Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,809,359 Members 39,275 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Anyone get the update with Knock Code?

Tip us?
 
alexdagreat
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 69
Join Date: Jan 2010
Question Anyone get the update with Knock Code?

Just wondering. I have some friends who are not rooted who said they got update.
 
cangri87
Old
#2  
cangri87's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 45
Posts: 450
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The OC - Saint City
Friends on T-Mobile? I believe only AT&T got it.

Sent from my LG-D801 using XDA Premium HD app
 
qpinto
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 144
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Miami, Fl
that is something im looking for now as well. once its live ill download the whole new file and reroot the thing. bye bye bloat and hello knock code. hopefully this update will fix the random mms issue i have been experiencing lately.
 
sairegsx
Old
(Last edited by sairegsx; 1st July 2014 at 05:15 AM.) Reason: Update
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 65
Posts: 97
Join Date: Sep 2010
Beginning June 30, the G2 received a software update to Android KitKat 4.4.2/ D80120e. This update provides features and improvements
New Features
Adds KnockOn Security feature
Improvements
Battery expectations: Android 4.4 KitKat
Google Wallet improvements
Google security fixes
Auto brightness improvements
Visual voicemail improvements
Wi-Fi calling improvements

from support.t-mobile.com/

-Sources are available on LG
 
jnralp00
Old
#5  
jnralp00's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 290
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: ATL, GA
I got the tmobile update. Had to use lg tool.

Sent from my LG-D801 using XDA Free mobile app
 
Howie Dub
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 61
Posts: 195
Join Date: Apr 2011
I'm rooted with TWRP and I received a notification that the update was downloaded and ready to install. I'm going to update it manually using the LG Mobile Support Tool just to make sure I don't brick my phone.
 
frigginmike
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 20
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Howie Dub View Post
I'm rooted with TWRP and I received a notification that the update was downloaded and ready to install. I'm going to update it manually using the LG Mobile Support Tool just to make sure I don't brick my phone.
can you let me know if you 1) lose root and 2) lose recovery please?

I just got prompted for the update, but I do not want to download it yet.
 
rebar71
Old
(Last edited by rebar71; 1st July 2014 at 05:30 PM.)
#8  
rebar71's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 84
Posts: 270
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by frigginmike View Post
can you let me know if you 1) lose root and 2) lose recovery please?

I just got prompted for the update, but I do not want to download it yet.
In my experience, updating via LG Support Tool wipes everything. I am backing up all my data right now. Hopefully towelroot still works on this version.

EDIT: So I just finished the update via LG Support Tool. My data was left intact, but stuff was broke anyways - probably from using system cleaner app and then not having root after the update. So I am doing a factory reset anyway and will start all over. I expected it to be wiped anyway.
 
Howie Dub
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 61
Posts: 195
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by frigginmike View Post
can you let me know if you 1) lose root and 2) lose recovery please?

I just got prompted for the update, but I do not want to download it yet.
I ended up using the LG Mobile Support Tool to install the update. I wasn't able to install the OTA; it booted into TWRP, then when I rebooted the system, it said I was up to date, even though I was still on 10a. I lost root, but was able to re-root with towelroot. Everything was still there when I booted, although I don't have TWRP recovery. Not sure if I want to do that since I read somewhere that I will lose Knock Code. Make sure you back up your data just in case things don't go smoothly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rebar71 View Post
In my experience, updating via LG Support Tool wipes everything. I am backing up all my data right now. Hopefully towelroot still works on this version.

EDIT: So I just finished the update via LG Support Tool. My data was left intact, but stuff was broke anyways - probably from using system cleaner app and then not having root after the update. So I am doing a factory reset anyway and will start all over. I expected it to be wiped anyway.
See if re-rooting with towelroot will fix anything that's broken before you do a complete wipe.
 
rebar71
Old
#10  
rebar71's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 84
Posts: 270
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by Howie Dub View Post
See if re-rooting with towelroot will fix anything that's broken before you do a complete wipe.
too late. i thought about that right after i initiated the factory reset.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes