Android 5.0.2 and New Factory Images For Nexus 7 (Wi-Fi) Available

Android 5.0 is has been publicly available since early November, and the … more

Github Tutorial App Shows You How to Use… Github

Github can get pretty complicated and using it can become quite daunting, especially … more

Google Glass-like Clip-On For Regular Glasses Developed by Sony

For the price of $2,000, a pair of glasses that can run apps, take pictures, … more

Micromax Takes OnePlus to Court! Android Wear Receives Lollipop – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop is available officially for the Moto 360! … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

In urgent need of help!

OP ColtonDRG

5th July 2014, 01:13 PM   |  #1  
ColtonDRG's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Aurora, CO
Thanks Meter: 4
 
42 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
Donate to Me
More
Hello. I have managed to dig myself a seemingly un-escapable hole. I flashed the GPE ROM on to my device, and it tried to update... When it did, it resized a bunch of partitions, upgraded HBOOT, and completely messed up the bootloader, so now I am stuck with a device that refuses to flash anything but CyanogenMod 11 because my /system is too small for any other ROM. My HBOOT version is 3.18.0.0000. I have tried pretty much everything I can think of including RUU... I don't know where to go from here. If anyone has any suggestions, please tell me as I would try anything. Will I just have to wait until we can gain S-OFF for this new HBOOT version so that I can downgrade the HBOOT and get the T-Mobile one back, or just convert the entire thing to GPE?
Last edited by ColtonDRG; 5th July 2014 at 05:19 PM. Reason: Fixed a typo and updated information
6th July 2014, 01:10 AM   |  #2  
Tidbits's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Pearl City
Thanks Meter: 83
 
749 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ColtonDRG

Hello. I have managed to dig myself a seemingly un-escapable hole. I flashed the GPE ROM on to my device, and it tried to update... When it did, it resized a bunch of partitions, upgraded HBOOT, and completely messed up the bootloader, so now I am stuck with a device that refuses to flash anything but CyanogenMod 11 because my /system is too small for any other ROM. My HBOOT version is 3.18.0.0000. I have tried pretty much everything I can think of including RUU... I don't know where to go from here. If anyone has any suggestions, please tell me as I would try anything. Will I just have to wait until we can gain S-OFF for this new HBOOT version so that I can downgrade the HBOOT and get the T-Mobile one back, or just convert the entire thing to GPE?

Try and follow these instructions
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2754063

then flash the official 1.57 RUU.

If you are S-OFF you will still be S-OFF.
6th July 2014, 08:04 PM   |  #3  
ColtonDRG's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Aurora, CO
Thanks Meter: 4
 
42 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tidbits

Try and follow these instructions
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2754063

then flash the official 1.57 RUU.

If you are S-OFF you will still be S-OFF.

I already tried that. No dice. It says there is an invalid hboot version.

Sent from my HTC One (M8)
7th July 2014, 12:02 AM   |  #4  
Tidbits's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Pearl City
Thanks Meter: 83
 
749 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Which method are you using?

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
7th July 2014, 12:14 AM   |  #5  
ColtonDRG's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Aurora, CO
Thanks Meter: 4
 
42 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tidbits

Which method are you using?

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk

I used RUU mode to flash all of the different firmware packages, none of them worked. I also can't restore the NANDROID backups because my /system is too small. I tried the RUU as well but it always quit after accepting the license agreement.

Sent from my HTC One (M8)
7th July 2014, 12:35 AM   |  #6  
Tidbits's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Pearl City
Thanks Meter: 83
 
749 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Do you have Norton or similar virus protection? Did you try and run the RUU as admin?

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
7th July 2014, 12:39 AM   |  #7  
ColtonDRG's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Aurora, CO
Thanks Meter: 4
 
42 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tidbits

Do you have Norton or similar virus protection? Did you try and run the RUU as admin?

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk

No. I had no virus protection on that computer at the time. Yes. The computer would not actually let me run it w/o being admin.

The computer was running Windows 7 x86_64. HTC Sync was installed. The phone in RUU mode plugged into a USB 2.0 port.

Sent from my HTC One (M8)
Last edited by ColtonDRG; 7th July 2014 at 12:41 AM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes