe you've got a whacked recovery. Reflash from fastboot from an md5 verified .img (make sure its m7wls version of TWRP). You should have no problems wiping any partition from within.
The Following User Says Thank You to Xenosis For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th August 2014, 04:21 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by StormyNight

Could you screenshot the bootloader for me?

http://imgur.com/GwCBmpe
24th August 2014, 05:05 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Hyderabad, Telangana
Thanks Meter: 175
 
597 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gothmog1114

http://imgur.com/GwCBmpe

Are you using a Windows 8 computer? If so, try it with Windows 7. If you're using Windows 7, try a different port (preferably a USB 2.0 port).

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
cyanogen, nocturnal
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes