FORUMS

Huawei To Sell Honor Smartphones Via Indian Retail Outlets

World’s fourth largest smartphone maker Huawei plans to now sell its … more

Sunday Debate: Are Smaller Bezels Better or Worth It?

Bezels have been getting smaller and smaller as the years go by, and while devices … more

LG G4 First Impressions and Unboxing – XDA TV

The latest in LG’s signature line of “G phones” has been released. … more

Galaxy S6 Weekly Shooting Challenge

Over in our forums this weekend, XDA Forum member DevonSloan has started a thread for talented … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Can I install a nandroid backup from another phone.

27th August 2014, 02:22 AM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Hi guys, I just got a phone replacement and I was wondering if I could take a TWRP backup form my old phone and install it onto my new phone? And if that isn't ok, is a Titanium backup ok?
 
 
27th August 2014, 03:03 AM |#2  
dreamsforgotten's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Louisiana
Thanks Meter: 2,565
 
Donate to Me
More
Twrp backup, I wouldn't. Titanium backup I've done plenty of times. It has the potential to go wrong as well so keep a backup of where you're at beforehand
The Following User Says Thank You to dreamsforgotten For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th August 2014, 04:05 AM |#3  
qbanlinxx's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Orlando
Thanks Meter: 252
 
More
I've done it several times on my nexus 5,never done it on the G3. No issues on Twrp, just make sure you don't restore the EFS...
The Following User Says Thank You to qbanlinxx For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th August 2014, 04:49 AM |#4  
aclegg2011's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,023
 
More
Probably wouldnt reccomend a twrp recovery. Titanium backup is fine.
The Following User Says Thank You to aclegg2011 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th August 2014, 05:38 AM |#5  
BACARDILIMON's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag MASTIC BEACH NY
Thanks Meter: 2,097
 
More
No to twrp.

AWESOME G3
The Following User Says Thank You to BACARDILIMON For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th August 2014, 06:40 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag Lancaster
Thanks Meter: 66
 
More
Is it possible to open a nand on a computer and pull data from it? Like if i were to lose my phone, could i take a nand that's been backed up on my computer and pull the pictures off of it?
27th August 2014, 06:30 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 75
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zcgofaster

Is it possible to open a nand on a computer and pull data from it? Like if i were to lose my phone, could i take a nand that's been backed up on my computer and pull the pictures off of it?

Nandroid doesn't back up anything on the sdcard, internal or external. It only backs up your rom and apps and system settings. So any files you downloaded, pictures/videos you took, will be gone if you lose your phone and didn't back it up yourself either to another computer or to the cloud.

Sent from my LG-D851 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to m3lover1 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th August 2014, 07:10 PM |#8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Thanks for the help guys. I just did the Titanium backup and it all went well as far as i can tell. Still makes for an easy transition.
30th August 2014, 11:31 AM |#9  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag King Grumpy Lord from Frown Town, Grumpy Land
Thanks Meter: 5,152
 
Donate to Me
More
Please post questions in the Q&A thread

Thread moved
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in T-Mobile G3 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank