Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Software update broke root, any answers?

OP billinaz

25th September 2014, 05:50 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 34
 
307 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
Unfortunately our tab 4 10.1 got the software OTA (I had SDM frozen so Im not sure how that happened).

Of course, root is now gone.

I tried towelroot, but no luck.

Has anyone had any luck with another method?

THANKS
25th September 2014, 06:17 AM   |  #2  
repey6's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kiev
Thanks Meter: 28
 
132 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by billinaz

Unfortunately our tab 4 10.1 got the software OTA (I had SDM frozen so Im not sure how that happened).

Of course, root is now gone.

I tried towelroot, but no luck.

Has anyone had any luck with another method?

THANKS

You had Root obtained by towelroot ?
What do you know about cf-avto-root method?
Last edited by repey6; 25th September 2014 at 06:21 AM.
25th September 2014, 06:17 AM   |  #3  
vipsy6's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Vadodara
Thanks Meter: 14
 
105 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
More
Smile vroot
Quote:
Originally Posted by billinaz

Unfortunately our tab 4 10.1 got the software OTA (I had SDM frozen so Im not sure how that happened).

Of course, root is now gone.

I tried towelroot, but no luck.

Has anyone had any luck with another method?

THANKS

I tried VROOT for some devices. It was successful. You should try most probably it will work fr you.
25th September 2014, 03:47 PM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 34
 
307 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by vipsy6

I tried VROOT for some devices. It was successful. You should try most probably it will work fr you.

I looked at VROOT but it has this listed:

VROOT - Galaxy Tab 4 7.0 only


I am looking at Chainfires method.

Can I use odin to return the firmware back to prior to the OTA?

I think this was the one that was prior: PDA: T530NUUEU1AND4
Last edited by billinaz; 25th September 2014 at 04:04 PM.
25th September 2014, 04:13 PM   |  #5  
repey6's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kiev
Thanks Meter: 28
 
132 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by billinaz

I looked at VROOT but it has this listed:

VROOT - Galaxy Tab 4 7.0 only


I am looking at Chainfires method.

Can I use odin to return the firmware back to prior to the OTA?

if you have not used the cf-auto-root, I advise you to do like this http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=119 , only apply to your Tab 4 10.1 .

---------- Post added at 03:13 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:05 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by billinaz

I looked at VROOT but it has this listed:



Can I use odin to return the firmware back to prior to the OTA?

I think this was the one that was prior: PDA: T530NUUEU1AND4

yes of course, via Odin you can install any firmware
25th September 2014, 04:26 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 34
 
307 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by repey6

if you have not used the cf-auto-root, I advise you to do like this http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=119 , only apply to your Tab 4 10.1 .

---------- Post added at 03:13 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:05 PM ----------



yes of course, via Odin you can install any firmware



I think I will do that then, it says Canada, but should be the same version used for the USA tabs.

I froze the SDM app so it would not automatically download the updates but it did anyway. Is there something else I can freeze to stop the updates?
25th September 2014, 04:41 PM   |  #7  
repey6's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kiev
Thanks Meter: 28
 
132 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by billinaz

I think I will do that then, it says Canada, but should be the same version used for the USA tabs.

I froze the SDM app so it would not automatically download the updates but it did anyway. Is there something else I can freeze to stop the updates?

Apps for OTA Firmware Updates :
Kies.apk
LocalFOTA.apk
SyncmIDM.apk
SyncmIDS.apk
25th September 2014, 06:15 PM   |  #8  
vipsy6's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Vadodara
Thanks Meter: 14
 
105 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
More
Dear billinaz
If i m not mistaken With Odin you can flash stock firmware at any time through download mode. But most imp thing you must have details of previous firmware prior to OTA like baseband and build version. If u have such information than you can find suitable stock firmware by Google it.

Sent from my MT11i using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
25th September 2014, 08:01 PM   |  #9  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 34
 
307 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
OK, can any tell me if this is all I need to flash?

PDA: T530NUUEU1AND4



Maybe check your 10.1 and see if that is the same firmware as before the update. Would I need any other files?
25th September 2014, 10:27 PM   |  #10  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 34
 
307 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
OK, I used odin and restored the previous firmware. Ran towelroot again, and all is back to the way it was before the mistake in software update.

I was able to freeze LocalFOTA.apk but these were not there to freeze:

Kies.apk
SyncmIDM.apk
SyncmIDS.apk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes