Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Sprint coverage in Hartford, CT

OP Jaxp3r

12th August 2014, 08:20 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Connecticut
Thanks Meter: 27
 
233 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
According to the Sprint coverage, I should be getting solid LTE coverage in Hartford. I rooted my phone over a year ago (currently on BadBoyz Sense 6 ROM) and I believe I've done the proper maintenance, but the LTE reception I'm getting is abysmal. I can usually load things faster on 3G when I switch from LTE/CDMA to just CDMA. Not to mention the battery drain from lack of "coverage."

That leads me to question whether or not I've missed something I should have done for my phone, if it's just my location in my building at work (though it shouldn't be as I'm right next to a window), if Sprint is lying, or if I messed something up with my latest flash(es) of the ROMs - any ideas?

Thanks!
Last edited by Jaxp3r; 12th August 2014 at 10:18 PM.
12th August 2014, 11:43 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 298
 
1,434 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Sprint and most carriers exaggerate their coverage to look better and different phones pick up different signals better/worse than others. I also get poor LTE in places Sprint claims ought to be excellent.

Here are a couple of apps that use the signal ACTUAL users are getting (crowd-sourced data)
Sensorly: https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...ensorly.viewer
Open Signal: https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...se3.opensignal

You can help fight this exaggeration by letting the FCC run random network checks on your phone. They use this data to hold carriers accountable to their promises.
FCC Speed Test: https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...m.samknows.fcc
The Following User Says Thank You to gk1984 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th August 2014, 02:53 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Connecticut
Thanks Meter: 27
 
233 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Thanks for the info.

It's not so much that it's a poor (read: slow) connection, it's that it cuts out to the point that I usually can't even download MMS messages in my group chats. As soon as I disable LTE and switch to 3G, I receive them, but at a slow, expected, pace.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes