Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,805,594 Members 39,370 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Game cache copied to external sd card not recognzied.

Tip us?
 
teja463
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Hyderabad
Default Game cache copied to external sd card not recognzied.

Hi I have recently bought Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 7inch with 8 GB internal memory and 4 gb user available. I am using and 16GB external SD card. I copied game cache into external sd card Android/obb folder and installed the game but the game cache is not recognized. But if i copy the same into internal storage Android/obb its working fine. Is there any way to fix this with out rooting the phone. As the user available internal memory is very low i can not install many games.
 
404-Not Found
Old
#2  
404-Not Found's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 124
Posts: 1,219
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Phoenix
Look for SD Card Kit Kat Fix in the play store by JRummy. That will probably solve your problem. I tried installing GTASA by putting the obb data in SD Card but it didn't work even with SD Card Fix.

Sent from my SM-T230NU using XDA Free mobile app
 
teja463
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Hyderabad
Yeah.. but for it to work the device has to be rooted. Is there any other solution without rooting the device
 
404-Not Found
Old
#4  
404-Not Found's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 124
Posts: 1,219
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Phoenix
Quote:
Originally Posted by teja463 View Post
Yeah.. but for it to work the device has to be rooted. Is there any other solution without rooting the device
I believe not. You must do it to emulated/0/sdcard

Sent from my SM-T230NU using XDA Free mobile app
 
teja463
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Hyderabad
If i am not wrong "emulated/0/sdcard" is the path of internal storage i want to install the app in an external storage. Is there a way to do that with out rooting the device. There is an nextapp sdfix app available in play store but the device nees to be rooted. I googled for the solution but all the solutions works only on rooted devices. So my question is there a way to solve this without rooting the device
 
Freakstyler
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 66
Join Date: Apr 2014
No, you need to use an app like Foldermount to be able to move games with OBB directory, all methods require root.
 
Dark Mushroom
Old
#7  
Dark Mushroom's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 17
Join Date: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by 404-Not Found View Post
Look for SD Card Kit Kat Fix in the play store by JRummy. That will probably solve your problem. I tried installing GTASA by putting the obb data in SD Card but it didn't work even with SD Card Fix.

Sent from my SM-T230NU using XDA Free mobile app
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freakstyler View Post
No, you need to use an app like Foldermount to be able to move games with OBB directory, all methods require root.
Yeah, foldermount does it. It will link /sdcard/android/obb to /extsdcard (needs root)
 
404-Not Found
Old
#8  
404-Not Found's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 124
Posts: 1,219
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Phoenix
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark Mushroom View Post
Yeah, foldermount does it. It will link /sdcard/android/obb to /extsdcard (needs root)
Oh snaps! It works, but it's causing my device to show wrong memory values:

Sent from my SM-T230NU using XDA Free mobile app
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1407308158242.jpg - [Click for QR Code] (70.4 KB, 24 views)
 
Dark Mushroom
Old
#9  
Dark Mushroom's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 17
Join Date: Jun 2014
Yup, at least it works .not getting low storage warning btw
Check this out
 
404-Not Found
Old
#10  
404-Not Found's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 124
Posts: 1,219
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Phoenix
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark Mushroom View Post
Yup, at least it works .not getting low storage warning btw
Check this out
Yeah it keeps changing the values each time I check.
I now have about 14 out 8GB memory.

Sent from my SM-T230NU using XDA Free mobile app

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes