Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Adaway issues (root issue?)

OP twig123

26th August 2014, 02:05 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Hey all,

I'm having some troubles with Adaway...
I've rooted using Stumproot and installed SuperSU. I installed Adaway and it is acting strange. Ex: Sometimes it will fail to apply the hosts file changes and other times it will just take a really, really long time (like 5minutes). If I try to disable Adaway I also have mixed results just like previously mentioned.

Is anyone else having issues like this? if so, is there any way to fix this?
26th August 2014, 03:47 AM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
47 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by twig123

Hey all,

I'm having some troubles with Adaway...
I've rooted using Stumproot and installed SuperSU. I installed Adaway and it is acting strange. Ex: Sometimes it will fail to apply the hosts file changes and other times it will just take a really, really long time (like 5minutes). If I try to disable Adaway I also have mixed results just like previously mentioned.

Is anyone else having issues like this? if so, is there any way to fix this?

I have the same issues with my Galaxy S5 as well. It seems restarting it and then immediately applying the hosts file will fix it for me. I also notice occasionally sites will simply load half way and take forever to finish loading the page. This is always fixed with rebooting my phone or removing the hosts files.
26th August 2014, 04:48 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaculop

I have the same issues with my Galaxy S5 as well. It seems restarting it and then immediately applying the hosts file will fix it for me. I also notice occasionally sites will simply load half way and take forever to finish loading the page. This is always fixed with rebooting my phone or removing the hosts files.

Thanks for the info. Glad it isn't just me seeing this issue.
It seems pretty random though. I've attempted to disable Adaway directly after a boot, but most of the time it will just fail, but sometimes it takes a long time and then completes...

This is kinda driving me insane, because other root apps (Ex: Titanium Backup) seem to work fine. Maybe just a flaw with Adaway?
26th August 2014, 03:56 PM   |  #4  
ssmercurys's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Minneapolis, MN
Thanks Meter: 165
 
276 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
I had this issue on my Galaxy S3.
Use the Adaway from here.

The one I refer to is the one at bottom of OP's thread w/ d4rken mod.
This fixed this issue on my Galaxy S3 and works flawlessly on the G3.

Give this a shot.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ssmercurys For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th August 2014, 08:29 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by ssmercurys

I had this issue on my Galaxy S3.
Use the Adaway from here.

The one I refer to is the one at bottom of OP's thread w/ d4rken mod.
This fixed this issue on my Galaxy S3 and works flawlessly on the G3.

Give this a shot.

You are awesome!!!!
I tried "AdAway v2.8.1 with d4rken mod" as suggested, and Adaway is working great now!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes