Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,733,782 Members 45,899 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] How to avoid using extra Grid Space

Tip us?
 
mmediaman
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 32
Join Date: Aug 2008
Battery Low [Q] How to avoid using extra Grid Space

Apology if this has been covered before, but limited forum search capability didn't find any answers for me.

Can anyone suggest a way to avoid having to use screen grid space if I want a Zooper widget to occupy only the space across the top or bottom edge of the screen? The bottom edge could mean below the App Drawer (Is this even possible?)

Please see the attached example Zooper battery gauge which is seen as a gradient just below the screen status area. This widget occupies the top grid row (4x1), wasting grid space since the progress module only needs a few pixels. I want to be able to re-use the 4x1 grid space if needed. (btw, the blue line at the bottom edge of the screen below the App Drawer in the picture is put there by another app)

Thanks for any response.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg battery_g.jpg - [Click for QR Code] (49.2 KB, 48 views)
 
grey.ghost
Old
(Last edited by grey.ghost; 8th July 2014 at 12:05 AM.)
#2  
grey.ghost's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 82
Posts: 342
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: North Carolina
OK. You can accomplish this best through the launcher itself instead of Zooper. What launcher do you use?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk

---------- Post added at 06:56 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:51 PM ----------

I use Nova. To accomplish this in Nova, go to Nova settings>desktop. Scroll to the bottom of the page and check "widget overlap" and "overlap when placing". Wala. Now you can lay widgets on top of widgets and no more lost grid space.

Edit: I don't know about putting widgets below the dock. I've never seen that done but you can remove the dock and use the entire space in custom launchers such as Nova. Another launcher I would recommend that is a little rough to figure out to begin with but is probably the most customizable is SSLauncher.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk
 
mmediaman
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 32
Join Date: Aug 2008
I see thank you.

I use GO Launcher. I will have to go through it's settings to see if there is something similar.

If anyone has any other ideas, do tell. Thanks!
 
mmediaman
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 32
Join Date: Aug 2008
It seems my GO Launcher does not have an option for Widgets to overlap each other.

Can anyone suggest any other alternative as I am not so much up for changing my Launcher to Nova?
 
brizey
Old
(Last edited by brizey; 20th July 2014 at 01:12 PM.)
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 364
Posts: 1,676
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmediaman View Post
Apology if this has been covered before, but limited forum search capability didn't find any answers for me.

Can anyone suggest a way to avoid having to use screen grid space if I want a Zooper widget to occupy only the space across the top or bottom edge of the screen? The bottom edge could mean below the App Drawer (Is this even possible?)

Please see the attached example Zooper battery gauge which is seen as a gradient just below the screen status area. This widget occupies the top grid row (4x1), wasting grid space since the progress module only needs a few pixels. I want to be able to re-use the 4x1 grid space if needed. (btw, the blue line at the bottom edge of the screen below the App Drawer in the picture is put there by another app)

Thanks for any response.
Quote:
Originally Posted by grey.ghost View Post
OK. You can accomplish this best through the launcher itself instead of Zooper. What launcher do you use?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk


---------- Post added at 06:56 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:51 PM ----------

I use Nova. To accomplish this in Nova, go to Nova settings>desktop. Scroll to the bottom of the page and check "widget overlap" and "overlap when placing". Wala. Now you can lay widgets on top of widgets and no more lost grid space.

Edit: I don't know about putting widgets below the dock. I've never seen that done but you can remove the dock and use the entire space in custom launchers such as Nova. Another launcher I would recommend that is a little rough to figure out to begin with but is probably the most customizable is SSLauncher.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk

You can get very thin graphics under the dock in Nova. Set vertical margins to none. Set dock to dock as overlay under the advanced dock settings.. Set dock height to large. Set dock icons to small. Then place a widget as far down as possible. You can get one of those shadow pngs under there.




(That widget at the top will be a new topic at some point. I'm still working on it (thats why the action overlays are visible). It is REALLY complicated. A hundred or so objects, data from tasker, active reconfiguration via tasker, etc. Fixed the issue of reporting LTE signal strength, wifi bars match systemui bars exactly. LTE bars match systemui bars exactly. Email data from google email app, not just gmail. Shadows that work with rotation. The date is always placed centered in the widest space between the hour and minute hand. Etc. Etc.)
Tags
battery, grid size, progress bar
Thread Tools
Display Modes