Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,806,018 Members 44,533 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Adaway issues (root issue?)

Tip us?
 
twig123
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Mar 2010
Default Adaway issues (root issue?)

Hey all,

I'm having some troubles with Adaway...
I've rooted using Stumproot and installed SuperSU. I installed Adaway and it is acting strange. Ex: Sometimes it will fail to apply the hosts file changes and other times it will just take a really, really long time (like 5minutes). If I try to disable Adaway I also have mixed results just like previously mentioned.

Is anyone else having issues like this? if so, is there any way to fix this?
 
jaculop
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 47
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by twig123 View Post
Hey all,

I'm having some troubles with Adaway...
I've rooted using Stumproot and installed SuperSU. I installed Adaway and it is acting strange. Ex: Sometimes it will fail to apply the hosts file changes and other times it will just take a really, really long time (like 5minutes). If I try to disable Adaway I also have mixed results just like previously mentioned.

Is anyone else having issues like this? if so, is there any way to fix this?
I have the same issues with my Galaxy S5 as well. It seems restarting it and then immediately applying the hosts file will fix it for me. I also notice occasionally sites will simply load half way and take forever to finish loading the page. This is always fixed with rebooting my phone or removing the hosts files.
 
twig123
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaculop View Post
I have the same issues with my Galaxy S5 as well. It seems restarting it and then immediately applying the hosts file will fix it for me. I also notice occasionally sites will simply load half way and take forever to finish loading the page. This is always fixed with rebooting my phone or removing the hosts files.
Thanks for the info. Glad it isn't just me seeing this issue.
It seems pretty random though. I've attempted to disable Adaway directly after a boot, but most of the time it will just fail, but sometimes it takes a long time and then completes...

This is kinda driving me insane, because other root apps (Ex: Titanium Backup) seem to work fine. Maybe just a flaw with Adaway?
 
ssmercurys
Old
#4  
ssmercurys's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 163
Posts: 264
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Minneapolis, MN
I had this issue on my Galaxy S3.
Use the Adaway from here.

The one I refer to is the one at bottom of OP's thread w/ d4rken mod.
This fixed this issue on my Galaxy S3 and works flawlessly on the G3.

Give this a shot.

Phone: Sprint LG G3 Metallic Black
ROM: Stock Odex w/G3 Tweakbox + Viper4Android Audio Mod
PRL: 51102


Tablet 1: Nexus 7 32GB (2012/Grouper)
ROM: Stock Rooted Odex + Viper4Android Audio Mod


My Viper4Android Profile: Download Here *Best used with High Profile Headphones*

Hit Thanks if i've helped you out today
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ssmercurys For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
twig123
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by ssmercurys View Post
I had this issue on my Galaxy S3.
Use the Adaway from here.

The one I refer to is the one at bottom of OP's thread w/ d4rken mod.
This fixed this issue on my Galaxy S3 and works flawlessly on the G3.

Give this a shot.
You are awesome!!!!
I tried "AdAway v2.8.1 with d4rken mod" as suggested, and Adaway is working great now!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes