Google Play Developer Distribution Agreement Due Tomorrow

Every once in a while, Google updates theGoogle PlayDeveloper Distribution … more

LG to Release Octa-Core “Nuclun” SoC in the LG G3 Screen

LG is set to follow the likes of Samsung and other manufacture its own … more

Lockdown Pro 2 Brings Material Design and Media Support

Back in March of this year, we took a look at a rather innovated security application … more

Mural Watchface Brings 500px to Android Wear

On a traditional watch, you can’t really do too much to change its appearance once … more
Post Reply

Changing runtime to ART

OP comzee

28th August 2014, 12:36 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
42 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
When I go to developer options and change the runtime from Dalvik to ART it does not work. It asks me to reboot, after reboot it says it's still using Dalvik. Any ideas?
28th August 2014, 12:44 AM   |  #2  
pdaddy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Raleigh, NC
Thanks Meter: 40
 
266 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
If you are using Xposed, it will not switch over. Xposed only runs on dalvik runtime. I uninstalled Xposed and still could not switch back over and had to format and start over.

Sent from my LGLS990 using Tapatalk
28th August 2014, 12:54 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
42 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdaddy

If you are using Xposed, it will not switch over. Xposed only runs on dalvik runtime. I uninstalled Xposed and still could not switch back over and had to format and start over.

Sent from my LGLS990 using Tapatalk

Damn, the main thing I use on Xposed is the G3 Tweakbox, which I actually really like. Is switching to ART worth it?
28th August 2014, 01:00 AM   |  #4  
pdaddy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Raleigh, NC
Thanks Meter: 40
 
266 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
I guess it just depends on how you use your phone. I bought the G3 Tweakbox app. I used it and found the same ART, Dalvik issue. The only reason I'm running ART is basically to test it out and see if I like how it handles. Xposed should support ART once Android "L" is released.

Sent from my LGLS990 using Tapatalk
28th August 2014, 01:44 AM   |  #5  
Spaniard85's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 40
 
353 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
I personally prefer the advantages of Xposed and G3 Tweaksbox. When I ran ART before we had root, my phone did appear to be smoother, but certain chromecast apps wouldn't work and I had freezing and rebooting issues.
28th August 2014, 03:12 AM   |  #6  
blmvxer's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 549
 
1,297 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Donate to Me
ART and xposed should work sometime after the full release of android L.



Sent from my LGLS990 using XDA Free mobile app
28th August 2014, 08:45 PM   |  #7  
Skarok's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by comzee

Damn, the main thing I use on Xposed is the G3 Tweakbox, which I actually really like. Is switching to ART worth it?

I used art pre root, honestly I saw no real improvement or lack thereof.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Sprint G3 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank