Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,812,054 Members 46,872 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Sprint coverage in Hartford, CT

Tip us?
 
Jaxp3r
Old
(Last edited by Jaxp3r; 12th August 2014 at 09:18 PM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 230
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Connecticut
Default Sprint coverage in Hartford, CT

According to the Sprint coverage, I should be getting solid LTE coverage in Hartford. I rooted my phone over a year ago (currently on BadBoyz Sense 6 ROM) and I believe I've done the proper maintenance, but the LTE reception I'm getting is abysmal. I can usually load things faster on 3G when I switch from LTE/CDMA to just CDMA. Not to mention the battery drain from lack of "coverage."

That leads me to question whether or not I've missed something I should have done for my phone, if it's just my location in my building at work (though it shouldn't be as I'm right next to a window), if Sprint is lying, or if I messed something up with my latest flash(es) of the ROMs - any ideas?

Thanks!
Phone: HTC One
ROM: Bad Boyz
Old Phone: HTC evOG running Decks Reloaded .44

Tablet: Asus Transformer Prime
ROM: AndroWook Prime HairyBean
 
gk1984
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 289
Posts: 1,364
Join Date: Jan 2011
Sprint and most carriers exaggerate their coverage to look better and different phones pick up different signals better/worse than others. I also get poor LTE in places Sprint claims ought to be excellent.

Here are a couple of apps that use the signal ACTUAL users are getting (crowd-sourced data)
Sensorly: https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...ensorly.viewer
Open Signal: https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...se3.opensignal

You can help fight this exaggeration by letting the FCC run random network checks on your phone. They use this data to hold carriers accountable to their promises.
FCC Speed Test: https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...m.samknows.fcc
Android Enthusiast, Video Producer, and Photographer - www.graesen.com
The Following User Says Thank You to gk1984 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Jaxp3r
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 230
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Connecticut
Thanks for the info.

It's not so much that it's a poor (read: slow) connection, it's that it cuts out to the point that I usually can't even download MMS messages in my group chats. As soon as I disable LTE and switch to 3G, I receive them, but at a slow, expected, pace.
Phone: HTC One
ROM: Bad Boyz
Old Phone: HTC evOG running Decks Reloaded .44

Tablet: Asus Transformer Prime
ROM: AndroWook Prime HairyBean
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes