Post Reply

Gs5 from t-mobile on att

OP tupirujp

25th April 2014, 12:58 AM   |  #1  
tupirujp's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 237
 
603 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
How or where do I unlock one of these phone to use it on att network .. I'm on California .... help please .. the from from att has the lock s*****
25th April 2014, 01:28 AM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Buy the phone from T-Mobile, unlock it via on of the reliable online unlocking services, unlock the phone. If you have an existing AT&T account with LTE, its easy as slipping in the sim. If not, its a little trickier, AT&T will generally restrict non-AT&T phones to 3G/4G --> No LTE. If you are activating a new account, you will need to provide them an IMEI from an AT&T branded phone with LTE, they will then provision your account for LTE service. Some people use a fiends old AT&T LTE phone, or from another source.


Quote:
Originally Posted by tupirujp

How or where do I unlock one of these phone to use it on att network .. I'm on California .... help please .. the from from att has the lock s*****

25th April 2014, 03:06 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag Valrico, FL
Thanks Meter: 563
 
1,320 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
[QUOTE=tupirujp;52170703]How or where do I unlock one of these phone to use it on att network .. I'm on California .... help please .. the from from att has the lock s*****[/QUOTE

Bought the S5 from Tmobile today and got home and went to cellunlocker (http://www.cellunlocker.net/). Within an hour I got the unlock code, slipped in my ATT sim, unlocked the phone, set the ATT APN and got 4G/LTE speeds. After that rooted and installed TWRP.
25th April 2014, 03:16 AM   |  #4  
MattMJB0188's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicago, IL
Thanks Meter: 181
 
1,235 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
[QUOTE=rfb813;52172743]
Quote:
Originally Posted by tupirujp

How or where do I unlock one of these phone to use it on att network .. I'm on California .... help please .. the from from att has the lock s*****[/QUOTE

Bought the S5 from Tmobile today and got home and went to cellunlocker (http://www.cellunlocker.net/). Within an hour I got the unlock code, slipped in my ATT sim, unlocked the phone, set the ATT APN and got 4G/LTE speeds. After that rooted and installed TWRP.

How is reception, LTE speeds? What was the cost of the phone before taxes? $660?
25th April 2014, 06:35 AM   |  #5  
tupirujp's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 237
 
603 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
[QUOTE=rfb813;52172743]
Quote:
Originally Posted by tupirujp

How or where do I unlock one of these phone to use it on att network .. I'm on California .... help please .. the from from att has the lock s*****[/QUOTE

Bought the S5 from Tmobile today and got home and went to cellunlocker (http://www.cellunlocker.net/). Within an hour I got the unlock code, slipped in my ATT sim, unlocked the phone, set the ATT APN and got 4G/LTE speeds. After that rooted and installed TWRP.

Tnkx you so much 😄

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
25th April 2014, 07:57 AM   |  #6  
seattleboi1982's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mars
Thanks Meter: 17
 
252 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2004
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by risestar2

Buy the phone from T-Mobile, unlock it via on of the reliable online unlocking services, unlock the phone. If you have an existing AT&T account with LTE, its easy as slipping in the sim. If not, its a little trickier, AT&T will generally restrict non-AT&T phones to 3G/4G --> No LTE. If you are activating a new account, you will need to provide them an IMEI from an AT&T branded phone with LTE, they will then provision your account for LTE service. Some people use a fiends old AT&T LTE phone, or from another source.

Actually, it shows up as a SM-G900T and i do get LTE after i gave them my IMEI. you do, however, have to manually enter in the APN settings:

Name: ATT Phone
APN: phone
Proxy: not set
Port: Not set
Username: not set
Password: notset
server: not set
MMSC: http://mmsc.mobile.att.net
Multimedia message proxy: proxy.mobile.att.net
Multimedia message port: 80
MCC: 310
MNC: 420
Authentication typw: None
APN type: default, supl, mms,hpri,fota
APN protocol: IPv4
APN Roaming Protocol: IPv4
Bearer: Unspecified
Mobile vrtual network operator: not set
Last edited by seattleboi1982; 25th April 2014 at 07:58 AM. Reason: correct spelling
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to seattleboi1982 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th April 2014, 12:35 PM   |  #7  
mocsab's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag West Milwaukee
Thanks Meter: 672
 
2,457 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by risestar2

Buy the phone from T-Mobile, unlock it via on of the reliable online unlocking services, unlock the phone. If you have an existing AT&T account with LTE, its easy as slipping in the sim. If not, its a little trickier, AT&T will generally restrict non-AT&T phones to 3G/4G --> No LTE. If you are activating a new account, you will need to provide them an IMEI from an AT&T branded phone with LTE, they will then provision your account for LTE service. Some people use a fiends old AT&T LTE phone, or from another source.

I have a TMOBILE S5 - I didnt' want to wait for the "Free way" of unlocking a sim card so I purchased the code form a web site that offers this - there may be a free way to do this sometime soon - but I didn;t have the patience to wait - do a GOOGLE SEARCH - you'll find several that offer this service.


I have no restrictions on my phone - 3G/4G/LTE - awesome speeds on ATT LTE network - =
25th April 2014, 05:26 PM   |  #8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
If you have an existing AT&T account, its easy. The trickier part is if you are a new customer, the T-Mobile S5 IMEI wont be registered in their database as an LTE device, so it will default to non-LTE speeds.

Some people have had success with really helpful non-corporate AT&T stores at adding the non AT&T branded phone into the database, but most won't and so you need to get creative. You'd probably have better luck convincing an independent dealer to do this, like a mall kiosk etc. as they will want the commission from the activation. Some people have had luck using the IMEI from a demo phone at the store (Can be from any LTE device), or a friends old device etc.

The key is that it needs to be an AT&T branded LTE phone so your account can be correctly provisioned with LTE, otherwise you will be stuck in 4G land. Another way you can do it is also to call in later and switch the IMEI to an AT&T LTE device, get the account provisioned and then put the sim in the T-Mobile S5.


Quote:
Originally Posted by seattleboi1982

Actually, it shows up as a SM-G900T and i do get LTE after i gave them my IMEI. you do, however, have to manually enter in the APN settings:

Name: ATT Phone
APN: phone
Proxy: not set
Port: Not set
Username: not set
Password: notset
server: not set
MMSC: http://mmsc.mobile.att.net
Multimedia message proxy: proxy.mobile.att.net
Multimedia message port: 80
MCC: 310
MNC: 420
Authentication typw: None
APN type: default, supl, mms,hpri,fota
APN protocol: IPv4
APN Roaming Protocol: IPv4
Bearer: Unspecified
Mobile vrtual network operator: not set

26th April 2014, 07:40 AM   |  #9  
seattleboi1982's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mars
Thanks Meter: 17
 
252 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2004
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by risestar2

If you have an existing AT&T account, its easy. The trickier part is if you are a new customer, the T-Mobile S5 IMEI wont be registered in their database as an LTE device, so it will default to non-LTE speeds.

Some people have had success with really helpful non-corporate AT&T stores at adding the non AT&T branded phone into the database, but most won't and so you need to get creative. You'd probably have better luck convincing an independent dealer to do this, like a mall kiosk etc. as they will want the commission from the activation. Some people have had luck using the IMEI from a demo phone at the store (Can be from any LTE device), or a friends old device etc.

The key is that it needs to be an AT&T branded LTE phone so your account can be correctly provisioned with LTE, otherwise you will be stuck in 4G land. Another way you can do it is also to call in later and switch the IMEI to an AT&T LTE device, get the account provisioned and then put the sim in the T-Mobile S5.


That's not true, it does register as an LTE device. i gave them my IMEI off the T-mobile Galaxy S5 and they added it to the biller, and then asked them what does it show up as in the biller, they read it off as a Samsung SM-G900T. not a Samsung SM-G900A. Heck, even my Nexus 5 shows up as it should as a LG D820, which is the model.
26th April 2014, 01:42 PM   |  #10  
Jtrain88's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Edgewood, Tx
Thanks Meter: 302
 
253 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Donate to Me
More
Well just to let everyone know. I bought an unlock code from unlockfusion and 48 hours later it still hasn't arrived but I bought one from cellunlocker.net and my phone is now unlocked

Sent from my SM-G900T using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in T-Mobile Galaxy S 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank