Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Anyone get the update with Knock Code?

OP alexdagreat

1st July 2014, 01:53 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
69 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Just wondering. I have some friends who are not rooted who said they got update.
1st July 2014, 02:14 AM   |  #2  
cangri87's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag The OC - Saint City
Thanks Meter: 53
 
462 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
Friends on T-Mobile? I believe only AT&T got it.

Sent from my LG-D801 using XDA Premium HD app
1st July 2014, 02:37 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Miami, Fl
Thanks Meter: 28
 
146 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
that is something im looking for now as well. once its live ill download the whole new file and reroot the thing. bye bye bloat and hello knock code. hopefully this update will fix the random mms issue i have been experiencing lately.
1st July 2014, 06:05 AM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 65
 
97 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Beginning June 30, the G2 received a software update to Android KitKat 4.4.2/ D80120e. This update provides features and improvements
New Features
Adds KnockOn Security feature
Improvements
Battery expectations: Android 4.4 KitKat
Google Wallet improvements
Google security fixes
Auto brightness improvements
Visual voicemail improvements
Wi-Fi calling improvements

from support.t-mobile.com/

-Sources are available on LG
Last edited by sairegsx; 1st July 2014 at 06:15 AM. Reason: Update
1st July 2014, 07:12 AM   |  #5  
jnralp00's Avatar
Senior Member
ATL, GA
Thanks Meter: 14
 
295 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
I got the tmobile update. Had to use lg tool.

Sent from my LG-D801 using XDA Free mobile app
1st July 2014, 10:28 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 61
 
196 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
I'm rooted with TWRP and I received a notification that the update was downloaded and ready to install. I'm going to update it manually using the LG Mobile Support Tool just to make sure I don't brick my phone.
1st July 2014, 11:55 AM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Howie Dub

I'm rooted with TWRP and I received a notification that the update was downloaded and ready to install. I'm going to update it manually using the LG Mobile Support Tool just to make sure I don't brick my phone.

can you let me know if you 1) lose root and 2) lose recovery please?

I just got prompted for the update, but I do not want to download it yet.
1st July 2014, 05:40 PM   |  #8  
rebar71's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Austin, TX
Thanks Meter: 110
 
300 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by frigginmike

can you let me know if you 1) lose root and 2) lose recovery please?

I just got prompted for the update, but I do not want to download it yet.

In my experience, updating via LG Support Tool wipes everything. I am backing up all my data right now. Hopefully towelroot still works on this version.

EDIT: So I just finished the update via LG Support Tool. My data was left intact, but stuff was broke anyways - probably from using system cleaner app and then not having root after the update. So I am doing a factory reset anyway and will start all over. I expected it to be wiped anyway.
Last edited by rebar71; 1st July 2014 at 06:30 PM.
1st July 2014, 07:09 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 61
 
196 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by frigginmike

can you let me know if you 1) lose root and 2) lose recovery please?

I just got prompted for the update, but I do not want to download it yet.

I ended up using the LG Mobile Support Tool to install the update. I wasn't able to install the OTA; it booted into TWRP, then when I rebooted the system, it said I was up to date, even though I was still on 10a. I lost root, but was able to re-root with towelroot. Everything was still there when I booted, although I don't have TWRP recovery. Not sure if I want to do that since I read somewhere that I will lose Knock Code. Make sure you back up your data just in case things don't go smoothly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rebar71

In my experience, updating via LG Support Tool wipes everything. I am backing up all my data right now. Hopefully towelroot still works on this version.

EDIT: So I just finished the update via LG Support Tool. My data was left intact, but stuff was broke anyways - probably from using system cleaner app and then not having root after the update. So I am doing a factory reset anyway and will start all over. I expected it to be wiped anyway.

See if re-rooting with towelroot will fix anything that's broken before you do a complete wipe.
1st July 2014, 07:34 PM   |  #10  
rebar71's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Austin, TX
Thanks Meter: 110
 
300 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Howie Dub

See if re-rooting with towelroot will fix anything that's broken before you do a complete wipe.

too late. i thought about that right after i initiated the factory reset.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes