Add Frequency Bands to Your Qualcomm Device

Those of you who travel quite a bit undoubtedly own more than one device due to frequency band … more

More Android 5.0 Details Revealed, Microsoft Band Fitness Tracker – XDA TV

Google talks more about Android 5.0 Lollipop! That and much … more

Google Allows Search Queries To Interact With Apps

Android 5.0 Lollipop brings lots of new features that are quite useful for end users and … more

Lenovo Officially Owns Motorola, Following ~$3 Billion Deal

Google is now officially no longer the owner of American phone manufacturer … more
Post Reply

[Q] Ad blocker not working on rooted G3

OP brain56

31st August 2014, 04:56 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Hello all!

About two weeks ago, I used the "stump root" method to root my G3. The root worked according to the root checker app as it verified that I am rooted. On my previous phone, the Galaxy S3, I used AdFree by bigtincan, and it worked like a charm by blocking all ads, including YouTube, reddit, and any in-browser ads.

So, naturally, I downloaded AdFree to use on my G3. But the problem is, it doesn't seem to be blocking many/any ads at all. The ads in my redditisfun app are not there, but I still get YouTube ads and ads still appear in Google Chrome while browsing the web. Does anybody have an explanation for this, or possibly another ad blocker that will work for all ads?

Thanks in advance!
31st August 2014, 05:32 PM   |  #2  
engine95's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 1,261
 
1,969 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by brain56

Hello all!

About two weeks ago, I used the "stump root" method to root my G3. The root worked according to the root checker app as it verified that I am rooted. On my previous phone, the Galaxy S3, I used AdFree by bigtincan, and it worked like a charm by blocking all ads, including YouTube, reddit, and any in-browser ads.

So, naturally, I downloaded AdFree to use on my G3. But the problem is, it doesn't seem to be blocking many/any ads at all. The ads in my redditisfun app are not there, but I still get YouTube ads and ads still appear in Google Chrome while browsing the web. Does anybody have an explanation for this, or possibly another ad blocker that will work for all ads?

Thanks in advance!

Give this a shot. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=55051253
31st August 2014, 06:27 PM   |  #3  
piaa_nissan's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag the Grove! Oregon
Thanks Meter: 45
 
167 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
I've been using Adaway for a couple weeks with no issues but I don't have first hand knowledge of those particular apps.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2190753
31st August 2014, 11:29 PM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
49 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by piaa_nissan

I've been using Adaway for a couple weeks with no issues but I don't have first hand knowledge of those particular apps.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2190753

Adaway works great from first day of root
3rd September 2014, 04:08 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Newark
Thanks Meter: 33
 
159 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
I have Adaway and I can help you with Chrome ads. In Chrome there is an option under bandwidth management called reduce data usage, that needs to be off for adaway to work with Chrome.
YouTube ads unfortunately are no longer blocked by adaway automatically, there is a way to make it block the ads but I can't remember exactly what it is. You can find the information on that in the adaway thread. It does prevent the preview images from loading but that's the only issue with doing that. There is an xposed module to block YouTube ads though.

Sent from my LGLS990 using Tapatalk
18th September 2014, 02:59 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 108
 
967 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
Im using adaway with no issues as well

Sent from my LGLS990 using XDA Free mobile app
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Sprint G3 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank